We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Updating, Great Value and Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Ivins, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Recent Updating, Great Value and Sleep”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Checking the reviews it was apparent there had been a recent shift for the better at the Red Roof Inn in Gallup. We liked the reasonable price and easy location from the freeway and were not looking for a Rt 66 experience on this trip.

The staff was very friendly and quick to help us check in. We requested a ground floor room because we like the outside doors and parking right at the door of the room. The room we were given was on the back side of the hotel, (supposed to be more train noise on that side), but would have been fine and was spotless and freshly updated, but was a recently converted smoking room and the smell was still too strong for us. Back to the office and they very quickly changed us to another room up front just down from the office, (103). Much the same condition, minus the smoke smell, so excellent.

Great sleep on the king bed and loved the new hard floors! No more scary carpet! Everything was clean and the room had the trifecta of fridge/micro/coffee maker along with iron and hair dryer, new flat screen TV and a great desk layout.

The breakfast area is small, but they do have plans to upgrade that as well. Our only thing we would have liked that was missing was a second chair in the room. Would definitely aim for the Red Roof again any time we need to stop in Gallup!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side are quieter. Rm #103, (king n/s room) has the stair well right in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to leave us feedback, we are so pleased that you had a nice stay with us and that you liked the new rooms (we think they're great too). We realize that our property isn't perfect, but we are always trying to upgrade and make improvements; it makes us happy that our efforts haven't gone un-noticed. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Gallup! Thank you for your business and your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    182
    111
    40
    24
See reviews for
103
162
59
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Oxfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

stayed here twice in October - 2 nights each time on the way to and from other areas of NM. Clean room, provided what we needed. Didn't try the breakfast as it was offered in the reception area and whenever I looked there was quite a gathering waiting to get to the coffee and whatever else was on offer. The receptionist did invite me to take things back to my room - I'm not sure where else we could have eaten it - but we gave it a miss as it was easier to get in the car and go out and buy the same without the queuing. If passing through Gallup again I would definitely still use this motel - on the outer edges of the town but easy to find and provided everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLWSouthOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! I am glad you found our property to your liking. I know the breakfast area is cramped at the moment and am very sorry that this prevented you from eating here...we are hoping to expand our breakfast area in the near future, so hopefully you will be able to eat with us if your travels bring you to Gallup again. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave a review. Have a safe trip back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Well having checked out of the Palazzo in Las Vegas this was quite a lot different to say the least. Being English I have to say that this place looks much like every motel we see in America programmes on TV - normally because Earl is living there with his brother Randy or because CSI are investigating something - so I half expected a body in the pool the next morning - thankfully not!

We arrived in the dark and picked this place mainly because they had availability and it was cheap. The rooms were clean and functional with air-conditioning and a good sized TV.

I was on the first floor and the only issue I had was that the whole room shook when someone walked past outside. I slept reasonably well and we left first thing in the morning and whilst we looked at the "continental" breakfast we opted to leave it.

Overall, good value and I'd stay at a Red Roof Inn again based on this first experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earltubthumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are glad to hear that our property met your needs. We are always trying to upgrade and improve so that our guests can enjoy optimal comfort; we may not ever be the Palazzo, but we'll work on that for you. I hope you have enjoyed your travels here and that you have a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I read the reviews for this hotel and was very skeptical. What a pleasant surprise. I had a king bed, great bedding laminate flooring, flat screen tv, microwave, fridge and desk with a real desk chair. I know this seems silly, but it was the first hotel where I didn't need my own toilet paper. Also, he staff was very attentive, pleasant, helpful and just plain nice. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squeak505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review! We are striving to give our guests the best accomadation possible at low prices so it makes us very happy that you felt that way! We hope you will come back to us again in your travels so we can continue giving you the service that you deserve. Have a safe trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed based on reviews, and were very pleased! Loved the updated room, great paint choice. :-) Bed could be firmer, (personal choice) but that's about it. Breakfast was small but offered warm and cold choices so most will find something they like. Will definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickylynne2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are so pleased that you like the new rooms; we are partial to them also. It makes us happy when our guests are able to leave here with a great experience because that is always our goal. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are passing through Gallup! Have a safe trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If this is representative of all Red Roof Inns. Such an awful odor. I don't think the carpet has ever been cleaned. Probably my last use of this chain. Have pets but there is NO excuse for this. I would rather pay $100 & know my room is clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadarff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We are terribly sorry you had a bad experience here. The Red Roof Inn properties maintain high standards for cleanliness and we try to uphold those which includes having our carpets cleaned on a regular basis. We are very sorry if the room you had was lacking in that regard. Please accept our sincere apologies and our hopes that you won't give up on the Red Roof Inn. We encourage our guests to alert us immidiately if their rooms are not satisfactory and we try to make any changes that will make them more comfortable. I am sorry this didn't happen for you. I wish you safe and happy future travels, and again, I apologize for any frustration that your stay here caused to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gallup hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I am all for traveling on a budget, but this hotel was absolutely horrific. The room was dirty, the property poorly maintained, and the breakfast bar they offered was terrible. This was a disappointment since this hotel advertises a "full breakfast" instead of a continental breakfast. Completely misleading! Additionally, I requested a non-smoking room, but you'd never know it! My room was so smoky that I had a hard time sleeping. There was no elevator, and for someone who needs one, this proved to be quite a challenge. There are other options worth exploring. If you can, stay elsewhere or keep driving!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanEsq12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I'm so sorry your experience here was not the pleasant, enjoyable one that you deserve. We pride ourselves in doing our best and training our staff to do the same, so we are truly sorry the cleanliness of your room didn't meet your expectations and in turn did not meet our expectations. If any advertisements for our business were misleading in their description of the type of breakfast we offer, we are so sorry. We try to be clear and only advertise that we have a free continental breakfast, however some websites only give us the option of stating whether we do or do not offer free breakfast but do not allow us to be more specific than that. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. I hope your future travels are pleasant ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
9.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 35 in Gallup
282 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#4 of 35 in Gallup
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
3.2 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#14 of 35 in Gallup
93 reviews
9.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#6 of 35 in Gallup
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Gallup

Property: Red Roof Inn Gallup
Address: 3304 West Highway 66, I-40 at US 66, Exit #16, Gallup, NM 87301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gallup
#6 Business Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Gallup 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gallup and we invite you to be our guest at the Red Roof Inn Gallup, New Mexico. Our non-smoking, pet friendly, family friendly hotel is conveniently located to the attractions and entertainment you are looking for in the Gallup area; including Historical Downtown Gallup, the Gallup Convention Center, the Mural Art Center and the Gallup Cultural Center. Other nearby attractions include Western New Mexico University, University of New Mexico, Gallup, Fire Rock Navajo Casino and Acoma Sky City. The nature lover will enjoy being close to Canyon De Chelly, Red Rock State Park and Chaco Canyon. When traveling for business or leisure we are a short trip to all that Gallup has to offer. Experience the new Red Roof Inn Gallup; a completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The rooms at this non-smoking hotel feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. All guest rooms offer free WiFi, in-room safe, in-room coffee, microwave & refrigerator, as well as, a selection of free TV channels and pay-to-view premium channels, movies. This hotel offers a fitness center, a seasonal outdoor pool, coin laundry, an elevator, and Suites. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee & tea in the lobby. We welcome your pet as a guest as one well behaved pet stays free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gallup Hotel Gallup
Gallup Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing