We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great overnight stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gallup

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn & Suites Gallup
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great overnight stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stopped here for one night during our road trip. I had pre booked two rooms, including breakfast. I was very surprised by how many were also checking in, it was about 4.30pm, so I suppose everyone was stopping for the end of the day.
Only one person on desk but she quickly checked in everyone.
Rooms were on the smaller side, but they had a very comfortable chair and footstool, good sized bathroom.
When we went back down and asked about dinner options, there were now 2 people at the desk, they were both more than helpful, even showing us menus for the closest restaurant.
Breakfast the next morning had a good selection, of hot and cold, and of course the kids loved the make your own waffle machine. Only complaint was the disposable plates and cutlery, is always nicer to eat and drink from crockery.
I would recommend this hotel for a one night stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5fromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    154
    23
    12
    9
See reviews for
220
268
42
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I wanted to give a big thumbs up to the hotel staff at Hampton Inn. I was very impressed with the customer service by Chadwick when we checked in. In addition, I thought the breakfast ladies were amazing (Diane and Tina). They did not stop moving the entire time I was at breakfast with my kids. They were cleaning, refilling and refreshing all of the breakfast items and supplies (napkins, cups, etc). Even with just a few minutes left before breakfast time was ending, they made sure that the last breakfast customer had the same nicely presented buffet as the first one. It's clear this staff takes a lot of pride in their work. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We had been on the road from OKC- 11 hours or so. We had a great room-very quiet, good service, friendly staff, and conveniently located for dinner choices. Breakfast was very yummy-best Hampton we've stayed in so far. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMJBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have now stayed in both Hampton Inns in Gallup and you will not go wrong with either property. I wanted to give a comparison for those that were unsure of which to pick. Both properties are directly off I-40, the Hampton Gallup is right at the turn off for 491, so if you want to save time and are going this way, this one is closer. The Hampton Gallup-West is roughly 5 miles away from this one. This Hampton is located conveniently in the middle of two other hotels, has the Cracker Barrel restaurant in its parking lot and Applebee’s just across the parking lot. It is also located right next to the mall if you need to do some shopping. West’s location is less congested with only gas stations to offer.

This one cost s a bit more money and 5k more points if you are staying using these. The décor feels warmer and the beds are more comfortable for some reason. However, we did experience train and street noise here. The train would go by every few hours. The street noise was only noticeable if there was a loud motorcycle or engine revving by.

Overall, we were pleased with both stays. Customer service was equally excellent. I do not think you will go wrong with either but there are minor differences to consider.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfisgd746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We made a last minute reservation while traveling which was handled in a most effecient & friendly manor. Upon arrival we were greeted at the front desk by Chadwick who was very professional & personable. He went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasurable one! We had an issue with our TV and requested help from a memeber of the housekeeping staff who happened to be near our room. She called Chadwick for assistance and the issue was immediately resolved by moving us to another room. There were several restaurants within walking distance. Our overall experience was great and we will definitly add this Hampton to our list of favorites!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimtheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Called while traveling from white sands New Mexico. Hotel was very busy but Chadwick was very helpful and helped a lot with directions , places to eat and any other help we needed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming this way. Clean friendly and fairly quiet.
Thanks Chadwick.

Room Tip: Lots of places to eat in the area .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spence5us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

In order to get the most out of our trip to the Grand Canyon, Monument Valley and the four state area by trying to see as much as possible without being affected by the snow storms that seemed to be following us since we arrived in Flagstaff we decided to stay for another night in the area before our trip back to Las Vegas. After deciding against another night in Monument Valley and knowing that we wanted to take in as much of 'Historic Route 66' as we could our original plan was to go back to Flagstaff having had a great experience at our hotel there but as they had no rooms left we hit up Tripadvisor and the Route 66 map and we came across the Hampton Inn & Suites in a little town called Gallup and decided that was our next stop.We didn't regret our decision at all and in fact it has prompted my very first Tripadvisor review. 

Having battled a challenging snow storm which for a couple of Aussie's more accustomed to dust storms (which themselves are a once in a generation event) was, putting it mildly, an interesting experience. From the minute we arrived under the awning and made our way into the lobby we were greeted by the very friendly and warm Chadwick, already he had put us on the right track for a great stay. Chadwick gave generously of his time answering our questions about Gallup, a town most Australian's (I am sure) and possible most foreigners won't have immediately heard of, even those with a knowledge of Route 66. When you are traveling road trip style as we were it is nice to stop into smaller towns and even nicer to have your questions answered enthusiastically and to be able to get a sense of place.

After having been given un upgrade from our original booking we checked into the room and noticing an issue with the window, which had been sealed off, we spoke to Chadwick who apologised (which we didn't expect but were appreciative of) and he moved us right away into a new room of the same type - right next door as it happened. Sometimes maintenance issues occur and you don't concern yourself about them especially when they are dealt with such efficiency that they might as well not have occurred.

Having settled in we freshened up, moved our car from under the awning to the carpark and then began heading to the restaurant recommended for us by Chadwick. Noting that Chadwick was busy and as we could see the restaurant from our room we began to make our way to the restaurant ourselves. Not having got more than a few metres fro the hotel Chadwick ran out of Reception (into the cold) to give as some 'insider' directions to and from the restaurant. Once again Chadwick went above and beyond and we were so grateful that he did. It's those little things, which when matched with a great experience with a hotel and in particular your room that makes it so easy to leave a positive review and without any hesitation.

You might not that i only rated the breakfast as average, this is mainly down to the fact that we are not accustomed to such sweet yogurts, cereals et al so it's more of a heads up for foreigners not accustomed to a US diet.  That said the DIY waffles are worth the price of admission!

So in summarising, we had a great sleep after a great meal in a great hotel with fantastic staff that go above and beyond. So whilst Gallup won't necessarily be on everyone's immediate visit list, if you do find yourself in the area (and I would suggest you do) then I absolutely recommend you stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites and hopefully you will be lucky to meet Chadwick, if you do say hi to him from these 'couple of Aussie's!'

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#3 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gallup Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#6 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gallup
SpringHill Suites Gallup
#10 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gallup

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Gallup
Address: 1460 W Maloney Ave, Gallup, NM 87301-3304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gallup
#2 Family Hotel in Gallup
#4 Business Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gallup Hotel Gallup
Hampton Inn Gallup
Gallup Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing