We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best $5 I ever spent to do a tour!!!”

Valles Caldera National Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 89,000 acre National Preserve is in the heart of one of three super volcanoes in the United States. Known for its expansive high mountain valles, large elk herds, and diverse history, the Preserve is a favorite among the locals when friends and relatives are in town. If you are in New Mexico you do not want to miss this. Bring your camera and enjoy the expansive views. Pet Friendly: Dogs on leashes are welcome at the contact stations, but are prohibited elsewhere on the Preserve. Registered assistance animals are allowed.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best $5 I ever spent to do a tour!!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This little treasure was recommended by a volunteer at Bandlier and was quite a gem. Magma Tours hosted by Jim Trout was a great experience. They were in preparation the day we visited to start filming a TV series the next day. Just have to go back to that area and spend a lot more time hopefully next year. Hot Springs nearby which I hear is a great experience. Jim was very knowledgable and gave us a lot of info about the area. Saw a herd of elk, looked at old buildings that had been used on movie sets. Great experience -- don't miss it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyhiker35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    58
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unspoiled Beauty & Friendly Staff”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Finally visited Valles Caldera! It is more beautiful than any picture can show! We hiked the trail across the highway from the visitor center then drove over to poke our noses in... One staff member told us a one hour tour would leave in 25 minutes-boy was it worth the wait! Jim Trout was our guide and he made every minute enjoyable and informative! We only had an hour to stay -but are already making plans to come back and hike and fish... Check out their website and make plans to visit soon! GORGEOUS drive from ABQ..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Llynch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magma Tour with Jim Trout”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spectacular views! We saw elk, badgers, a coyote, a prairie dog family, and horses, which were on the road when we were going through. One stuck its head in the front passenger window while the others peaked in the pack windows. So cute! Beautiful blue birds, also. Jim was very knowledgeable and easy to talk to. We saw the location where some of the 'Lone Ranger' was filmed and the destruction caused by a forest fire. Well worth the time and money. Very educational.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PeggyO301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallesCaldera, Public Relations Manager at Valles Caldera National Preserve, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Sounds like it was an amazing tour with all the wildlife and sites. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Rob Dixon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful geology”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a mini-geology lesson that I actually understood, in the midst of great beauty. The elk were aloof and distant (literally), but visible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGoodLuckDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallesCaldera, Public Relations Manager at Valles Caldera National Preserve, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I am so happy you had such a great experience. Our interpreters try very hard to convert all the science and research into something the rest of can understand. They love sharing the Preserve with visitors.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Rob Dixon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stumbled onto a Storytelling Jamboree being held in the middle of the magnificent caldera, and stayed all day because I enjoyed it so much.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J9lmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallesCaldera, Public Relations Manager at Valles Caldera National Preserve, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed it. It was our first time to run it and a lot of people had a great time.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Rob Dixon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valles Caldera National Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Valles Caldera National Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing