We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hole in the wall mom & pop joint”

El Metate Tamale Factory
Ranked #13 of 101 Restaurants in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hole in the wall mom & pop joint”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This restaurant is not frequented very often so don't worry about a rush or waiting in line. Their salsa is rather spicy but very good none the less. The carnitas are also very very good. I would recommend this if you are looking for more authentic Mexican Cuisine. They will not disappoint.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scrumdiddlyumtious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    30
    13
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a surprise!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We read reviews of this restaurant on another travel site and we had to try it. We were staying in a motel that was freeway close and no obvious restaurant choices for dinner. We plugged the address into our GPS and found ourselves in an older residential area. We were sure we had gotten lost.

The Tamale factory is located in a converted home. It is pink with yellow on the side. Parking is in the back. We were the only car in the small parking lot and when we walked around to the front it was dark and empty inside and it was only 6:45pm. We almost turned around, but the door was open, so we went in.

There was only one woman working, but she was friendly and helpful. She brought us a basket of the most wonderful chips and green salsa I have ever had ( and I live in Southern California) .We ordered the 3 tamale plate (chicken, pork and vegetarian) with green sauce and the 3 steak taco plate (soft tacos). All were just excellent.

Obviously this is a very informal place, so dress is super casual. Don't be afraid of the location and go on in, even if it is dark inside. The food was wonderful. I doubt I will every have the opportunity to eat here again, but if I do find myself in Gallup this will be my first stop. The chips and green salsa were just awesome.

The restaurant is located in a residential area several miles off exit 16 on HWY 40.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvinlifewithu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great local find”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Small Mom and Pop restaurant with casual local atmosphere. Good food. Large portions. Ate here the most during my week stay.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank newtorreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, il
Level Contributor
111 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were traveling down I-40 and read some reviews of this place. We were so glad we stopped. This is a small Mexican restuarant in a residential part of Gallup. As the gps was guiding us there, we thought we might have put in the wrong address, but there it was surrounded by homes. The enchilades were wonderful. My tamale was homemade and perfect. The green salsa and chips were fresh and outstanding.

While this place didn't look like much from the outside, the food was authentic Mexican and all homemade. Well worth the side trip of the interstate.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank a1searcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Metate Tamale Factory also viewed

 

Been to El Metate Tamale Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing