We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casitas de Gila Guesthouses
Ranked #1 of 1 Gila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The owners of these delightful casitas in Gila, near Silver City, NM have thought of everything. To start with, they picked an outstanding location on the edge of the Gila Wilderness. There are self-guided tours of trails on the property with tons of naturalist information - written and provided by Mike, the owner. Like star gazing? Mike does that too - and will haul a telescope for a sky tour. Want more hiking? Mike has on hand guide books galore for exploring the area. He has many worthwhile suggestions to suit your level of energy/curiosity. And then there is the Gallery - Mike and Becky are talented artists/artisans, as well; Mike paints oils and Becky makes jewelry. Of course, local artists are represented, too.

The casitas are move-in ready; the kitchen is stocked, wood is stacked all you have to do show up!

This is an exceptional travel destination in and exceptional southwestern setting!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul9335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just spent 3 nights here and next time it will be more! Perfect blend of incredible natural beauty, relaxing atmosphere, great hikes and lovely accommodations. Every detail has been thought about in the adobe casitas, from both gas and charcoal grill options to organic cotton towels, to comfy bed, and helpful suggestions for hikes; the casitas and Becky and Michael go the extra mile. For example, not only did Michael suggest hikes, he also printed maps for us with driving directions to trails that could be challenging to find, and called friends to find out about trail conditions. Hummingbird feeder and food was supplied and we had the constant lovely hum of hummers around us all day. It was peaceful and the scenery was stunning. Sipping wine at the end of the day and watching the sunset or a storm in the distance with a double rainbow while a yummy dinner is on the grill (we did!)...it really was enchanting and so special. If you like to get away from it all and relax and enjoy the outdoors without camping, the casitas are ideal.

A few pointers...If you go with children, it's best to plan for them to be on the quieter side..casitas are side by side, and in some cases, joined. You can hear giggles and kids' voices when they're being loud. Not a huge issue considering what the casitas offer, and maybe not an issue at all for some visitors, but we felt the peacefulness and wildlife could be better enjoyed in the silence.

Also, we went during monsoon season in NM and a number of trails were impassable due to the high level of the Gila River, so we were not able to hike in those areas. Just something to consider if you enjoy hiking and are flexible on the time of year to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LFPPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Casitas de Gila is about a 4 mile drive on a dirt/gravel road that ascends and descends and is sometimes only wide enough for one vehicle with a drop off on one side. I was driving a large SUV and my knuckles were quite white when we arrived at the top of the mountain and found the sign about the lack of stress. there are 5 casitas with unbelievable views. The inside is just beautiful and there is a barbecue outside and a hot tub that is shared by the residents of all the casitas (we had the hot tub to our own) and sits on top of the cliff - truly wonderful experience. This is the place to leave the world behind and as another reviewer noted we were sorry that we only had one night to stay. But we are so happy that we did the one night. There is a kitchen with cereal, juice, frozen bagels and we were given a tasty homemade bread for breakfast. There is even an art/jewelry gallery just steps from the casitas. The trip down, as Becky the owner said was much less stressful

Room Tip: Really doesn't matter depending on the number of bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowlby324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It takes awhile to get there, but it is a great place to relax and get away from it all. We hiked at the Mogollon "ghost town". Best to go there on the weekend when the Purple Onion is open - great hamburgers and ice cream / shakes. We also went to the Gila Cliff Dwellings - very impressive. Both unfortunately do take awhile to drive to but were worth it. Breakfast is simple at the Casitas - just cereal, yogurt, and pumpkin bread, but were adequate. Loved the serenity and valley with a creek below. The hot tub was nice (would be even better in seasons when it is cooler). The stars are brilliant here and should really be enjoyed. We preferred bringing supplies with us and grilling there due to the 45 minute commute to Silver City and the enjoyable surroundings there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We made a mistake and only booked one night. This place is remote and once you get here you should spend at least a day hiking or geocaching or bird watching or whatever it is you like to do when getting back to nature. The accommodations are the closest you can get to home and still be in the middle of nowhere. There is a full kitchen and an outdoor grill. There are staples in the refrigerator plus milk and cereal for breakfast. Chicken and steak are available from the owners for grilling for a fee. You could probably survive without doing so but we bought supplies in Silver City before getting here and cooked a nice dinner. I loved the view and the fireplace.

The owner was very nice and had a lot of information about hiking in the area. He was also very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Schtork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went a few weeks ago to this out of the way place in the Gila Wilderness just outside of the town Gila..the scenery is beautiful, the casita we stayed in was so nice with a kiva fireplace, two bedrooms and a nice european or handicap shower, loved the colors, and it had trails and geocaches. Loved the stream below and they have their own artist gallery, the casita was stocked nicely for breakfast..we all enjoyed it so much..horses came up to the cabin .a hot tub in the night looking at the stars. incredible...loved Michael and Becky who were great hosts...will go back

Room Tip: we loved the two bedroom and we shared it with another couple..plenty of room enjoyed the chimanya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freereignministries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It seems like we relax here in a way that it hard to do elsewhere. The access to the natural world is extraordinary, and the quiet here makes me realize how noisy the everyday world is. The casitas are beautifully decorated and maintained, and are stocked with everything you could need. We brought food in with us and cooked simple meals, and didn't leave the property except to hike. Michael did a "star tour" for us on a moonless night. How incredible to see the rings of Jupiter and look at the Andromeda galaxy! thank you; we'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casitas de Gila Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas de Gila Guesthouses

Address: 50 Casita Flats Road, Gila, NM 88038
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gila
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gila
Price Range: $150 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stress-Free Zone in Southwest New Mexico, featuring southwestern guesthouses, art gallery, and nature preserve on 265 acres overlooking the Gila Wilderness in Southwest New Mexico, in the Silver City area. Our 5 casitas each have full kitchens, fireplaces, continental breakfast, free wifi, bbq grills, porches. Hike over 6 miles of trails on our property, nap in a hammock by Bear Creek, view the Milky Way in the clear, dark skies. Visit cliff dwellings, ghost towns, galleries and museums. We're one of Sunset Magazine's Top 10 Weekend Getaways! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing