We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and quite area”

Valles Caldera National Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 89,000 acre National Preserve is in the heart of one of three super volcanoes in the United States. Known for its expansive high mountain valles, large elk herds, and diverse history, the Preserve is a favorite among the locals when friends and relatives are in town. If you are in New Mexico you do not want to miss this. Bring your camera and enjoy the expansive views. Pet Friendly: Dogs on leashes are welcome at the contact stations, but are prohibited elsewhere on the Preserve. Registered assistance animals are allowed.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Peaceful and quite area”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Peaceful and quite area. We've stopped for a while to have picknick and to enjoy this breathtaking view.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martijn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallesCaldera, Public Relations Manager at Valles Caldera National Preserve, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks very for stopping by to enjoy the serene beauty of the preserve and taking time to share your experience. It's been almost a year since your last visit. Please come see us again to enjoy the spring and all the Valles Caldera has to offer.

Terry McDermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    58
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jemez Springs, NM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1.2 Million Year Old Volcano”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A must see when traveling through the Jemez mountains! Conveniently located 30 miles northeast of Jemez Springs along NM State Highway 4, or 20 miles west of Los Alamos. Visitor Center open to the public. Call 866-382-5537 or visit www.vallescaldera.gov

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JemezSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallesCaldera, Public Relations Manager at Valles Caldera National Preserve, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for stopping by during your trip through the Jemez. The Caldera does provide a spectacular view specially when you ride up over that last hill before the vast expanse of the Valle Grande opens before you. It's not just a view it's an experience. Thanks for taking the time to share yours with us. Please come back soon.

Terry McDermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great little hike”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We hiked around the cinder cone. It was a little over a mile, easy hike, and pretty. The people in the visitor center were helpful and friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallesCaldera, Public Relations Manager at Valles Caldera National Preserve, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to visit us. I'm glad you enjoyed your hike. Please come back in the Spring when more trails will be open.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Bike Rides and Nice People!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I visited Valles Caldera to camp, hike, and road bike ride. I found beauty beyond my wildest expectations within the preserve. Plus fantastic riding! A tip for cyclists - check in with the preserve for mountain biking opportunities seasonally within the preserve!
On another note, the staff at the visitor's center are a bunch of fantastic people. I had been inside for about a minute when my nose started to gush blood - very embarrassing! The staff had me supplied with gauze, a cold compress, and a couch to recline on in no time! I was grateful, and highly recommend you stop by and visit the preserve HQ - They are helpful and nice!

Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallesCaldera, Public Relations Manager at Valles Caldera National Preserve, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your high praise of our staff and the beauty of the preserve. Come visit us this weekend and sample the beauty of the preserve when it's covered with snow. We'll also be selling Christmas trees at the staging area.

Terry McDermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unspoiled beauty”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Unlike many other state and national parks Valles Caldera was uncrowded and unspoiled. We didn't see another party on our mountain bike ride. We did see and hear elk and other animals. Great time spent enjoying nature in solitude.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallesCaldera, Public Relations Manager at Valles Caldera National Preserve, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We're glad you had a great time. You can take that hike on snowshoes beginning December 6th. We received 5 inches of snow over the weekend. Thanks for coming and please come again.
Terry McDermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valles Caldera National Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Valles Caldera National Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing