We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Little Place Underneath Gorgeous Red Rock”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jemez Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Canon del Rio is bien ubicado as they say. A lovely little spot, Virginia and Tracey are great innkeeper/massage therapists/ and John can cook a mean little frittata. We stayed on a Monday - Wednesday which meant the place was virtually deserted, (and also all but one restaurant was open) and it was a delight. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriendofTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 483 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

We arrived hot and dusty, but were soon refreshed with a light snack and a dip in the pool. The beds were comfortable, and the breakfast the next morning was delicious. Beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LissaInWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My husband and I found Canon del Rio on the internet and stayed one night for my birthday. We took advantage of a Head to Toe Spa treatment. Wow, truly the best birthday I've had. The B&B was beautiful, the rooms were comfortable, the spa treatment was to die for. This place is on a beautiful 6 acre piece of property that even though there were other guests you felt like you had it all to yourself. I suggest stopping at one of the many wineries and grabbing a bottle of wine to enjoy in the hot tub. Everyone was wonderful. AND the breakfast in the morning served family style was out of this world. We will definatly be going back next year for my birthday again. Thinking about a spa treatment each day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rraven0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We loved this place. Small resort feel, southwestern charm, tasty breakfast. Rooms are cozy and comfortable, open onto a courtyard with hummingbirds, dwarf peach trees, and a splendid view of Jemez mountains. You can walk down to a small creek lined by cottonwood trees, soak in the hot tub, or cool off in the swimming pool. All in proximity to the funky outdoor adventures of the Jemez Springs area. Only about an hour north of Albuquerque, very accessible. The onsite couples massage was a perfect add-on to our getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen3rdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Good stay -- not the cheapest place, but they have a great breakfast, nice location and some great amenities. The two women are very nice the guy could have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Recently stayed for one night at Canon del Rio. The end of a 14 day trip of the southwest. I was looking to capture the feeling of that area one more time before we left and we found it. What a peaceful place. The decor was superb. All the rooms were so beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Apache room, it was lovely. Breakfast was wonderful. The staff were extremely friendly. We had our last green chili cheesburger at the Los Ojos Saloon. I love that place, had been there before. It is a step back in time. I highly recommend the Canon del Rio. Wish I was there now!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My husband and I spent three nights in this gorgeous canyon, on the river, in this lovely adobe bed and breakfast and and would highly recommend it. Each of the 6 rooms open up to a center courtyard with outside seating and a pond filled with koi. The river flows down below. The rooms are all tastefully decorated with attractive furnishings, finishes, fabrics, decorations and art, representative of the blend of cultures in New Mexico. The owner is a long time resident and business owner from the community and the innkeepers are licensed massage therapists from Albuquerque, who all welcomed us warmly. A spa wing was recently added that is an inviting and functional therapeutic space, nicely designed to overlook the pool, with the river valley and canyon looming large. We enjoyed a package that came with an hour massage and the following day a foot treatment; both were so relaxing and added immensely to our stay. While we only had breakfast the first morning (because we had to leave before 9:00 AM the other two days) it was delicious and would've loved to have experienced more of their cooking. We were happy to be able to access coffee as early as we wanted and help ourselves to fruit. Our only suggestion would be for the inn to consider starting breakfast service earlier, maybe 8:00 - 9:30. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Jerralynn & Bernie, Oregon

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerralynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa

Address: 16445 Highway 4, Jemez Springs, NM 87025-9424 (Formerly Canon del Rio Riverside Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Jemez Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jemez Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Adobe Inn is set in one of the most picturesque areas of the Jemez Valley. We have six rooms with baths that open to a courtyard with a meditative fountain, hot tub and the most beautiful pool. We offer a wonderful gourmet breakfast as well as a day spa, fishing, art gallery and a six-acre garden. There are many wonderful hiking paths here in Jemez Springs with wonderful scenic views. We have added a day spa with spa treatments and massage, outdoor heated pool with romantic gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing