We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a lovely Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jemez Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I went there just after New Years. It was a lovely treat. Dagna's incredible breakfasts and absolute charming personality made us feel like we were truly apart of the place. A great place to be yourself and to relax ..its a shame that like other reviews that the evening dining options were a little disappointing but its just a small village... We did a lot of hiking. My husband got the romance package that included a couples massage and a foot massage. We were newbies in getting massages so we weren't sure about what to expect ..our massage therapists made us feel so comfortable..it was truly a therapeutic and rejuvenating experience. My husband was planning the next visit before we left. We took advantage of the sauna and the meditation room with lovely views of the canyon; the hot tub was being renovated at the time but it sounds like its going to be awesome!! We stayed in the Apache the king size bed was memory foam ..and the linens felt luxurious. I would say that the room is right next to the Great Room ..so you could hear the comings and goings of the other guests...it didn't really bother us too much, but we might chose a different room next time. Cool place.

Room Tip: In the review I mentioned Apache is located closest to the great room. Sometimes you could here the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 484 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Jemez Springs is a wonderful little place, and Canon del Rio is a wonderful way to experience it. It really is nestled down in the canyon, with impressive red rock cliffs rising from the charming little Jemez creek behind the property, with lots of cottonwoods to enhance the effect. But the best thing about it is John and Dagna's hospitality and down home charm. They are naturals, and their B and B is truly a treasure. We've been there three times (twice in the winter) and we've always come away vowing to return for longer. Do be warned, however, that there isn't much choice of local eating establishments or night life. It's a little town, with hot springs and hiking to compensate for its shortcomings in other areas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coureur12022014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was fortunate to receive a gift certificate for a stay at Canon del Rio and recently spent a week end there. The owners, Dagna and John, go all out to help you feel indulged and pampered. Dagna's fabulous breakfasts (heartier than other B&Bs I have ever been to) and her warm, engaging personality makes everyone feel welcome. Kristy, resident massage therapist, gives great foot and all over body massages, with great care given to figuring out just what is best for you. The outdoor setting is natural landscape and the indoor great room and fireplace are warm and inviting. All rooms look out onto a pool and there is a sauna and meditation room in the massage area. Beds are very comfortable. The village and ruins of Jemez Springs provide charm and fun places to visit. I definitely will be a regular visitor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureengk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

this place was a great little treat. the hostess and the guests added quite sweetly to the fold. way down to earth. if you are looking for chill than this is the place for you and i NEVER use the word chill. tranquillo to the max. lots of botanical toiletries. comfy as ef memory foam beds. the kiva fire never stopped burning and made for a lovely gathering spot for the guests. citrus infused water available all day as well as coffee and tea. get a massage with tina. i heard it was exquisite! there are plenty of great hikes all around the area. the hot springs are a bit elusive and are more luke warm springs than anything else. there is a great cafe up the street that serves delicious coffee and baked goods. my only complaint is that we stayed here on the first night of our mini vacay to new mexico and every other accomodation felt lacking after staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My family and friends gathered in the Jemez for a very personal memorial for a family member. Dagne, John and the staff went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable and accommodating. Dagne displayed great sensitivity to the needs of each person in our group of nine. For me, this was a third time stay at Canon del Rio. Each has been outstanding. It is a warm, friendly and relaxed setting. A fire in the kiva fireplace creates an inviting gathering place in the large, spacious great room. Each window you look out of is beautiful. A walk behind the property along the river against the face of the mesa is glorious. A cup of tea or coffee is always available. Breakfasts were lovingly prepared and a treat.
Several of us chose to indulge in the gifted hands of the spa staff. Each person chose a different spa treatment but every one of us was pleased beyond expectations and left experiencing some healing energies.
The B & B is located near to many beautiful trails and outdoor recreation areas, each majestic in its own way.
I look forward to a return to Canon del Rio and to the Jemez.

Room Tip: The rooms divide on each side of the great room in a horseshoe shape - 3 on each end. All are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very comfortable and aesthetically pleasing - My wife and I stayed at Canon del Rio overnight in conjunction with a weekend program for which we were responsible at Hummingbird Music Camp. Because our time and attention was focused on the program at Hummingbird, we were not able to take advantage of the amenities. Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our room with its Apache theme and the beautiful New Mexico Native American arts and crafts collection in the lobby. This Bed and Breakfast is beautiful and its location is heavenly. We will return to enjoy the breakfast and a dip in the pool. V Varela

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place is a very nice retreat- perfect for a couple rekindle. Great hiking and access to the Valles Caldear adn Jemez. THe staff were very friendly, knowldegable and helpful. The sauna, dipping pool area is beautiful and powerfully tranquil.
love it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa

Address: 16445 Highway 4, Jemez Springs, NM 87025-9424 (Formerly Canon del Rio Riverside Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Jemez Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jemez Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Adobe Inn is set in one of the most picturesque areas of the Jemez Valley. We have six rooms with baths that open to a courtyard with a meditative fountain, hot tub and the most beautiful pool. We offer a wonderful gourmet breakfast as well as a day spa, fishing, art gallery and a six-acre garden. There are many wonderful hiking paths here in Jemez Springs with wonderful scenic views. We have added a day spa with spa treatments and massage, outdoor heated pool with romantic gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing