We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, Great food”
Review of Jerry's Cafe

Jerry's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 102 Restaurants in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
New Boston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“WOW, Great food”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a local placed where you will never feel like a stranger. Good Mexican food and a decent price (our family of five ate for around $30). Other reviewers complained about the "table hawkers" but these kids are selling some really nice, inexpensive items. If you don't want to buy simply tell them politely "no thanks" and they will move on.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatrickH488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    129
    32
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting - and filling!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A block off Rt. 66 right in town, Jerry's was convenient for us as we waited for repairs at the Goodyear dealer just up the street. The place was completely full, apparently from the locals. The portions were large and the food very tasty, if a little on the spicy side. Your meal will likely be punctuated by local native americans (usually irresistible little kids) quietly and respectfully selling their handmade jewelry and other handwork. No telling how much my wife might have bought if left unattended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinle, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I visit Gallup often, eating at different places all over Gallup, except Jerry's. Wow! Was I surprised! Place is tiny but very, very busy. Even though the restaurant was busy, people were friendly and service was quick. Our food was delicious! I loved the chili relleno and my mother loved her enchiladas. The sopapillas were just made and delicious. I was very pleasantly surprised at what a find we had in Jerry's. Come to eat the food and enjoy! Remember, there are people in line at the door. Leave quickly--because they would like to eat too! LOL!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CDCwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Road trip mandatory stop.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

great chow at good prices. don't be fooled by the appearance. we hit there for lunch time, waited a few minutes for a table, and enjoyed a local homestyle lunch. loved my pattymelt and brown gravy soaked fries. on to Roswell.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joe_barre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The food and service were great. The chili is wonderful we had half green and red. This is a local place with wonderful food that you will never find in a chain.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spooner_rooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerry's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jerry's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing