We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to be kiddinng...”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed July 29, 2006

I read the earlier reviews and figured that this would be ok, for one night arriving late with a breakfast before taking off. Not so. Had it not been paid for and 1 a.m., we would have left. The entire facility smells of cigarette smoke/mold. The room doors have locks which would look appropriate on a bank safe (never a good sign), although the chain lock on the inside was torn off leaving holes in the wall. There was repair work (I hope) being done to all the baseboards, which were missing throughout the building. The building itself looks like a cinder block in the middle of the desert, and does little to change that once you are in. The beds were in desperate need of replacement. The breakfast consisted of essentially coffee, cold cereal, milk, and I think they had a waffle machine but didn't see anything to cook on it. Yes, it was cheap. But for a few bucks more there are plenty of better options in Gallup, including just on the same street the Hampton Inn and Microtel which both at least looked great from the outside.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jamginsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 138 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2006

Based on previous experiences with this particular chain, I was expecting the worst. THis place was a wonderful surprise! Its the staff that makes all the difference! The rooms were clean, the linen fresh, the decor tasteful, and the breakfast impressive for such a cheap stay. You could make your own waffles! The staff was very friendly and attentive. The only problem we had was that the window did not fit the frame so there was a half-inch gap which let in the noise from the parking lot. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2005

We booked a one-night stay at the Econo Lodge in Gallup, NM for late arrival on a trip from Colorado to California. We decided on this motel after reading several favorable reviews from recent guests. We were shocked to find the property with huge stains on all carpets, almost no water pressure, a terrible bed and paper-thin walls and noisy neighbors. We weren't looking for a luxury vacation spot, just a clean, comfortable room to spend the night before another long day's drive. But this wasn't it. The young woman at the desk was pleasant and the rate modest - but that didn't compensate for the accommodations. We couldn't leave fast enough. We will warn friends to make a different choice.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, CO
516
Reviewed July 19, 2005

Never stayed in an Econo Lodge before, but I will again. Great for pratical budget travellers. High speed internet in lobby, nice continental breakfast with waffle maker, easy to get to highway on south side of town.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
11
Reviewed January 1, 2005

I stayed here on my way through gallup, at first i was hesitant in staying here but i am glad i did because the rooms and service was just great. I normally dont stay at an econolodge but this one was an exception. Above all they had High Speed Internet available and most of the places there dont. This is definitly a 2 thumbs up. Overall rooms were clean, and beds were great.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Albuquerque, NM
16
Reviewed November 12, 2003

We stayed at the Econolodge in Gallup in Dec. 2002 for the Red Rock Balloon Rally. What a dump! The brown stuff on the bathroom ceiling was especially disgusting. In general, the place is run-down and not very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pavel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
8.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 35 in Gallup
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#13 of 35 in Gallup
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Gallup
2.7 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#16 of 35 in Gallup
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3101 West US 66, Gallup, NM 87301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: $49 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge® hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 40 on historic Route 66 near The Navajo Nation capital of Window Rock, AZ. This Gallup, NM hotel is minutes from area attractions like Red Rock State Park, Fire Rock Navajo Casino, the Petrified Forest National Park and the Zuni Reservation.Guests will enjoy many amenities, including free continental breakfast, featuring fresh hot waffles. Additional amenities include free Wi-Fi, Guest Use Lobby Computer, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, In Room Refridgerators and Microvaves and Pillow-Top Mattresses. A Hairdryer and Complimentary Bathroom Amenities are also available in all rooms. We also offer on-site Guest Laundry facilities.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge hotel provides inviting accommodations and affordable rates when visiting the Gallup, New Mexico area. Our friendly staff is ready to provide you prompt professional service to make your stay an enjoyable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gallup
Gallup Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing