We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Wonky - OK in a pinch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed there overnight on a long road trip relocating cross country. The first room had good AC, but no refrigerator or microwave and we needed the frig. Next room only one bed, " no, we need two beds as reserved". Finally got a room with 2 beds and frig, but AC highly inadequate, barely working. There is a very nice pool, indoor, completely enclosed building. It is in the central courtyard and none of the rooms have outside air. So, of course you smell the pool. It was at least 15 to 20 degrees cooler outside the next morning when we left.

Room Tip: Just be clear about your needs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your time reviewing our hotel. I am sorry you had a problem with the AC in your room. Our maintenance staff tries to be sure each room is ready for our next guest, but sometimes things such as an AC will stop working between the time it is checked and someone checks into the room.
Please give us another try on your next visit to Gallup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Gallup
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 194 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed only one night here on an R66 journey. This was the least acceptable of the 15 or so hotels we have stayed in. It felt very unwelcoming, very tired, smelling strongly of chlorine ( the pool?) and somewhere we just did not want to stay. Indeed as soon as it was light we left to continue our journey.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry you did not have a pleasant stay with us here in Gallup. We always want to make our guests "stay happy", I hope we can have another chance to show you we can do so much better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Last year's stay at the Red Lion was pretty good...noisy but overall adequate. One year later it was a different story. The room was not inviting, felt dirty. Two vents in the bathroom were hanging loose for lack of screws,you could see up into the ceiling; the tub drain seemed dirty, was stained and cracked; the furniture was dirty and stained.

Staff is pleasant and the breakfast was pretty good. But, if you like a nice, clean, room...well, maybe you'll be lucky.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babushka2three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

I am so sorry you experienced a problem at the hotel. I did check on the reason for the vents not having enough screws in them, obviously there was no acceptable answer, should never have happened.
I hope you will give us another chance on your next trip through Gallup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The room was fine, comfortable beds, quiet, even facing the railway. The hospitality was completely lacking.

We went for dinner, the restaurant had shut early so we had to go the restaurant (teetotal) next door not wanting to drive after a day on the road. Came back to the hotel for a drink and the bar had shut early due to lack of custom. This was about 9pm. We sat in the lobby for a bit, at least 5 other small groups came along to the bar, all disappointed

Room Tip: probably better away from main road and railway but no real issues with that.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

I am so sorry your experience was not what you should have gotten at the hotel. Please give us another chance. We are constantly reading reviews and making changes to make all our guests "stay happy".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were booked into this hotel as part of a group so had no option but to stay here. We changed rooms twice due to the stench of cigarettes in the rooms, foul!
The hotel is tired looking and really in need of a complete refurb or just bulldozing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionna D, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

thank you for your comments. i apologize that you were issued a smoking room. we do our best to accomodate our guests. Our groups are suppose to be issued non smoking rooms. i will take your comments back to our group sales rep and insure that in the future all groups are issued non smoking rooms. we are doing our best to refurbish our hotel and ammenities. however, this will take some time to accomplish. thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Pathetic attempt to be a decent hotel. Rooms have paper walls, front desk puts people beside you to make noise at 10 pm when the parking lot is nearly empty. Treadmill from 1990s doesnt work. Its a cheapy hotel with a nice new sign.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeklyTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Red Lion and it was not a pleasant experience. We went to our suite and turned on the air conditioning (it was 82 degrees when we entered). Within 15 minutes it was 85 degrees!!!! My traveling went to the front desk and told them the problem and they said maintenance would be called. After about 10 minutes I went to the front desk, no maintenance had arrived and it was getting hotter. The girl at the front desk was helpful and contacted maintenance immediately. We waited in the lobby. After speaking with maintenance she said that we could change rooms and were given a choice of three. Since we would have to move our luggage we chose the closer two doors down. We had driven from Taos and were hot and tired. The air conditioning worked in the new suite but there were large stains on the carpet and a large stain on the sofa. There was no refund for the inconvenience though the girl at the desk was very nice. Would never stay here again!!!!

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here in the summer ask if they could turn on the air conditioning before yo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let me know the problem you had at our hotel last night. I had the situation checked out this morning, I am sorry that you had to change rooms. We are in the process of cleaning all of our furniture,
Again, thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gallup
7.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#15 of 35 in Gallup
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 W Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6813 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: $46 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing