We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Chinle, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We recently stayed here for one night and I must say, we were quite impressed with the lovely room! It was clean and quiet. The housekeeping staff were polite and friendly. The pool was great! Nice size and warm. The hot tub, however, wasn't working and it closed pretty early... Closed at 9pm, a little disappointing for my daughter. The wifi, my spouse had no trouble logging on and staying connected... For some reason, my iPad wasn't connecting... So used my spouse's iPad... The location wasn't fun, the hotel is situated pretty far from town. The restaurants nearby didn't look appealing so we had to drive clear across town to find a nice place to eat. Shopping and movie theater was pretty far, too. Overall, it was a nice hotel. Just a few things that bugged us but we slept good! haha

Room Tip: Bottom floor was great! No noise coming from above or next door! AC in all rooms, not noisy at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Am L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay . some apple products have trouble logging on to our wifi I don't know why . but I'm glad you liked your stay hope to see you back soo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    40
    46
    35
    41
See reviews for
50
47
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

My stay at the redlion was great. The morning staff was the best breakfast was amazing the cook came out and asked us how we were doing wich was very nice, the morning server made sure he did anything possible to make my wife and i were happy when she asked him for decaffeinated coffee he brought out a fresh cup specially for her! the food was amazing it was plated and fresh my family loved it not to mention i loved the music they were listening too! i made sure to get their names so there was no confusion . Fernando was the cook and shawn was the server they are very kind employees and i will definitely be back just because of them! Thanks for ur kind staff!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I'm very glad you enjoyed you stay we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deming, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Staying with my 91 year old mother in law and wife with 2 bad knees. Was told the only room was upstairs with no elevator. The room was not what I would expect from Red Lion, very mediocre. For breakfast the eggs were cold, the waffles were cold and hard. Order from room service of sandwiches took 1 hour to be delivered.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DeweyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I'm sorry this has happened to you I will be looking into this right away!
please except my apologies for the poor service you had. again I'm so sorry
have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gallup hotels

Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place is a DUMP! Stay somewhere else.
1. Showed up at 1pm to see if rooms might be available. Front desk clerk said they might be but if we checked in prior to 3pm she had to charge an extra $25 per room. WHAT???? I have been traveling for 30 years and have never heard of that rule.
2. Checked in: lobby smelled like sewage coming from the men's room. Room was 100 degrees and a/c did not work. Phone did not work. Changed rooms. Phone still did not work. Both bathroom light fixtures missing covers. TV remote did not work. No ice or vending on my floor. No elevator.
I will never stay here again!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTurtleGambler505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I'm sorry your stay was that bad here , I'm looking into the last few days and I'm not happy myself so things will change here real fast .
I'm sorry again ( but I will take of this) .have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I recently attended a graduation banquet for a nephew of mine at this hotel. The room was fine as were the facilities but the food served buffet style was inedible. Main courses were disgusting ham with some sort of glop they call glaze on top, chicken undercooked and potatoes and veggies had no taste whatsoever. I wandered the area and met a young, thin man who claimed to be the kitchen manager, this kid didn't seem that he could manage a bologne sandwich. Please guys hire some good, experienced kitchen staff.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine just don't eat here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
hello I'm Ryan I will be looking into this right away I don't understand why the food was like that .but I'll see what I can do ok
have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Univeristy Place
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Right off Route 66. Got it for a cheap rate off Expedia. Desk staff was friendly. Two people were really loud in the rear parking lot and the cops had to come remove them. Sounded like locals so that was kind of weird but not like it's the hotels fault. Room was very clean. Breakfast was very nice in a very nice room. Pool area was awesome.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank run4jesus078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed you stay with us , hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great buy. The room was clean and large. The breakfast included eggs, sausage, pancakes, assorted pastries, yogurt and fruit. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
thank you for your stay hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#11 of 34 in Gallup
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Gallup
7.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Red Rock-Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
3.1 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#17 of 34 in Gallup
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 34 in Gallup
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Property: Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Address: 3009 West Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing