We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay when in Gallup, NM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gallup-West
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay when in Gallup, NM”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

When we used to drive from Michigan to Arizona we always stayed here. Best Hotel in Gallup.
Clean, Comfortable, and a very friendy staff. We never had a bad experience here. Very good place too stay. Last time here was April, 2010 The travel time doesn't go back that far.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the ice and vending machines. You can plan on breakfast here, as the buffet is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howellhotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    200
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
255
276
62
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Excellent room, wonderful breakfast, excellent facilities! After a long day of motorcycle riding, this place was a Godsend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
455 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I always feel that I can rely on Hampton Inn wherever I go. This hotel has a very friendly staff and check-in was quick and easy, as I had made a reservation in advance. My room was large, with all the extras, including a nightlite in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were large and soft. The hotel grounds, room, and bath were all very clean and well-maintained. The bathtub was slippery, but a rubber bathmat was provided. Internet was free and fast. The room A/C was a little loud, but didn't keep me awake. Although the hotel is near the Interstate for easy access, the room was very quiet. There is a gas station nearby, but places to eat are down the highway about 10 minutes. Breakfast the next morning offered a wide selection, including waffes [prepared by the hostess], oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit, yogart, and pastries. I recommend this hotel and look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs, facing away from highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasrepublichistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
202 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Located just west of downtown Gallop, this new three-floor Hampton Inn was a pleasant stay. The hotel backs up to scenic, raw desert and a prairie dog colony! The check-in experience was a bit slow ("the computers are slow today") but ultimately everything was fine, our room reservation available as requested. We were surprised to hear from the front desk clerk that, while Internet access is free, "there is only Wi-Fi in the lobby", and wired access in the guest rooms. Our room was on the second floor, and the Wi-Fi worked fine in the room with no problem.

The thermostat accurately controlled the air conditioning unit, which was quiet. We enjoyed the complimentary chips and salsa in the lobby ... very good!

The food at the free breakfast was as expected, fairly typical Hampton style, but the service from the breakfast staff was exceptional, friendly, helpful, and courteous.

Remember: this Hampton is west of town, at Twin Buttes Road, and there is another Hampton closer to downtown. Some slightly irritated guests had not bothered to know which Hampton they had reservations at! Shame on them!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from interstate I40 ... the even number rooms. We had no road noise in ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimelessAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
181 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hampton Inns have always been a quality place to spend a night or two. With that in mind I booked what I thought was a reservation for June 9, 2012. I was greeted promptly by Naomi as I approached the desk, gave her my confirmation number, and then realized that I had made the reservation for June 10 instead of June 9. Naomi worked solidly for close to half an hour, through numerous computer error codes, to make the change to my reservation, and never lost the smile on her face. She went above and beyond in this situation. The room, as always, was clean and well equipped and without any surprises. I'd recommend this Hampton Inn to anyone planning a stay in Gallup.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Spotlessly clean, comfortable, quiet and efficient. Friendliest breakfast staff we have encountered yet.

Oddly, there are TWO Hampton Inns in this relatively small town, the other (East) one being down in the Mall area with lots of local traffic, and seemingly a slightly older property. This one, the west one, was the cheaper of the two and we were very happy with the choice.

Navajo Travel Center & Ortega Trding post across the road seems to always have their Indian jewelry and pots on sale 50% off (all three times we have passed through), with a nice selection of quality items at what seemed to be very fair prices. There a scads of toher Indian jewelry places in town, so if you have time to shop them all you can compare prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UTtraveler84121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Five Stars means excellence in what it's designed to do. This Inn is designed to be a place to get a good night's sleep, perhaps a swim or some exercise time, and then to move on down the road. It's not a destination in itself and shouldn't be rated as such. As a place to stop it is as nearly perfect as can be expected in Gallup. Clean, HOT water, excellent breakfast with pleasant staff, cordial front desk, clean and well-maintained pool and exercise room. Nothing more to ask for.

Room Tip: Room numbering is curious, but X15, X17 and X19 are on the south side and far away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#4 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gallup
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#6 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gallup
SpringHill Suites Gallup
#11 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gallup-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gallup-West

Property: Hampton Inn Gallup-West
Address: 111 Twin Butte, Gallup, NM 87301-5631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gallup
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gallup
#2 Business Hotel in Gallup
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Gallup-West 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn Gallup-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gallup-West Hotel Gallup
Gallup Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing