We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not bad for an overnight stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
asheville, north carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not bad for an overnight stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is a fairly typical budget motel. It was clean, and everything in the room worked well. It is well out of town, so would require a car drive to shop at one of the Indian markets in Gallup, or go for dinner downtown. The motel is on a major highway, and right across from the railroad tracks, so very light sleepers might find the noise problematic, although I did not find it excessive. The breakfast is OK. Not a bad choice.

I was irritated by the fact that the very limited equipment in the exercise room was not all functional: one of two exercise machines was completely broken, and obviously had been for a while.

The people here were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If concerned about noise, ask for a room away from the highway and railroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    135
    56
    37
    13
See reviews for
140
127
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I and my wife were at this hotel 2nd week October on our way from Silverton, CO after San Juan Skyway drive.

The hotel located at a very easy to find location; I 40 Fwy about 4-5 miles East from the downtown Gallup. The hotel had free parking. The hotel has 3 levels.

The Check-in / out was quick; the front office staff was not too friendly and customer service oriented but did their work soon.

The room was so clean and spacious, well equipped, well appointed and neat. Linen was clean and new. The bed was comfortable. There was a work desk and good chair. The room had a clean Fridge and Microwave. Bathroom was spacious, clean and well lit.

Also they served decent B/F at a clean area.

Next to the hotel was normal dinner, Subway etc, but not many restaurants.

We liked the place specially because the spacious and cleanliness.

We will, for sure, return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SriLanka2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Mohamed, the owner of this facility went out of his way to treat me like I was a family member... I needed a room with a "roll in shower"... and he was able to accomadate my needs by making arrangements with another facility and when the room became available, he brought me back to the Inn. I will forever be grateful for his kindness and concern for my comfort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friarfsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Down South in Dixie
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were originally thinking of staying at another motel in Gallup, but it was full. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to stay here. It was a good decision. The price was better, and the place is very nice. The motel is on the east end of Gallup, quiet, clean, with great service. We enjoyed the stay so much, we booked another room for our return home.

Room Tip: Trains are frequent on the tracks across from the motel. However, they were not a bother inside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebelYell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because they offered a large 2 room King Suite with a sofa sleeper as we had all three of our teenage boys with us. Two of our boys had another room with 2 double beds. The room smelled fresh and clean. It appeared that the facility had just completed a remodel as the boys room (222)smelled like fresh paint.
Our room (228) however smelled like someone had a Frat party just recently. The room smelled like cigarette smoke, beer, and vomit all rolled in together. We immediately went down to the desk clerk to notify them so we would not be charged. The nice friendly clerk appreciated us notifying her of the condition of the room and stated that although the Hotel is a 100% smoke free hotel, sometimes people do smoke in the rooms.
The King room was very spacious with a small refrigerator and microwave and coffee maker. The room was equiped with two tv's. The bathroom was rather large and spacious. Outside of the smell the room was clean. The bed was very comfortable as was the pillows. Another perk of the room that it has seperate air conditioning controls for each section of the room.
We ate downstais at the continential breakfast which offered a variety of items from waffles, hard boiled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage patties, and other items you would normally expect for breakfast.
There is a train track closeby but the noise was not so loud that it was bothersome.
The hotel has a pool and an excercise room.
Overall this was a nice stay. We don't normally stay at a La Quinta, but the rooms offered and the price fit our family and our budget at the time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbsnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was a fine place - even had an enclosed area for off leash dogs. The 2 double bed, ADA accessible room was easy to get around in and the roll in shower was very nice, with easily reached shower controls and a bath bench. We were initially offered a 2nd floor King room, but it was quite far from the entrance. The room we actually took was also a down a long hall, but closer than the initial offering. (I prefer outside entrances, rather than inside corridors, because I use a walker and can only use one of my legs, so it is very tiring to walk any distance.) Room was clean, good TV, and the beds were very confortable. There was a train on our side of the hotel, and Rt 66, but the other side was I-40, so I am not sure which side would be less noisy. We did not notice the noise much - we kept the fan on for that reason - but the hotel has pretty good sound proofing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at this particular hotel while moving from Arizona to Colorado. I needed a pet friendly hotel, as I had my two dogs with me. I read that La Quinta is a dog-friendly hotel chain, and it did not disappoint. This hotel did not mind the number of dogs I had, and my request for a first floor room was honored thankfully. I was happy to be surrounded by rooms that seemed to house other pet-owners (I could hear them bark, so I didn't feel bad when mine made a little noise). Access to walk them was easy, as they have designated dog areas (in abundance). The staff was very nice, and the room was clean (although in need of a remodel soon) and well-stocked with towels, etc. A continental breakfast was offered and express check out was a blessing during this trip. I would stay here again when traveling with my dogs.

Room Tip: When traveling with pets, make sure to request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audhep79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 34 in Gallup
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#5 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gallup Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallup-West
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
Address: 3880 E Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-4589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Gallup
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup Hotel Gallup
La Quinta Gallup
La Quinta Hotel Gallup
Gallup La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing