We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly suprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed July 16, 2012

After hearing about the freight trains in Gallup, I decided to book a room that faced the atrium-indoor pool in hope of a good night sleep. It was very quiet. I didn't notice any noise coming from the corridor, but the hotel was not very full. The room was very large and clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the a/c was quiet. The front desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly. The free breakfast is limited, but does offer more hot items than comparably priced motels. The main drawback is that it is located on the edge of town and not close to many restaurants. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ni4detail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you next time you are in Gallup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 194 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

I should have realized something when I checked in. To begin with the lobby smelled horrible because of the indoor pool in the adjacent room. The door were propped open for the pool room, but should have been closed. The doors were also open during our entire stay.

The front desk staff were discourteous.

The room was really worn. Everything, the carpet, the really soft beds, the curtains, the towels (so small and really worn and thin).

The hotel is across the street from one of the major railway lines in the west.

Stay somewhere else

The breakfast was in the attached restaurant - really meager and not very good.

Room Tip: One of the worst hotels I have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

I have read your comments and I am apologize for the problems you experienced. We usually get good reviews for our breakfast, however, I have shown the review to my kitchen staff and advised them to be more diligent with the food and be sure the burners are working.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The only upsides of this hotel is that our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Also the indoor pool is heated which was nice. I am confident I could have stayed somewhere less expensive and gotten a much better night's sleep.I experienced my worst night's sleep at a hotel at Red Lion Inn. I don't wake easily, but this hotel was so incredibly noisy (courtesy of the 1" gap beneath the hotel room door) that I continuously woke up throughout the night. I could hear other doors open and shut, and conversations taking place throughout the night (the most memorable being an long discussion in the hallway at 430am). I stayed on a Monday night in July, and the hotel wasn't exceptionally crowded-- just nonexistent soundproof around the hotel doors caused excessive outside noise levels inside the rooms.

When I was checking out I mentioned to the receptionist how the noise had prevented me from getting much sleep. The woman behind me in line chimed in agreement that she hardly slept too because it had been so noisy all night. They offered to give her some of her money back, but they told me they wouldn't do anything for me because I'd booked with Expedia.

An additional downfall was that my iPhone would not connect to the Internet (there was a signal, but the Internet is password protected and despite calling the front desk-- I still couldn't get access).

The shower in our room only output warm water at the hottest temperature setting. So if you like to take long hot showers, you'll likely be disappointed.

Breakfast is served from 6-9am. It was nothing special without much variety. The entire buffet menu consisted of: Scrambled eggs, bacon, grits, gravy and sausage, Danishes, toast, baby banana nut muffins, and a few types of cold cereal. There was no waffle maker, French toast, or pancakes

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Entlebuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The web site makes this place look amazing, and the lobby is really nice. There is a smell when you first walk in that I couldn't figure out, I thought maybe it was a cleaning fluid. It is the pool. There is an inside pool just past the lobby and the smell must be the chlorine.

Driving up, the hotel looked older, not like the new shiny web site. It was disappointing. The rooms are older, but maintained pretty well. The restaurant was decent for dinner but the breakfast buffet was just awful.

Room Tip: Park outside your hotel room window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeggyfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The pool is great and the restaurant has good food at a good price. Children and pets are always welcome so it made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrsars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

During a family vacation out west, only one night was not pre-booked. We called Red Lion and a couple of other hotels when we got to town. Based on price and other reviews we picked the Red Lion. While it was obviously an older hotel, the room was quite clean and roomy. Breakfast was adequate, and my kids even enjoyed the pool before heading out.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank ModerationForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were pleased that the facility provided clean beds and a clean washroom, BUT:

The chairs, mattresses and carpets were all stained (room 217)
The round table had not been cleaned at all
The door knob coming in to the room was broken and only worked in reverse
Only two of the five lamps worked
The coffee machine was available, but ther was nowhere to plug it in
They gave me a password for the Wifi ...and it didn't work



hUGE disappointment

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

First of all I would like to thank you for your review. Here at Red Lion Hotel in Gallup, we strive to make sure each and every guest is satisfied. I have made your review a priority with my maintenance staff and our housekeeping staff. We have checked each of your concerns and made any changes necessary. The Wi-Fi, was out in the area and we were having problems on this end of town. Because of your comment about the coffee maker, we have decided to move the coffee makers to a better location for the needs of our guests. I have spoken with the head housekeeper and the housekeeper that cleaned the room, and we have gone over your review with them. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know and we hope to see you on your next trip to Gallup and see we take our customers comments seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#14 of 35 in Gallup
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallup-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#7 of 35 in Gallup
453 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#5 of 35 in Gallup
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 W Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6813 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: $46 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing