We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do NOT stay here.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Economy Inn Gallup

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Economy Inn Gallup
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Do NOT stay here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel west of the Rio Grande. Maybe not, but it's down there with the worst. The room wasn't dated. Rather, it was ancient and it absolutely stank like urine and some kind of cheap cleanser. Had to switch a light bulb from another lamp to the bedside lamp. There was a massive crack under the door enough to squeeze a small rodent through of it wanted to get in. Thank God no rodents had that notion. Burn holes in the sheets in a non smoking room and iron shaped burn marks in the carpet. Bathroom was foul and I wore my flip-flops in the shower. The hair on the back of my neck stood up the entire stay. Even while I was sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJSteel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    5
    21
See reviews for
10
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I stopped in Gallup relatively late and decided to get a room for the night. We stopped to check at a few of the surrounding motels to compare rates and look at rooms as we were on a low budget. The Rodeway Inn was the last motel we checked into and let me say; it is hands down the best value in the area. Just about EVERY motel that was in the surrounding area had either rude or a care free attitude. Tina; the manager on duty was very friendly and helpful considering how late we checked in. Our room was very clean and close to the office; which was ideal for us because we were hauling furniture and other belongings. The included microwave and mini fridge was also very ideal for the price. The next morning we overslept and missed breakfast but Tina kept the waffle iron on for us and even looked up the distance to our next stop. If you're looking for an affordable room with excellent customer service; I HIGHLY recommend spending your night at the Rodeway Inn in Gallup. Will definitely be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the office as wi-fi is strongest near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yogin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Clean and comfortable bed, room was very clean and breakfast was nice and hot. Front desk and manager was very nice and helpful. WiFi was ok not great but as they explain small town has only one provider and very slow speed. As per manager they are in process of getting faster internet very soon through satellite company. My room was far from the office as i took my computer in the lobby it was better. It wasn't a big deal as i just need to check my email.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was a overall great experience! The front desk/ manager, Tina, made us feel very welcome and made sure to attend to our every need. She was very friendly and helped us with any questions on the area as well. The room was extremely clean and well taken care of. Also, she let us know about the breakfast and made sure we had a lot of variety of food to chose from. I would definitely recommend this stay. The new management is amazing and I had no complaints. I would definitely recommend the stay here and look to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We found this place through the Internet. It is overall a bit dated but clean and the people were super nice and helpful with extra needs. Breakfast is toast and pastries, two kinds of juice, butter and jelly. Rooms have tv, microwave and a refrigerator. Wifi was weak but that was not high on our priority for a one night stay.
Ample parking with adequate lighting.
Overall we were happy to have found it and would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were aware of the train noise and what we were getting for $45. So no complaints here. In facts, the room was clean and decent, the water was hot and bed comfortable. Cracks in the door of room 123 (ours). But when we knocked at the lobby door at about 8 am, the door was locked the breakfast was not even there. A woman in pyjamas (the owner) and messy sleepy hair produced some coffee (despicable taste) and asked me in a grumpy voice if I wanted bread. She pulled a couple of slices off the plastic bag with her bare hand and handed them to me. YUCK!
Why claim you have breakfast when you cannot even have a cup of milk and cereal? Not even tea?
CHOICE HOTELS MUST remove this hotel from their lists- it is a shame to call it a chain. We stayed at many Rodeway Inn hotels, some better than others, but this was the worst and never ever will we be back there.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel, unfriendly and dirty breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adelina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Valley City, UT
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Got this through my choice hotels app but this was a hole. The manager seemed nice enough but the rooms were old, stuffy and the air conditioner did not work. Room was dirty and not cleaned well. The place needs to be raised...

Room Tip: Choose another motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestValleyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#17 of 34 in Gallup
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
5.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 34 in Gallup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
3.2 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Gallup
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#6 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn Gallup

Property: Economy Inn Gallup
Address: 1709 W Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6804 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Gallup)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Economy Inn Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing