We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken windows?”
Review of Super 8 Gallup

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Gallup
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This side of Gallup has seen better days - boarded up businesses all around. I was not happy with stopping here for the night, but it was just 1 night so we did. Paid for the room & drove around the east side of the building to park when we saw 3 sets of 1st floor room windows smashed in. No attempt to cover/fix them. A neighboring scream was heard as we drove around.
The security door at the back parking area was not locked.
We had thought of taking a quick dip in the indoor pool but since that security door was right by the pool, we felt insecure.
Believe that our 2nd floor door was firmly locked. The room itself was clean & presentable without any smoking smells.
A family restaurant, Don Diego, up the road was a convenient & tasty stop for dinner.
No other surprises were in store, thankfully. Breakfast was cereal & coffee & we vowed to skip any other motels that raised doubts.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 301 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were just interested in a quick stop on the way to our destination and have usually picked super 8s' . this got bad reviews but decided to stay anyway. The Room was clean and larger than expected. Older property and Lobby/Office could use an update but we were happy with everything. Limited bkfst menu but there was more than the last super 8 we stayed at. Easy on and off freeway and easy to find. We will stay there again

Room Tip: not sure-we stayed on 1st floor near an entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimandCheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Worst motel experience ever. "Non-smoking" room had been smoked in, alternative room they gave us (after no small amount of haggling) was small and run-down. There was no soap, no lotion and no shampoo/conditioner. You could see the parking lot through a gap in the wall beside the air conditioner. The bathroom cabinet doors below the sink were screwed shut and one of the screws was sticking out almost an inch--just right for catching your knee if you didn't see it. We arrived late and tired and didn't say anything about the soap until morning. When I finally asked for a bar at the front desk the clerk said, "But you're checking out this morning," and wouldn't give me one. I told her we didn't have one when we checked in, and she--finally and reluctantly--gave me one. Their breakfast bar was really sparse. The drink machine was out of orange juice. The motel was right across the street from the train tracks. The only positive note I can add is that the mattresses were new and were excellent. If you go to Gallup, stay anyplace but here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adolf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Frankly, I was concerned when I viewed the Trip Advisor reviews for this motel. But, for us, Gallup was not our destination - we were simply passing through. So, no, it's not in a "bad" part of town, just an industrial one. No, our sleep was not disrupted by train whistles. No, our room was not in a state of disrepair.

Yes, the fixtures weren't the newest, but so what? Yes, this is a clean property. Yes, the front desk gentleman was accommodating and cordial. Yes, the continental breakfast was limited, but again, so what? They had the cold cereal, do-it-yourself waffles, fresh fruit options found at every other like-priced property.

So, if you're passing through, looking for an affordable option, and just pretty much just sleeping there, there isn't anything objectionable about this property whatsoever.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertDweller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Glennda A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Knights Inn Gallup East
#22 of 35 in Gallup
3 reviews
3.2 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Gallup
4.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Red Rock-Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#16 of 35 in Gallup
100 reviews
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gallup

Address: 1715 West Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: $51 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gallup 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gallup Hotel Gallup
Super Eight Gallup
Gallup Super 8
Gallup Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing