We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Gallup

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Gallup to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Gallup
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3304 West Highway 66, I-40 at US 66, Exit #16, Gallup, NM 87301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Divide
1 review
“Great for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great value for the money. Stayed twice in November-- both times weekdays. Rooms are clean, bathrooms are clean. Have stayed in both "superior King" and "standard Queen". King has a spacious desk and extra outlets for computers, Queen is perfect for singles with a small table. Pillows are actually kinda comfortable. Bed is decent quality, sheets not too scratchy. WiFi works for the basics. Noise isn't an issue, even with the "truck stop" in the back. Its not a truck stop, its truck parking/ overflow for large vehicles. Truckers like a hot shower and a bed too-- yes some times they need to run the reefrig in the trucks to keep your produce from spoiling. Night Staff is courteous, morning staff is blunt and dry. Its off Exit 16 (I-40), so you are away from the train yard and next to the airport. This equals quiet.

Breakfast is old muffins, waffle "goo" and below average coffee. The COFFEE is really what is in dire need of improvement Red Roof.

Room Tip: Look for room on the front /street side of the Building if you dont want stairwell traffic-- also an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranger171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    152
    96
    33
    21
See reviews for
77
136
48
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was one of the best values I've ever gotten from a hotel.

The exterior is a bit drab, but our room was recently updated and very clean. The front desk staff were exceptionally nice. They asked about my drive, gave me dinner recommendations, and gave me a courtesy call after I'd reached my room to make sure everything was in order.

Even the layout of the room was good. There was plenty of lighting, plenty of counter space, and comfortable pillows (all pet peeves of mine).

I hope other places are taking notes, because this is exactly how a budget motel should be run; Nothing too fancy, just a clean room, friendly staff, and a great price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PETOSKEY
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Despite the sounds of the trains (which WE like), this is a nice, affordable place to stay. We had no problems of any kind as previously read about. We had a room in the back near the train tracks. No one bothered us. Rooms were very clean. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbingamanPetoskey_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Despite negative reviews we stayed here. Yep-heard the trains but we found that comforting and lulling for sleep. Away from the noise of the downtown was nice. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Will stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbingaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Not wanting to spend another night at an older Motel 6 with our dog and my 80 year old handicapped Mom who cannot climb stairs, we priced several other motels in Gallup, finding all to be pricey for October. I asked at the Red Roof and was surprised that the clerk offered to have me look at a room and then decide. I am happy I did. The room was large, spotless, had a fridge, microwave, free wifi, a huge flat screen TV, scads of amenities, and breakfast for only around $12 more than Motel 6. The staff even called after a bit to make sure everything was fine with the room. It was a great stay,and with an inside room by the pool, it was really quiet. I even joined the hotel club for the points. I would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside by the pool are quieter and more appealing than the outside strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyJFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groom, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

As an insurance agent I have annual enrollments in Gallup that last 6 weeks. I have stayed here for the last ten years during my enrollment times. The staff is always pleasant and friendly, the rooms are clean and the customer service is excellent all for a reasonable price too. Whenever I needed assistance help was always given. In my ten years I have seen the staff go above and beyond in many ways. Yes, I've had a few small issues arise over the years myself but it was always handled properly and efficiently.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
209 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I'm going to tell you some important things about this place that will directly impact your stay. If you don't listen, you're really, really going to hate it here.

First, if you get off I-40 at exit 16, go over to the truckstop first. They have those motel booklets. There'll probably be a coupon for this property in it for about $37, Be aware that this is the ONE person rate, you'll pay $5 more for two people, but it'll be cheaper than just walking in or even booking online.

Next. Be SURE (and I can't stress this enough!) to get an inside room. If possible, one facing the pool. Why? Because Gallup is a railroad town, with a train every 3 minutes, and if you don't face the inside, you're going to hear them, all night. Next off, and I don't understand this at all, Mr. Patel, the owner, has let a sort of "truck stop" appear in his parking lot, in the back. I'm not kidding you. I went out and counted... there were 14 big semi type dump truck rigs taking up the entire back lot, they even had the box off a Ryder truck acting as their maintenance shop/storage building. There'll be trucks all day and night, running at all hours. If you're facing the back, you're going to go insane between the trucks and the trains.

If you're in an inside room, you'll hear *some* noise, but it should be tolerable for one night.

This is an older Red Roof, with a small amount of the newer upgrades made. Don't expect great, just expect an OK room for the night. Unless you didn't listen to me, then expect unbearable noise and no sleep.

I really have to wonder if the folks at Red Roof's Corporate HQ know that Mr. Patel is running a truck stop/yard out of his parking lot, and what they'd think of that?

Oh, and don't forget to ask for a coupon to the Ranch Kitchen. It's OK food, but the 10% off helps.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a outward facing room, especially in the back, unless you just adore the noise of trucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
9.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 34 in Gallup
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
9.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallup-West
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gallup
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gallup Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Gallup

Property: Red Roof Inn Gallup
Address: 3304 West Highway 66, I-40 at US 66, Exit #16, Gallup, NM 87301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gallup
#6 Business Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Gallup 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gallup and we invite you to be our guest at the Red Roof Inn Gallup, New Mexico. Our non-smoking, pet friendly, family friendly hotel is conveniently located to the attractions and entertainment you are looking for in the Gallup area; including Historical Downtown Gallup, the Gallup Convention Center, the Mural Art Center and the Gallup Cultural Center. Other nearby attractions include Western New Mexico University, University of New Mexico, Gallup, Fire Rock Navajo Casino and Acoma Sky City. The nature lover will enjoy being close to Canyon De Chelly, Red Rock State Park and Chaco Canyon. When traveling for business or leisure we are a short trip to all that Gallup has to offer. Experience the new Red Roof Inn Gallup; a completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The rooms at this non-smoking hotel feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. All guest rooms offer free WiFi, in-room safe, in-room coffee, microwave & refrigerator, as well as, a selection of free TV channels and pay-to-view premium channels, movies. This hotel offers a fitness center, a seasonal outdoor pool, coin laundry, an elevator, and Suites. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee & tea and continental breakfast in the lobby. We welcome your pet as a guest as one well behaved pet stays free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gallup Hotel Gallup
Gallup Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing