We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping cabins”
Review of Las Cruces KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Cruces
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Cruces KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 518 helpful votes
“Camping cabins”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This KOA doesn't have any cabins that sleep more than four people, so I booked two cabins since we're a family of five. Our cabins were right next to each other, which was nice. The campground is small, which I think is a big plus: no having to worry about an overcrowded pool or waiting in line to use the bathrooms/showers! It's located out in the 'burbs of Las Cruces, with several houses nearby. Easy acess to the interstate. A gorgeous view of the mountains; be sure to try to be up early enough to see the sun rise. And at night the lights from Las Cruces glitter way below the campground. Very pretty.
My kids enjoyed the playground, and we all enjoyed the pool. It's the best pool I've ever seen at a campground. It's quite big, and has a roped off section that's seven feet deep. My kids had a blast jumping in the deep end. The pool water was extremely clean, and the perfect temperature. The pool has a wall around it for privacy, and is gated; you need a code to get in. There's a sun deck with quite a bit of space to lay out, and an area that's covered if you don't want to be in the sun.
Our cabins were very clean, and came with a double bed and a single bed. There were picnic tables outside and grills. One of the cabins (the first one) had a really cute fountain next to it. The cabins are a short walk to the bathrooms (which were also very clean).
My favorite thing about this KOA was the short path up to the gazebo, which all the guests could use. I sat in it several times and and enjoyed the view of the mountains.

Room Tip: If staying in a cabin, request cabin number 1 to be by the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kren250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    44
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
46
67
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The bathrooms were some of the cleanest we have seen at any KOA. The staff was friendly and our cabin was very clean, with a good AC unit. The campground was a little far from the main strip of Las Cruces (not that there was really anything going there anyways). Overall, it was clean and quiet. Good place to stop in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paigemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stopped here en route to Big Bend National Park from California. Las Cruces is a logical destination about a day's drive east of Tucson, so we were glad to have found this KOA and very happy that the park is located in a convenient location almost directly off I-10.

Even so, there is minimal road noise and the view of the city below is quite lovely.

The staff were very friendly, the grounds well maintained.

The bathroom facilities were spacious and clean. The only drawback is the bath house is located in the main building and somewhat away and up a hill from the campground, so we had a bit of a hike to shower.

I would recommend this property for anyone looking for a quiet spot with great views and convenient access to I-10.

Room Tip: Outer sites have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalGal1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We met friends here for a long weekend. Super close to I-10. Pet friendly. Great staff. We stayed in a view site, which I recommend. Beautiful view of the Organ Mountains. We visited White Sands and La Mesilla. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very nice and clean place. Great Hot Showers and long pull throughs for those with big rigs or rigs pulling cars. Easy on and off the freeway. Great place to sleep and go. Very good management. We arrived very late and all the paper work was done and waiting for us in their outside night basket. Then the next morning they actually opened 2 hours early for us so we can check out early and get back on the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here on a road trip around New Mexico. We wish all camp grounds in NM were like this one. The location was great, not far from the highway and near town as well. The view was spectacular. We took pictures of the sunset and sunrise. The bathrooms were immaculate. Our campsite was the only one that had grass and we were able to stake our tent in, this was the only campground where we were able to do this. They even had a welcome sign out front with our name on it. Great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERoeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Am retired woman in mid 70's as was walking my little Bichon dog (on a leash) one morning when manager's cat came screaming and visciously attacked dog with cat scratching and flinging her around. I would never have been able to save my dog without help of gentleman camper walking his little dog. A heartfelt and most sincere thank you. .who and where-ever you are. Emergency vet visit followed with diagnosis and prescription as cat's claw had torn tissues at corner of eye and barely missed cornea.
KOA manager was quite rude, stating repeatedly she did not believe me and her cat would never attack a dog. Owner of campground was not helpful either. Las Cruces KOA did pay vet bill and I have copy of diagnosis and treatment paperwork/billing.
This is a nice KOA and I've stayed there a couple times in past without any problems.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank wedolovetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-10
7.1 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 33 in Las Cruces
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-25
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#6 of 33 in Las Cruces
890 reviews
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Las Cruces
SpringHill Suites Las Cruces
#11 of 33 in Las Cruces
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cruces KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cruces KOA

Property: Las Cruces KOA
Address: 814 Weinrich Rd, Las Cruces, NM 88007-4855
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Las Cruces
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing