We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare in Gallup”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn And Suites Gallup
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Sun City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nightmare in Gallup”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our nightmare began shortly after we arrived at the motel where we were looking forward to relaxing and to watch the Baseball World Series. Can you believe motel did not offer the World Series as well as several other channels. Also, the heater and the refrigerator controls were not operating properly.
The following day (10/28/2013) we continued our trip west to Sun City, AZ. During the trip my wifes arms began to itch. Before long, big, itchy red welts began to appear!
After confirming the identity as BED-BUG BITES and buying and treating them, we contacted the Gallup, NM motel and since have received NO contact or satisfaction.
You say this must be an isolated incident but we have to disagree. We received little or no courtesy regarding this nightmare.
Wayne C.
PS: We also have pictures of the bites,

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGallup, General Manager at Quality Inn And Suites Gallup, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I am sorry for your bad experience at our property. Please contact the hotel directly to discuss this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    41
    24
    33
See reviews for
71
58
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Friendly front desk personnel, clean rooms, ample parking and right on the highway. However, we selected this place for the pool, spa and sauna. The spa water had an odor, and the pool water was below the skimmers and was not circulating. There was a "slick" on the pool surface and thus the pool either should have been closed /or being worked on. We did not go in for fear of disease. The sauna was working, but there were no chairs out side or hooks or anywhere to put your towel or extra clothes -- not well thought out. Appleby's a block away gives you 10% off dinner if you tell them you are staying at the Quality Inn.

Room Tip: Suites have a sofa in addition to the beds so if you have a restless traveler, they can sit up on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lili R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGallup, General Manager at Quality Inn And Suites Gallup, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We will use this review to better our guests experience's . We are working on the pool to make it a great feature in our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I were traveling from Las Vegas to New Orleans via motorcycle when we needed to stop for the night. The nightly rate was a little more than we could afford but the staff was very accommodating and worked with us on the room price. We really appreciated this since the last thing we wanted to do was get back on the motorcycle when it was in the 40's. The room was spacious, clean and next door to a Cracker Barrel so we could walk over. I cannot say one bad thing about this stay and truly wish we could have stayed another night to explore Gallup further.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGallup, General Manager at Quality Inn And Suites Gallup, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We try to make sure every guest is comfortable and that our service is the best in town! I will pass along this review with all the employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were traveling home to Missouri from California after meeting our newest grand daughter. Not being world travelers and trying to get as far as we could before we stopped, we were just plain beat.
I had a coupons for various chains and after spending a tremendous amount of money on our adventure was hoping to save a little on a good nights sleep. Some of the "other" chains that I called immediately said that they were full once I mentioned "coupon".
It was after midnight and we just had to stop to sleep and we wanted a good clean room with a comfortable bed. I called the number for the local Quality Inn at Gallup to see if they had rooms available and was transferred to reservations. They had rooms and I reserved a king size bed. I did not mention the coupon after the other walls I ran into with the other chains. Once at the hotel, I explained the issue to the desk clerk and she graciously honored our coupon. While we didn't get the king, we were so relieved to find the room cozy, comfortable and clean. I think that is the best rest I had the whole two week trip! The clerk was very personable and professional at the same time. She truly knew we were as far as we could go that night. the breakfast was a great way to start our trip home with not just a bunch of carbs but a balance of protein. Coffee in the room, a huge plus! Very grateful for a good nights sleep and great start to the end of our trip!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGallup, General Manager at Quality Inn And Suites Gallup, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for all the kind words! Our staff try's really hard to make sure every guest has a great experience. I will pass this on to all employees to let them know what a great job they did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Long story, but briefly, we checked in as a one night stop-over on a road trip and were given a room upstairs. (There is no elevator.) After being in the room for about half hour we started to unpack and discovered a suitcase & man's clothes in the armoire! After talking with front desk and holding while they figured out what happened, they moved us to another room downstairs. In the morning when I went to check out and jokingly said they should give me a discount, they comped us the room for the inconvenience and gave us bottled water and snack bars for the road. One expects this at an expensive hotel, but not in a roadside chain. It was very nice of them.

Room Tip: If you can climb stairs, get an upstairs room and something in the back off the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denadenaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krb0124, General Manager at Quality Inn And Suites Gallup, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We were glad we had the opportunity to "make right" an embarrassing mistake. We so enjoyed visiting with you and having you stay with us. See you next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Good location near the highway. Older hotel with large rooms but small bathrooms. Near to shopping and restaurants. Fridges and microwaves in rooms. We had a ground floor and there is not much sound proofing in the floors, make sure you get a top floor room. Indoor pool looked nice. Train noise was minimal. Price was good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WNickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krb0124, General Manager at Quality Inn And Suites Gallup, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling from Nevada to Kentucky, stopped at the New Mexico welcome center and saw it was the balloon festival in Albuquerque. Worried we would have trouble getting a room in Albuquerque with 2 pets we reluctantly stopped at the Quality Inn in Gallup. We got exactly what we wanted, the hotel staff was very pleasant, the room was decorated well, and clean. We were very comfortable, and restaurants were within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again. Oh, by the way if you stop at a welcome center/rest area there are hotel coupons. We got our room for $69.99 with the coupon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnyjobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krb0124, General Manager at Quality Inn And Suites Gallup, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are so happy you stayed with us and really appreciate your feedback! See you next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#4 of 35 in Gallup
472 reviews
3.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#13 of 35 in Gallup
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gallup
SpringHill Suites Gallup
#11 of 35 in Gallup
79 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#6 of 35 in Gallup
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn And Suites Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn And Suites Gallup

Property: Quality Inn And Suites Gallup
Address: 1500 W Maloney Ave, Gallup, NM 87301-5396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn And Suites Gallup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a recently renovated, hotel located in the northside business corridor in the heart of Gallup. The Navajo Nation Capital in Window Rock, Red Rock State Park, the Gallup Municipal Airport, El Morro Theatre and the Red Rock Museum are minutes from this Gallup, NM hotel. Hourly shuttles are offered to the Fire Rock Navajo Casino Monday through Sunday 9 a.M. - 1 A.M.From traditional Native American jewelry to the surrounding array of vibrant colored high desert mesas, one can easily find themselves a bit closer to the city of Gallup's unique blend of indigenous cultures. The rich assortment of art, music, ceremonials, pow-wows and cuisine shared in town by the Zuni, Hopi, Acoma and Laguna tribes create the essence of Gallup, New Mexico. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Cracker Barrel Old Country Store and Restaurant and Applebee's Neighborhood Grill and Bar are adjacent to the hotel.Hotel amenities and features include: Free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, Free Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, Free weekday newspaper. Be sure to take advantage of the manager's reception, which includes coffee, lemonade and warm cookies. Guests of this Gallup, NM hotel will enjoy relaxing after a long day of traveling or business meetings in the indoor heated pool and hot tub.Business travelers will appreciate the meeting room that accommodates up to 25 people for most business functions. Access to copy and fax services is offered.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites hotel is the perfect destination when visiting the Gallup, New Mexico area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn And Suites Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Gallup Hotel Gallup
Quality Inn Gallup
Gallup Quality Inn
Quality Inn Hotel Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing