We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely surprise stay in the woods”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jemez Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jemez Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise stay in the woods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the "Royal Aspen" cabin at the Elk Mountain Lodge for one night only. We were in the area visiting the Valles Caldera National Preserve. My boyfriend had organized the booking at the Elk Lodge and to be honest, I wasn't sure what to expect. The area seemed sparse though absolutely stunning nature. When we arrived it was close to nightfall and we were greeted by Terry, Garth and Robin. Wow - what a warm greeting. Thoroughly lovely people which makes staying there that much more pleasant. The main office lodge was lovely and warm, and there was a lovely big Christmas tree and miniature village display which added to the cozy feel of the place. Also, they have 2 amazing and lovable dogs that run up to you and are absolutely harmless and playful. I was sad to say goodbye to Cody. We were then walked up to our room, which did literally please me right away. A blazing stove which heats up the cabin, beautiful vaulted ceilings and lovely big space! There was lots of room to spread out and we never once felt cold - that stove and underfloor heating did the trick! I also enjoyed a soak in the hot tub, which was all laid out beautifully with instructions and bubble bath. After my soak, we laid on the wonderfully soft bed that was outfitted with furry pillows and comforters - everything was incredibly clean and comfortable. We watched a bit of TV (small TV but not a problem) and relaxed for the night. The room has a small fridge and microwave, provides wine and water glasses,but otherwise, kitchen is pretty basic. There are some nice decor touches which we enjoyed as well. After a great night's sleep, we woke up in the morning to beautiful sunlight and tree scape thru the A-frame windows up above the bed. What a beautiful spot - we hadn't really been able to enjoy it since we had arrived so late. Again, a lovely welcome and a nice continental spread. Garth and Robin made us breakfast burritos and catered to our dietary needs. The breakfast burrito was amazing and came with a scoop of seasonal chile/steak. It was killer! Overall, an amazing stay and cozy retreat - we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Royal Aspen very romantic, large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelswest99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We are so pleased that your stay with us was satisfactory. It's our pleasure to make sure our guests feel relaxed and cared for. We surely appreciated your company and hope to see you again soon! From all of us here at Elk Mountain Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    7
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
70
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent just one night here but enjoyed it. The rooms are all "cabin-y", very clean and are nicely appointed. (TV is small but that didn't bother us since we rarely watch TV) Our room was small but it had a nice two-person jacuzzi tub. Nothing nearby in terms of decent restaurant choices so we brought our own food and used the grill right outside our room which was a great option. Breakfast is included which is a nice touch. Owner is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameslclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, General Manager at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
JCMan,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your input and hope to see you again on another visit. Safe travels!
The staff at Elk Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a couple of days in the Royal Aspen suite, and we loved everything. Terry and his nephew were great, they made sure we had everything that we needed and then some. The room was very comfortable, and the grounds were quiet. We had a private patio with a gas grill that we put to good use. The mornings were great with fresh coffee, the best green chile burritos I've ever had, and an assortment of pastries. Of course, we have to mention the resident celebrity, Kody. He is very well mannered and friendly, we loved his company. Overall, we were extremely happy with our stay, and we're already making plans to head up again next year for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, General Manager at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Stephanie A,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Elk Mountain Lodge. We sincerely appreciated having you with us. We also look forward to seeing you again for your honeymoon and will keep striving to make sure you are pleased with every return visit!
The entire staff at Elk Mountain Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Terry and family are wonderful accomodating people who make you feel very welcome. We stayed in the Royal Aspen room which was just perfect and clean. We loved the windows and the patio as well as the ambient heat floors and pellet stove. It was so cozy and lovely for a quick getaway trip. We will be back again.

Just a couple of tips, the fridge is small and there's only a grill with a side burner. Bring your own pans and utensils. Cody the dog famous in most of the other reviews is a sweet boy. He played well with our Bullmastiff and went away when we asked him to. He's not a bother, Elk Mountain is his home and he's a great "keeper" but he's also respectful of your space when you ask for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, General Manager at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Shawnda W.,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the kind words - we always try to make sure our guests are happy at our humble establishment! We hope to see you back again soon!
The staff at Elk Mountain Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I chose this lodge because of the rave reviews on TA. We rented the one bedroom Country Lace for ourselves and two bedroom Tall Pines cabiin for my kids and grandkids (family of four). The first, and biggest problem was that our granddaughter, aged 7, cut her foot on something (glass?) in the hot tub during the late afternoon. Terry (owner), who was otherwise very accommodating, seemed pretty blase about this and said "I guess you just need to sit still in there." He didn't really propose any resolution/solution, so we didn't feel comfortable using the hot tub in the evening as we had planned. Second, the kitchen in the cabin is really sub-par compared to similar accommodations at other New Mexico lodges we've stayed at in this price range - very small, a few dishes (two plates), pots, serving tools, and a tiny refrigerator. We did borrow a salad bowl, and Terry offered spices (salt and pepper were provided along with tea and coffee, packaged cookies). So, if you are planning on preparing a real meal (which we did), it won't be easy. The BBQ grill had a leak, but it was quickly repaired. Also a major flaw is that this unit has NO SINK in the tiny bathroom (toilet/shower) so facewashing and toothbrushing must be done at the kitchen sink. The second bedroom is tiny with a smallish double bed.The large bedroom/family room in the cabin is very nice, however.

Country Lace is nice, well out-fitted and on the cute/funky side. The other reviewers pointed out the positive features. The homemade breakfast burritos are first-rate and the continental breakfast is fairly varied. Some yogurt would be a nice addition. Cody, the big dog mentioned in other reviews, is friendly and shouldn't scare anyone.

I did find a hair on the pillow sham, and also on the negative side, there are cigarette butts everywhere (including the firepit on both decks)- kinda gross and not good for young kids to see.

Room Tip: Avoid Tall Pines Cabin if you like to cook and want a decent bathroom. Country Lace is great for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandiasMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarthBascom, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Elk Mountain Lodge! We're sorry that your experience was less than perfect. Please give us a call to discuss the possibility of giving us another try so that we can make it up to you! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I did a little weekend getaway to the Jemez, and we couldn't have been more pleased with the Lodge! Our room was really great (Country Lace), especially the mini-fridge, microwave, and (of course) the 2-person Jacuzzi tub! We also loved that Terry lets guests use the gas grill on the deck, and his 'famous homemade green chili breakfast burritos' made it so we didn't have to find a restaurant for my husband to eat a real breakfast (usually, hotel breakfasts just aren't enough food for him, but Terry's burritos were great!). I particularly appreciated that Terry seemed to innately know when we wanted to chat and be social, and when we just wanted to go to our room and crash. It was the perfect combination of a personal touch and comfortable privacy. (Oh, and Terry's dog Cody was a sweetie! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnKarmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarthBascom, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Elk Mountain Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I loved my stay at Elk Mountain Lodge! I rented the Country Lace cabin and it was wonderful! It was very quiet and the mountain breeze was cool and refreshing. It is located about an hour and a half from Albuquerque, which makes it easy to enjoy a weekend get away. Terry, the owner was quite helpful and made sure everything was to my liking. His canine companion, Cody was the official greeter. The Country Lace does not have a kitchen area, however it has a small fridge and microwave. In the morning,Terry made his "FAMOUS" breakfast burritos and I must say they were GRADE A !I If breakfast burritos are not your fave, then he has a continental breakfast for you to partake. I definintely plan on returning to this magnificent place and spending more than just a weekend there.

Room Tip: The Country Lace is for one or two people only. There are other cabins to fit your needs if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlierocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth B, Manager at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
We enjoyed having you just as much as you enjoyed your stay! We're very pleased to have made a new friend. Thank you and we do hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jemez Springs
18.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Los Alamos
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Alamos
21.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Pueblo Canyon Inn
Pueblo Canyon Inn
#2 of 3 in Los Alamos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Property: Elk Mountain Lodge
Address: 37485 Highway 126, Jemez Springs, NM 87025-9201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Jemez Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jemez Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk Mountain Lodge is a custom built bed and breakfast with all the modern amenities. With beautiful, massive flagstones on radiant heated floors, log walls and high knotty pine ceilings, we combine rustic elegance and comfort to assure you a pleasant, restful stay in the majestic, Jemez Mountains. Rivers, trees and wildlife abound combined with panoramic and breath taking views. Everything you love to do is just minutes away. You’ll love our warm, friendly atmosphere.Elk Mountain Lodge offers five beautifully appointed mountain suites, each with private entrances and personal Jacuzzi tub. Every suite will wrap you in that cozy rustic mountain feel that warms the heart and soothes the mind.The main lodge itself includes a beautiful rustic, vaulted beam great room with WiFi, wood burning stove, large screen satellite TV, and comfortable lounge furniture. There is a large dining table where we will serve you a delicious hearty breakfast for a wonderful start to your day. Soothing music is often heard throughout the main Lodge in an effort to take the edge off your busy life schedule. Up here, you’re on “Jemez Time”!The front deck is part of the large outdoor common area. Here you find a BBQ, a wood burning iron kiva, patio furniture, beautiful views of the pinnacle rocks, the Jemez River down below, and quaint grassy meadows of the La Cueva area. On summer evenings, we all usually congregate to the back lodge area for a campfire, soothing guitar music and a glass of your favorite libation (BYOB, we’ve got the guitar!). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing