We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps things have changed since the previous reviews ...”
Review of Davids Restaurant

Davids Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 101 Restaurants in Gallup
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perhaps things have changed since the previous reviews ...”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

... but we were not at all impressed with the New Mexican food at David's. We have lived in New Mexico for 18 years, have visited since the early 1980s, and have eaten at most of the New Mexican restaurants in Gallup. First, we asked for a chicken taco with the combination plate we split, but they would only give us ground beef, which was of very poor quality with an odd, "meat product" sort of flavor, and the tortilla was greasy. The enchilada had essentially flavorless small bits of chicken, not the grilled strips mentioned in another review. The tamale was acceptable but heavy on the masa, with minimal filling. And, the red chile had far too much flour. The best part of the meal was the salsa, which had good flavor and texture, but unfortunately the chips were old and stale. My wife and I almost always split entrees and finish the whole plate, but I could not bring myself to eat much of the taco.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spud505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Davids Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We make our food the way the customer wants even if it is not in menu we make it. We always have chicken, or beef. I have cooked in gallup for over 26 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved this family restaurant and the food was great too!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We read trip advisor and decided to try this place. Its about 1 - 2 miles off the freeway and easy to find. What a great place! We were driving from CA to Michigan. Eating at fast food didn't sound appetizing. We stopped here and were treated so well! Food was delicious, inexpensive and filling. I ordered too quickly and would have tried the shrimp if I had found it on the back page of the menu. I ordered the eggplant parmigan(under $10). The chicken my partner had was great and he enjoyed it as well. I think the food was very reasonably priced and we would certainly eat here again on another drive through Gallup, NM. Most or all menu items if I remember correctly, were under $15.00. Reviewed by Debbie

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

I always get hash browns and gravy. It is the best I ever ever had. My husband gets sausage biscuits always fluffy and awesome.

Helpful?
1 Thank rentednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good local rest”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The food and the service were great. A nice family restaurant - with a variety of items on their menu

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mayisawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

What a great find, thanks to tripadvisor! Fantastic food, fast, friendly, and attentive service; I only hope I can return one day!

We had chicken burritos, cheese quesidillas, and guacamole; all were outstanding!

Go here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyPodesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Davids Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing