We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gallup East
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed one night in Gallup on our way to the Albuquerque, NM Balloon Fiesta. The location was near the I-40 but not too near to hear the car noises. Free FULL breakfast in the morning. Close to dining (walkable) soft beds. nice room. Gas nearby, of course

Room Tip: Order in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell87124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    74
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
99
85
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
litllemermaid
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

After my Dad having driven through 47 of the 48 states we had to make a trip to New Mexico for state number 48! I really enjoyed the one night here. We did arrive late and left fairly early so unfortunately didn't see much of the hotel but what I did see was all great. The only disadvantage was being a platinum member my Dad was not recognised as he always is in every IHG hotel-just a simple thank you is lovely. Also when I entered afterwards I wasn't greeted at all. Other than this the hotel was clean, in a good location and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litllemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I only stayed one night, but it was wonderful. The room we stayed in was very clean and big. The beds were very comfortable, décor was great, and I love the color of the throw blankets at the end of the beds. Plus I really enjoyed the soft and firm pillows. It was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX, AZ
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The entire hotel is clean and the staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. The location is close to downtown, shopping and nearby activities. Plenty of parking near entrances. Staff gave us directions and instruction on shopping and what to avoid.

Room Tip: Second floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOANN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
1,071 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was very disappointed to inquire about the swimming pool to be told first of all it was closed and the second day they were waiting for a part and on the third day still not working. The evening desk clerk was about the most unfriendly person I have ever met - lacking in people skills at a minimum and unprofessional. I prefer a room on the first floor as per my request, but was told point blank how full they were so to the 3rd floor I went dutifully. Internet is provided, but goes in and out - not terribly reliable for business travel.

To be fair, the rooms are clean and comfortable, but they've lost my business because the hotel is not run properly and it shows.

Room Tip: First floor is close to the breakfast bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gallup East, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear eds44,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. Rest assured that these will be shared to our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had a little glitch checking in due to a recent storm and power outage, but the desk clerk made it right, and upgraded my room. My room was VERY quiet, I didn't know it had rained until I went outside (I actually thought we may have had tremors due to a shaking feeling in the room, and seeing the diet coke on the night stand sloshing back and forth), maybe thunder accompanied that? I didn't hear either none the less!
My room was immaculate, and I didn't hear any noise from any other guest at all while in my room!

It did seem a little pricey to me, but it was a great night's sleep!

Room Tip: I was in a King Deluxe with a frig and microwave, very nice room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I actually had two stays within a week of each other, but the experiences were nearly identical.

There was a Thursday night in room 220 which had a king bed and walk in shower (all in $120, purchased through Hotwire) and a Tuesday night in room 200 which was two queens and a combo tub/shower ($150 total, booked through the hotel website).

The rooms are large, rather new, and clean. There's a large mini-fridge (with a freezer section that is very handy), hair dryer, microwave, iron and board, clock radio, a nice desk and work chair, and comfy firm bed(s). The TV is HD but all programming looked SD to me, and the remote is nice. There's plenty of channels, including HBO. The in-wall climate unit worked well and quietly. The window does open, slightly, for fresh air if desired. The showerhead is adjustable in spray and angle, and the pressure is not too bad. The toiletries sucked. Bad.

The HIE provides free wifi (which always worked well) free breakfast (more later), a couple of well-located side doors, indoor hallways, and a well-lit parking lot. It's a little expensive for a roadside flop, and there are lots of hotels in town.

The staff was kind of taciturn at check in, not exactly warm fuzzies, but certainly businesslike. I recommend that you specify your room preferences well in advance-I was "pre-assigned" before check in so I couldn't get my preferred high floor.

The hotel is off the E Gallup exit from the I40. It's located *behind* La Quinta Inn and Denny's, so look for the sign just east of the exit, almost right next to it.

Besides the Denny's, there's no restaurant nearby, but fast food and a few other options are down the road. Sonic, McDonalds, and Wendys are the brand names, plus a few local joints. On the other side of the Interstate, on the west side of Gallup, is a Walmart and other businesses-there might be restaurants there, but I didn't get close enough to check out the scene. There's a Shell station close by the hotel, and the store there has a good selection of stuff.

Breakfast was...free. The presentation was unappetizing, with plastic pull-out trays under heat lamps. Scrambled eggs, very sad looking thin bacon, biscuits, and gravy endure those conditions. But there's all sorts of other stuff: bread choices, fruit, watery juices, yogurt, pancake machine, coffee, tea, etc.

Nice stays, and I'd probably swing by again. There are many other choices for all budgets and tastes, but if $150 or so is OK with you, then this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleCupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gallup
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gallup
SpringHill Suites Gallup
#11 of 35 in Gallup
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#6 of 35 in Gallup
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gallup East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gallup East

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gallup East
Address: 3850 E Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-4589
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gallup East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gallup East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing