We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away and unwind”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jemez Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get away and unwind”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We came to the Jemez Spings area because we read they weren't getting the tourism they usually get because of fires near by and because of the smoke. The state park along river was closed but the road was open and we found the area to be smoke free and very peaceful. We found the Canyon Del Rio on trip advisor and saw their sign on the road coming in to town. Great place, nice people, really good breakfast, pool with view of canyon wall, hot tub and sauna.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. Pick one to suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagna A, Owner at Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you,
Keep spreading love and kindness.
We really are so glad you came to relax with us.
Best wishes
John & Dagna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    49
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
274
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kerrville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a find! The Canon del Rio Riverside Inn in Jemez Springs, NM offers quiet, comfortable accomodations in beautiful surroundings. The property is located on the banks of the Jemez River with well groomed paths that provide easy access to the river itself. Rooms are tastefully decorated and the great room is designed for casual relaxation. As if this is not enough the inn offers a range of spa services and the gourmet breakfasts are a special treat each morning.

Room Tip: A stay in The Zuni Room will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilB115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at Canon Del Rio, and highly recommend it! When we got there, we immediately took a swim in their beautiful pool with the most amazing view...then had some wine while relaxing in their hot tub. After just totally unwinding, we had a couples massage, which was awesome! The next morning, we were treated to an delicous breakfast, and great company. Then hung out by the river while we read our books...my only complaint is we only stayed one night, I wish we would have booked the whole weekend. I already can't wait to go back, it's the perfect weekend getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Canon del Rio was incredible! Everything was so beautiful and peaceful. Breakfast was the best I ever had. They asked if I had any food allergies and I said I was gluten intolerant. She made the yummiest gluten free breakfast. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendaprudential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I highly recommend this gem in the Jemez Mountains. The room was beautiful and clean, the amenities (day spa, pool, hot tub, riverside paths) were outstanding, but the breakfast was to die for! The owners are wonderful, friendly people - great location with lots to do in the area. Try out the Ponderosa Winery nearby - awesome wine!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Navajo - wanted the king size bed, but all rooms are excellent. Each has a patio a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Perfect in every way -- friendly and helpful hosts, delicious breakfasts, nice rooms, and gorgeous setting! The spa treatments -- massage and salt glow -- were first rate and the spa rooms were spacious and well appointed. Will recommend Canon del Rio to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: We were in Zuni - closest to hot tub and river path - farthest from main rooms -- nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesJ1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had driven from Santa Fe to Chaco early in the morning, faced down the ordeal of the road into Chaco, hiked the ruins, and wanted to find a nice place to stay outside of either Santa Fe or Albuquerque. I'd made the reservations based on tripadvisor reviews, and was so happy with the results. This is the reason that tripadvisor is such a great reference tool - I wouldn't have found this place otherwise. We were skeptical as we drove up, but it was a simply wonderful experience. The inn has a warm and inviting appeal -- the great room and the guest rooms are decorated with an amazing collection of Native American pottery, baskets, kachinas, and other crafts. The artwork on the walls enhances the visual appeal. Our room was small, but nicely appointed, well lit, and spotless. Only one other room was occupied on this Sunday night, so the only sounds we heard through the open windows were the trickling of water through the water feature in the courtyard and the trill of dozens of busy hummingbirds attracted by the many feeders hung throughout the property. We had a very sound sleep and awoke to an excellent breakfast in the great room shared with the others staying in the inn. We wandered the path to the river and enjoyed the beautiful scenery of the surrounding red rock canyon. The picture shown on this tripadvisor site is not what the inn looks like -- it is a simple, one level adobe structure -- so check out their website for a better representation of the way the inn looks and is how it is situated on the property. Definitely the place to go in the area for a relaxing night. We didn't use the spa facilities, but did walk through -- looks like a great place to get pampered, too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa

Property: Canon del Rio Retreat & Spa
Address: 16445 Highway 4, Jemez Springs, NM 87025-9424 (Formerly Canon del Rio Riverside Inn)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Jemez Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jemez Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Adobe Inn is set in one of the most picturesque areas of the Jemez Valley. We have six rooms with baths that open to a courtyard with a meditative fountain, hot tub and the most beautiful pool. We offer a wonderful gourmet breakfast as well as a day spa, fishing, art gallery and a six-acre garden. There are many wonderful hiking paths here in Jemez Springs with wonderful scenic views. We have added a day spa with spa treatments and massage, outdoor heated pool with romantic gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing