We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worst B&B ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lundeen Inn of the Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lundeen Inn of the Arts
Ranked #3 of 10 Las Cruces B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst B&B ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I booked a night at this B&B. It was the worst mistake. The place might have been great years ago; now it is only memories. They address does is hidden and they did not bother to tell me; I was going around in circles and was almost ready to give up. The room was uncomfortable, musty and cold. I needed to leave the next day around 8:00. i was told breakfast would be ready at 7:30 am. It was not, and I left only with a cup of barely decent coffee in my stomach. The cook looked more like a character from Mexican novela, and was definitely unwilling to prepare breakfast. I had a short interaction with the owner, who only knew to talk about himself and how great his inn was. My advise: stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay there. A Hampton Inn would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRA-McHuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    4
    2
    9
See reviews for
6
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We attempted to stay the night @ this B&B. We MADE reservations and gave our CC to guarantee our room. We arrived later than expected and when we did arrive our room had been given away. There appeared to be confusion by their staff on how to properly take a reservation nonetheless; it was late, we were tired w/tired kiddos & no room. The woman did apologize & gave us info. on a local motel. [There was some big concert @ the PanAm and all hotels were booked!]

Room Tip: Confirm your reservation by calling them hourly or they will give it away. Give them your ETA arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RageNButrFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is by far the most interesting place we have ever stayed. The hosts were so gracious before and during our stay, and even offered us assistance if we decide to relocate to Las Cruces. With people so friendly, it's definitely one of our top choices for relocation. Each room is unique and quirky, and named after a different artist. Some of the furnishings were antique and whimsical, a definite plus for us. The bed was firm and comfortable, the bathroom small but clean. The common areas are very impressive, filled with antiques and art of all types. Although grand, these areas are likewise welcoming, and you are invited to make the entire inn your home. There is a gorgeous courtyard outside where they hold weddings, and it is a nice place to relax in the evening, or gather yourself before breakfast. Breakfasts were delicious and filling, and incorporated local cuisine, such as huevos rancheros with green chili. Linda and Jerry Lundeen, the proprietors, were very gracious when we decided to go to White Sands for an afternoon. They filled our travel mugs with coffee, refilled our water jugs, and gave us a whole container of orange juice to take with us. There is a plaque when you enter that says "Come as strangers, leave as friends." I truly feel that encapsulated our experience there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJ_Bromfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed there last year with a group of 8, and the Lundeen's were extremely gracious hosts. They worked with us before, during and after our stay to ensure that we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves. I recommend the Inn of the Arts to anyone planning to spend a few days in Las Cruces.

Room Tip: There is only one room with refrigerated air conditioning. If you're staying in the summer, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

For those who don't appreciate the romance and uniqueness of a 100 year old building, then this isn't the place for you. The negative comments by others may be their view of expecting a chain hotel with the smell of bleach! This is a unique and charming Inn and B&B. The host is there in the morning and then you have your time to relax and roam, or enjoy reading inside or outside on the beautiful patio. There is coffee in the kitchen, just like home. Plus, parking is in a courtyard and right outside the front door. The exterior door is coded and you can come and go as you wish. Take the time to enjoy history and art.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, be sure and ask for a first floor room. Ask the person helping you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milagrosdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

The house of Mr. Lundeen is very rich in works of art, collected over many years and he himself explained us. Our room was confortable and furnished with taste. Breakfast was extremely good ans we enjoyed the conversation with the other guests. The owners are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annina_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during a tour of New Mexico after reading a recommendation in a guide book and guest reviews. The house is full of works of art but more a bed and breakfast than a hotel Our room (the Georgia O'Keefe room) was reasonably comfortable but not as clean as I would have liked. The sheets were very creased (were they washed?) and our small balcony, which could have been delightful, was too dusty to use - I could not sit on the seat cushions. There were no bedside lights, nowhere to put a suitcase,no coffee making facilities and the sliding doors to the balcony did not slide very willingly. The two owners were very much in evidence and ate breakfast with us each morning. There was no choice for breakfast and we were served by the "hostess" and told that the food was delicious. It was OK but not really to my taste. They chatted to us the whole time and gave suggestions as to where we might like to go. They were very friendly but a little overwhelming. Unless you are very interested in art, I consider this B&B to be poor value for money compared with other hotels we stayed at.on that trip.

Room Tip: I don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MAN1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
#7 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
Hilton Garden Inn Las Cruces
#2 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
#6 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Las Cruces Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-10
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lundeen Inn of the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lundeen Inn of the Arts

Property: Lundeen Inn of the Arts
Address: 618 S Alameda Blvd, Las Cruces, NM 88005-2817
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lundeen Inn of the Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lundeen Inn of the Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing