We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The roof in the atrium leaked, so the bride and groom brought in canopies - the couple took care of this, not the hotel. The guests didn't get wet, but the area was cold. After the ceremony, when people were seated for the meal, the bride, groom, attendants, and minister started off to sign the certificate - and were rather rudely stopped by a staff member who loudly discussed numbers of meals, lack of food in the kitchen, costs, etc.with the couple while the others looked on. The wedding was beautiful, but this is not a place anyone would really want to choose if the truth were known.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Linda_from_Gallup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Yes we did have problems due to the snow that was in Gallup. They asked if they could use canopies and we said yes. There was too much ice on the roof, making it unsafe for maintenance to try and do anything with the problem.

The buffet was ready, with plenty of food. However, they asked for 4 more tables and 30 more people to eat. This was in addition to the number on the contract. That caused the problems with the food. We did offer to cook from the menu, which they agreed too. Our cooks prepared the plates and served the 39 persons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Gallup
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 194 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were looking for a hotel/motel on Route 66 in Gallup and with many from which to choose, we selected the Red Lion as we have stayed at Red Lion Hotels before and were highly satisfied. However, this stay was below par compared to the others and it cost us $25.00 more than our previous stays this week. The person at the desk was not particularly friendly, and when I asked for a room on the first floor was told that there was only one available. (In the morning, we saw a mostly empty parking lot?!?) Some of the negatives - daily paper or USA Today was not free as in our five previous stays; breakfast was included with a hotel coupon, but the choices were slim compared to the large selection of free do it yourself breakfasts in our other stays and the utensils in the serving trays did not have heat proof handles, so I had to use my paper napkin to hold the serving utensil. The water faucet in one sink in our room barely ran the water when turned on. The skylight roof in the pool area leaked and there were buckets scattered around to collect the dripping water. The lighting was poor as we walked from our room to the lobby/restaurant area. On the plus side were the on site restaurant and comfortable beds. The free Internet is a given now and that worked fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your time and remarks. I have looked into the problems you noted, and made some changes. I am sorry about the leak in the Atrium, the snow in the area caused a delay in trying to make any emergency repairs. There was too much ice on the roof, creating a dangerous situation for maintenance.

I hope you will come again, as we are always updating the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Rooms and beds were nice and comfortable. We did have an issue with our room but they moved us. It is near the train tracks but pretty well insulated from the noise, we had no problems sleeping. Large indoor pool and courtyard was great for the kids. We were part of a very large group of people so the we had a discounted rate. I would stay here again. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beccareeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. When our guests leave the hotel happy and all of the employees are rewarded for the jobs they do on a daily basis. Again, thank you and have a safe trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stopped here because we were traveling with pets and the Red Lion is pet friendly. We arrived in the evening and received a very spacious, clean room that was quite adequate for our needs. We had a good nights' sleep and were able to be on our way early the next morning after eating at the breakfast buffet. The buffet was plentiful but basic. The staff was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you chose our hotel for your needs. We strive daily to improve and appreciate comments from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Needed a clean overnight hotel between the Grand Canyon and Albuquerque & this hotel on Route 66 in Gallup was a good economical choice. The room was spacious and very clean. The walls were thin I believe because we could very much hear our neighbors! We had room service and it wasn't fantastic but it was pretty good and quick.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from other visitors.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Latricia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for letting us be your resting place for the night. We are always happy when our guests are happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Customer service was great! The ladies at the front were friendly. I ask for a king size bed and they put me in a suite with one for the same price. Had a nice place to relax and have a drink! The lady at Rookies was also nice! Breakfast was hot and good. Well be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysonthego505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of updating our fitness center. We are aware that it is not at the place we want it to be for our guests. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Gallup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I just read some of the comments on here. Good thing it was after our stay. My wife and I spent the night here last evening. We were drop ins. The front desk clerk was very nice, and very accommodating. We were surprised to find the room was actually a nice suite, with a small seating area in it. While the hotel is not brand new, it is in good condition. Very good, new shower head, crisp clean linens, nice towels etc. The pool area is very nice, and indoors. Easily the biggest space I have ever seen for an indoor pool.

We had dinner in the dining room, the enchiladas were very good, breakfast was decent, not great.

The only bummer was the fitness area. We like to get in a decent aerobic workout before we hit the road. When we got to the workout center, both the treadmill and the stepper were broken! They need to invest in some better equipment. All in all however, a very good spot.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank olytraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

I would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate guests that let us know what kind of job we are doing and we are greatly rewarded by your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gallup
7.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#14 of 35 in Gallup
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 W Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6813 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: $46 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing