We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Bar-B-Que”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Front Bar Cafe - CLOSED

Blue Front Bar Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar-B-Que”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stopped in here for dinner after a day of hiking the Gold Dust Trail. They had BBQ pork ribs on special that day and they were out of this world. Friendly service, low prices and excellent food. A great place to cool your heels.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tosawest74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Az desert
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Two words... Green Chili”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hidden Gem along the highway, worth stopping at. The atmosphere is average but the food more than makes up for it.

If you are one of those people who like homemade pie, it is a must stop place.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank whyssb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not bad - for a basic meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

First off, if you find yourself in Glenwood, NM - it wouldnt be cause your looking for a 5star restaurant. You have to LOVE the outdoors and appreciate the scenery to be in this backwoods forest country. If you need a place to eat that is clean - affordable - and friendly- then stop at the Blue Front. We ordered the "Sunday Special" which is brisket, baked potato, beans, a roll and a trip to the small, but fresh and clean, salad bar. This cost about $11. It was a meal I would pay for again. If you ae a motorcycle enthusiast , then you MUSTcruise this beautiful country road.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melishae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sandwiches After Closing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We drove through Glenwood around 10:30 PM on a Sunday after finding that every restaurant between Magdalena and Glenwood was closed. The bar and restaurant had recently closed, but a VERY nice man who was still there (the proprietor?) insisted upon making us two ham sandwiches to go. They were GREAT sandwiches made from high quality, thick, slices, of ham, fresh tomatoes, and fresh lettuce. Basically, he treated like neighbors instead of random visitors driving through. We will definitley go there again on the next trip. The town is also in a beautiful location and has great "mom and pop" motels. We highly recommend the place in general.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just What We Wanted (and didn't even know it!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had just come off a five day pack trip in the Gila Wilderness and (after a good shower) headed down to Glenwood for a beer and some dinner. We walked through the door of the Blue Front and the first thing we heard was a fiddle tuning up. The place was packed with folks & families having dinner and waiting for the bluegrass music to start. My wife and I both play in bluegrass bands and were thrilled! We sat down and ordered chicken enchilada dinners as the musicians started up. Two fiddles, some great singing and a woman just tearing it up on the mandolin! One great old standard after another.
The food was great and the service was so friendly that we felt like local regulars there. I thought to myself, "If they do this every Thursday night, could live here."
An unexpected highlight of our trip before heading home to California.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Front Bar Cafe also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing