We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wants to be #1, but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Oceanside
2 reviews
“Wants to be #1, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Trying to dress up an old hotel. But, mold in grout of tiles, bathroom walls show cracks and gaps in surface plaster , chair and ottoman in room are stained and worn out, furniture scratched and worn. But beds good, sheets clean and for an overnight it's just ok. Pool closed by state inspector.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRR1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionna D, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
As the new general manager of the Red LIon, I would like to thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. We try to exceed all of our guest expectations, however, there are occasions were we don't meet them. Please accept my apologize for the frustration you have experienced during your stay. The pool was closed for a chemical imbalance and will be opened this week. The cleanliness issues have been taken to our housekeeping department and we are deep cleaning every room The issues of unfriendliness has also been addressed at our front desk meeting as well. I would like to invite you to stay with us again when you are in the area.
Thank you again.
Dionna Douros-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    46
    35
    43
See reviews for
51
48
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gallup
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one evening. Check in was clumsy. Only one front desk girl to handle everything and everyone! I felt sad for her. Our rooms were to be non-smoking but one of the rooms had fresh cigarette smoke in it! UGH! When we requested to be moved, the poor front desk girl was so busy but when our turn came it was handled smoothly.
Breakfast was interesting. No one in restaurant to help guests...food OK but ran out.
We left a valuable personal item in our room and are still awaiting a resolution!
The value for the room was good, bathroom fixtures old and worn. i will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionna D, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
I want to thank you for submitting your review and I want to apologize for the frustration you experienced. I will take these concerns to our manager meeting and we will be discussing the breakdown that occurred and the corrective action that is needed. Again I apologize for your frustration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gallup hotels

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I guess if you're just looking for a place to sleep this hotel isn't so bad, but if you care about things like customer service and clean water, maybe you should look elsewhere. Right when we walked in, the man at the front desk was very rude and unhelpful and just seemed overall uninterested with helping me. When we got to the room it seemed decent but when you pull back the sheets they looked black and filthy and the water smells like rust and roast beef. The room was very spacious though, and it had a nice microwave so.... Priorities I guess

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Breanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionna D, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
I want to thank you for submitting your review of the hotel. we try very hard to meet our guest expectations, unfortunately, there are occasions where this doesn't happen. I am sorry you had a bad experience and would like to apologize for the frustration you experienced. I will be taking your comments to our departmental meetings and they will be used as training tools for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great big room, clean and comfortable bed/pillows. Old school TV, no extra TP in the bathroom but otherwise it served well for an overnight road trip stop. Where it went all downhill was the check-in process, the mistake of parking in a bad area (more on that) and the lack of any actual food for the complimentary breakfast.

The check-in/check-out process. We were promised one rate and actually charged another on our card. Don't know where the disconnect occurred but check twice if you stay here, they might pull a fast one. Giving them the benefit of the doubt while we work it out but be careful.

The break-in. This was much as my fault as the hotel, we parked where we thought we would be close to our room, by the door at the side of the hotel instead of up front. It was lighted and literally right next to the door. We got a knock on the door from the Gallup Police Dept at 2:30 in the morning and they broke the bad news to us that our van was broken into. There was a guy from the hotel there, but he was indifferent to the whole situation other than offering supplies to cover up the window (I would be concerned that they have supplies for this situation on hand) We were warned not to park back there, but they really should just say, "don't park there at all" rather than "suggesting" not to park back there. That back door isn't even secured or locked at night, so I wouldn't be surprised if a room was broken into. Beware.

To add insult to injury, they were all out of breakfast by 8am. Also, the kids wanted to jump into the pool before heading out, the times listed in the room and online say the pool opens at 7pm, but if you go to the pool it's locked up and says it opens at 9am. Which is it?

I'll give them credit for a comfortable room, but everything else was a disaster.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionna D, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
I want to thank you for your review and let you know that we appreciate the information you have given us. I want to apologize for the frustration you experienced during your stay. I want to assure you that we will be taking these concerns to our team meeting and we will be discussing the breakdown that occurred and the corrective action that is needed. Thank you again for your review, it was appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This is the second year I have stayed at this hotel, each stay has been for a week. The hotel has recently undergone some major renovations and seem to still be going through some minor adjustment but very clean and very very very comfortable. The staff has been very nice and accommodating in all things that I saw and experienced. It is important to note that a full hot breakfast is served each morning and it was included in the room price. On Saturday, the breakfast was made to order and not steam-table. If you are going to be in Gallup, this Hotel is one that I highly recommend and will stay there again next year when I go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rakey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionna D, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
We want to thank you for choosing to stay at the Red Lion and let you know that we appreciate the feed back you have given us. we will be sharing this information with our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlerock, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our room was large, the beds clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and the overall experience was very nice, with a better than usual Continental breakfast. The indoor pool was large and the water warm,(if a little murky). The hot tub wasn't working. That was probably the most disappointing thing. The TV set wasn't very good, but the room had a mini-fridge and a microwave.
This isn't a Hilton. It's an overnight rest, so don't expect it to full-fill all your vacation needs. But I've spent a lot more money on crappy, smelly rooms with uncomfortable beds and rowdy neighbors. This was a friendly,cheap, comfortable rest from the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yancy357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionna D, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. If you are in the neighborhood again, please let us know. we love having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolf Creek, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel was a Best Western and was taken over approx. two years ago. They still don't have their act together. As a Red Lion Club Member I was disappointed. The cook and bartender failed to show up for work, thus no food or drink. The only food within walking distance is a Taco Bell and a sandwich/donut shop.
The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling off the wall and the light fixture was missing it's cover. Lamps were missing bulbs or were burned out. WI-FI did not work in the room, only by the pool or lobby. Hot tub was out of order.
We stayed there mid-week and was sent done the street to the next hotel, Gallup Inn, and their restaurant and lounge are only open on Friday's and Saturdays . They should have been aware of this if they're going to send their customers somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
sorry your stay was that bad i'll make sure to look in to what haeened ok again soory for your bad stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#13 of 34 in Gallup
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
8.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 34 in Gallup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Gallup
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gallup Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Property: Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Address: 3009 West Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing