We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food served blazing fast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jerry's Cafe

Jerry's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Michigan
Level Contributor
221 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good food served blazing fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Jerry's. This is the real deal. IF you can get a seat (it's crowded, but it moves fast), you'll sit down to see American Indians, Mexican Americans, "white folks", foreign tourists, and just a cross-section of humanity, all gathered for great food at a decent price.

We came for breakfast. We ordered, and I swear it wasn't 5 minutes and our food was steaming in front of us. I had Huevos rancheros, and man... they were some of the best and most authentic I've ever had. The service was good, my coffee never got empty.

If you're in Gallup, you're a fool if you pass up a chance to eat here. The food is good, and the atmosphere is too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    117
    29
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
431 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Really Good Food...Good Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This restaurant has a little of Mexican and a little of American. My wife and I tried the Mexican and we both had the stuffed sopapillas. One with green chile and one with a mix of green and red. Then we had cherry pie for dessert. The food was very, very good and the service was excellent. Lots of friendly folks made this a very nice dining experience. Don't expect a fancy restaurant... but just expect a good meal at a very nice price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IverJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best places in town for New Mexico cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

It's a very small hole in the wall restaurant but the food is absolutely delicious! The don't serve any alcoholic beverages but the food more than makes up for it. Prepare to wait for a table any time of the day. If you want a drink or wine with your dinner, then visit his father's place, Don Diego's.

Try the beef burrito with green chili and cheese - melts in your mouth!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlanMartyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great, cozy Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant was almost full but the service was still efficient and very friendly. We only had room for an entree because the portions were big. But both are entrees were very tasty. Very nice Mexican food in a nice family atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Poemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic NM Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Driving through Gallup, we stopped at a trading post for a restroom break and shopping, and asked the clerks where they recommend, and they both recommended Jerry's. There is a free downtown parking lot across the side of the Firestone Tire store within convenient walking distance. The place is a bit of a hole in the wall cafe, and we were pestered by flies. Chips and Salsa were extra but worth it - great chips made there apparently. You can get green or red chile or both (red is hotter), not too hot but plenty spicy. Food was delicious, if you are looking for truly authentic New Mexico style. Place was busy, and mostly locals which is always a good sign. I would definitely go back on my next visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jerry's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing