We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again for the Nth time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casitas de Gila Guesthouses
Ranked #1 of 1 Gila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Back again for the Nth time!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We keep returning here because we love it - and travel 5000 miles to do so from the UK. Michael and Becky are the perfect hosts, they are around when you want them, not when you don't. The Casitas are immaculate and superbly maintained and unlike some places where all that is available as foodstuffs is what others have left behind, there is always fresh milk, juice, home made cake waiting for you when you arrive. Read the other reviews, you will rarely find one that doesn't rave about this place.
Peace, quiet, no TV (but there is good wifi) and fabulous views by both day and night.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple, try to get one of the outer Casitas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johngpsysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    9
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
65
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom casita for one night, which was not long enough. The Casitas are set on a gorgeous property with plenty of hiking trails. At night you can see soooo many stars. There's a hot tub on site that is great for star gazing on cool nights.

The casita was very nice - modern, clean and classy. I especially enjoyed the fire place and the cozy bed. The kitchen is stocked with basic items (spices, condiments, coffee, tea and continental-type breakfast foods). The homemade pumpkin bread was delicious! I recommend stopping for groceries in Silver City since there aren't any restaurants close to the Casitas. Each casita has a grill you can use.

The Casitas are a perfect escape from a busy life. The peaceful surroundings and lack of a tv force you to relax!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megs828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is such an incredible and unique spot, if you are looking for peace, dark starry skies and plenty of time to look at nature. The casitas are all lovely, and you can choose whether to go on some of the many trails that Michael and Becky, the owners, will tell you about, or just sit and stare at the mountain, with maybe a walk down to Bear Creek, which is our favorite pastime. You will need to stock up on additional food items to add to the basic four breakfasts that are supplied. Once you are there, you won't want to leave! If renting a car, we recommend you make sure it has tires that are suitable for the pretty rough dirt road to the Casitas. Silver City is worth a day out, to look at the art galleries, the museum, and to eat at Diane's restaurant. If you go when the moon is at its darkest, Michael may be persuaded to bring out his fabulous telescope and give you a look at the stars. It is a two-day trip for us to get here, but well worth it.

Room Tip: If you come here on a second or third visit, my advice is to get a different casita each time! If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmasfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Really enjoyed our time here, had hummingbirds all around us as we sat on the patio. Had a little trouble finding the dirt road to the Casitas, but once we arrived found it very relaxing and a great break from living in Chicagoland. We ate in twice, and Becky arranged for some really first class chicken for us to put onto the grill. Silver City is a good 30 minutes away so make sure you stock up on food and gas. Michael provided some tips on great hiking trails in the area and we were never disappointed. A wonderful experience. We didn't want to come back..

Room Tip: Casita #5 has a hummingbird feeder which really brings them in!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tosawest74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was the second time we had stayed at the casitas. Thinking back to the first time and an anxious trip in, we hired an SUV to travel along the gravel road but somehow it had improved since last time.
We stayed in the Casita de los Pajaros this time. Everything was just as we remembered, the warm welcome, well stocked breakfast cupboard and fridge and the complete peace and quiet of the Gila Wilderness. This was, once again, the perfect end to an action packed three weeks vacation, a chance to unwind and enjoy the silence, the beating of the hummingbirds' wings, the antics of the chipmunks and of course the glorious sunsets which change colour by the second. I couldn't wait to post my photos of those spectacular sunsets so that my friends could see them too. We didn't have the starry skies on this occasion but did have the thunder and lightning and a little of the rain the area so badly needs.
One trip out to the Gila Cliff Dwellings and the rest of the time to relax and read and just enjoy each others company and of course the delightful gallery at the casitas full of local crafts and art. I would have loved one of the fantastic birdhouses but, unfortunately, it wouldn't have fitted in my suitcase.
Then of course, the long drive back to Albuquerque, somehow not quite so bad now that we were relaxed. Well done Becky and Michael, it's paradise on earth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francophile65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here with the family for the second time in about six years...and now we're wondering why we waited so long to come back! We fell in love with both Gila and Silver City the first time, and over the years we have returned to the region a dozen or so times, trying out different establishments each time. Everything from rustic cabins to historic hotels and individual rental homes. By far the Casitas are the most special of all these places. Think of setting up in a small one or two bedroom adobe home, perched on a bluff over Bear Creek, with a stunning view of Turtle Rock and the Mogollon mountains. Throw in wonderful hosts (Michael and Becky - Michael even took the kids panning for gold!!!), both gas and charcol grills, covered porches, outdoor picnic tables, additional outdoor seating, viewing scopes, chimineas and a hot tub!

We spent our morning (and many afternoons) out hiking the Gila, tooled around Silver from time to time...but made sure to be back at the Casitas by late afternoon to spark up the grill, grab a cold beverage and watch the magic begin. Even our kids were awestruck.

The only downsides, no AC, but in this part of the country you hardly ever need it, especially with adobe construction. Also, the road in from the town of Gila is a bumpy gravel road, so it takes an additional 15 minutes or so (all told about 40-45 minutes from downtown SIlver), but it's easy enough to drive and definitely adds to the mystique. If your focus is primarily the art galleries in Silver, then you might want to find a place in town. But if you want to be surrounded by natural beauty and still have access to the galleries plus great hiking this place is a good choice.

Once you get in sync, you will understand their sign at the entrance about "entering a stress free zone". Needless to say we highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrapinproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Very well designed and fully equipped casitas. clean, quiet, and isolated. no tv or cell service. beautiful views; isolated if that is what you are looking for. nearest services in Silver City about 40 minutes away. unpaved but well maintained roads about 7 miles. well marked road after you find the blue sign in Gila.
not mentioned in brochures that i recall but rooms not air conditioned in summer. yes, it cools down at night. screens on windows so with all windows open by midnight it was 85 degrees and by 2 pm it was 83 degrees. ceiling fans helped but not what we expected or needed for a good night sleep.
a very nice facility in a unique location that could be heaven or hell; depending on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwr2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Casitas de Gila Guesthouses, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Here in the high desert of Southwestern New Mexico, at our altitude of 5,000 ft., there are about 360 days a year where air conditioning is simply not necessary. We are SO sorry you were unfortunate enough to be here for 2 of the few nights where air conditioning would have been a plus. Through the 14 years we have welcomed guests at Casitas de Gila, we have thought long and hard about air conditioning (and TVs). Our 265 acres are truly incredible: the vistas magnificent, the silence deafening, the night skies dark and clear. Nature surrounds you here and envelopes you in its beauty. Air conditioning (and TVs) keep people indoors day and night. We want our guests outside, watching the sunrise, watching the sunset, listening to the birds chatter and the frogs croak, looking at the Bighorn Sheep on the cliffs above the creek, hiking our trails, marveling at the Milky Way ... enjoying everything Nature has to offer, as well as the Gila National Forest and Gila Wilderness. We hope you will come again and experience all our seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gila
19.8 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
220 reviews
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
19.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 9 in Silver City
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#9 of 9 in Silver City
59 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bear Creek Motel and Cabins
Bear Creek Motel and Cabins
#1 of 1 in Pinos Altos
93 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Silver City
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas de Gila Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas de Gila Guesthouses

Property: Casitas de Gila Guesthouses
Address: 50 Casita Flats Road (off Hooker Loop), Gila, NM 88038
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gila
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stress-Free Zone in Southwest New Mexico, featuring southwestern guesthouses, art gallery, and nature preserve on 265 acres overlooking the Gila Wilderness in Southwest New Mexico, in the Silver City area. Our 5 casitas each have full kitchens, fireplaces, continental breakfast, free wifi, bbq grills, porches. Hike over 6 miles of trails on our property, nap in a hammock by Bear Creek, view the Milky Way in the clear, dark skies. Visit cliff dwellings, ghost towns, galleries and museums. We're one of Sunset Magazine's Top 10 Weekend Getaways! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing