We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect weekend getaway with great views, wonderful hosts, delicious breakfasts and lots of amenities.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jemez Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jemez Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend getaway with great views, wonderful hosts, delicious breakfasts and lots of amenities.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We wanted a weekend away from city bustle and Elk Mountain Lodge was perfect. From being greeted by "Cody," the friendly resident Great Pyranese/Chow mix, to the the cozy Santa Fe room with full jacuzi tub to the delicious green chile burritos prepared by Garth and Robin, we couldn't have asked for more. Our weekend was more than what we were looking for. Garth and Robin went out of the way to be sure we had everything we needed. We highly recommend their lodge to anyone looking for peace and tranquility and beautiful vistas!

Room Tip: The Ponderosa and the Aspen have pellet stoves if you plan to stay during colder weather. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sstiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
sstiver,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our establishment! Our conversations over breakfast were wonderful and I assure you that the pleasure was all ours. We so look forward to your return visit. Well do everything possible to assure you another wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    7
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
70
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped by on a whim and wish we could stay forever. Perfect place to stay after a long hike in the mountains. Hot tub in the room, classic westerns available at the front desk, delicious enchiladas down the road at Los Ojos.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickaverybucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Nick,
We too enjoyed your drop in visit! Glad we had a room for you two. Thank you for the review - we hope to see you again on future travels to Northern New Mexico. Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Elk Mountain Lodge is unique, to say the least. Each room is "custom" designed and laid out with a combination of rustic bare wood and the most modern electric and plumbing facilities imaginable. We've been going there for years and always plan our trip to the SW to include a stopover in Jemez Springs, NM. Out of the way, quiet, the best breakfast (free) you could ask for. Very convenient to Santa Fe, Los Alamos, and Albuquerque. But Jemez Springs itself is a great destination with all kinds of hiking, historical parks and artsy galleries; and perhaps the coolest bar and grill in all of the SW - Los Ojos. Lots of bullet holes in the tin ceiling, but don't worry - no news ones for the last 30years!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Lawrence T,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! Our customer's comfort, experience and input is of utmost importance to us. We hope you're having a great summer - come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We decided to take a detour and stay up here, rather than The city...SO glad we did..well worth the views and a lovely night with a room to spread out after 10 days traveling cross country with 2 kiddies. Gartha nd Robin were very welcoming. Our kids loved Cody the dog! We grabbed some hot dogs and smores' supplies before heading up and it made for a nice evening. The breakfast was lovely, and yes breakfast burritos were yummy! Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great. super clean and kitchette stocked with plates, silverware. Would have loved a few more hours to see the surrounding sites and take a few hikes...definitely would love to come back...maybe without the kids!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Nichole R.,
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review. We too are so glad you took a detour off the interstates to rest with us for awhile! We would sincerely enjoy your returning for another respite at our mountain hideaway. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming and very comfortable. Appreciated the extra towels to dry the patio chairs after a rain, soak up coffee spill....somehow he turned on the perfect music when we got there! Very clean, stayed in the Royal Aspen with perfect private patio, full gas grill and fire pit with wood. Small fridge, micro, small coffee maker. Basic silverware and small plates, full glassware for 2. Bring your own supplies to cook. There was a can opener. Toiletries provided too. Had to miss breakfast too bad would love to go back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Carolyn C.,
Thanks for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will have more time to visit with you next trip - and we'll make sure to have breakfast ready!
Garth, Robin & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a lovely lodge, tucked in a serene mountain setting, surrounded by the beauty of Jemez. Our room, the Royal Aspen was quite expansive and well appointed. All the amenities inside as described by previous reviews, I say "ditto". It was very cold, snow on the ground but our room was very warm . The owners, Garth, Robin and Terry couldn't be nicer and more welcoming to us. The reservations, the checking in/out and general questions about the area were smoothly done. We will definitely return in the future. The area is gorgeous and there is much to explore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estrella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are so happy that you were happy! We sincerely enjoyed visiting with you on your stay and hope that you will return again soon! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
Garth, Robin & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you drive here from Albuquerque (hwy 4) you'd never guess that there are gorgeous mountain views up the valley through Jemez...The drive is winding but the views are great the higher you climb into the mountains. Staying at Elk Mountain Lodge is SOOOO worth the drive! We were in the Ponderosa room. It felt like being in a cabin but it was a REALLY nice cabin complete with jacuzzi tub! The owners were super nice. They had a campfire the night we stayed and even though we had to leave earlier than the other guests the next morning they brought us a travel bag of breakfast burritos (which were delicious) and snacks and coffee!! I was REALLY impressed with my stay here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie-Poo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Cassie-poo,
We too enjoyed visiting with you and were happy you chose us for your Jemez Mountains visit! Perhaps next time you'll be able to stay longer! We're looking forward to it! Thanks for taking the time to write your review!
Garth, Robin & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jemez Springs
18.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Los Alamos
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Alamos
21.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Property: Elk Mountain Lodge
Address: 37485 Highway 126, Jemez Springs, NM 87025-9201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Jemez Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jemez Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk Mountain Lodge is a custom built bed and breakfast with all the modern amenities. With beautiful, massive flagstones on radiant heated floors, log walls and high knotty pine ceilings, we combine rustic elegance and comfort to assure you a pleasant, restful stay in the majestic, Jemez Mountains. Rivers, trees and wildlife abound combined with panoramic and breath taking views. Everything you love to do is just minutes away. You’ll love our warm, friendly atmosphere.Elk Mountain Lodge offers five beautifully appointed mountain suites, each with private entrances and personal Jacuzzi tub. Every suite will wrap you in that cozy rustic mountain feel that warms the heart and soothes the mind.The main lodge itself includes a beautiful rustic, vaulted beam great room with WiFi, wood burning stove, large screen satellite TV, and comfortable lounge furniture. There is a large dining table where we will serve you a delicious hearty breakfast for a wonderful start to your day. Soothing music is often heard throughout the main Lodge in an effort to take the edge off your busy life schedule. Up here, you’re on “Jemez Time”!The front deck is part of the large outdoor common area. Here you find a BBQ, a wood burning iron kiva, patio furniture, beautiful views of the pinnacle rocks, the Jemez River down below, and quaint grassy meadows of the La Cueva area. On summer evenings, we all usually congregate to the back lodge area for a campfire, soothing guitar music and a glass of your favorite libation (BYOB, we’ve got the guitar!). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing