We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be back for a weekend!”
Review of El Capitan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Capitan Motel
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
“Would be back for a weekend!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The lights were a bit dark for the room but other than that, everything was cozy. I was exhausted from traveling pregnant and with my 5 year old. The front desk personnel were friendly and took care of us fast. The bed was perfect, the heater worked great and the bathroom was a good size. It even had a good size closet. I paid $45, which isn't hardly anything compared to a full nights rest. I'd visit again and it's right on Route 66, so I can check out the cool shops and hit up Plaza Cafe again. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtaylor7505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    13
    5
    11
See reviews for
6
17
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The El Capitan was basic, clean and adequate. That is all we needed. The four stars are not that it was deluxe but that it met our criteria in the basic categories at a very reasonable price. It is somewhat buffered from the inescapable train noise that is part of Gallup's character. There was a landline phone and a TV, neither of which did we use.
The beds were very comfortable. The heater was noisy but not more than any other hotel in this price range. We slept, showered and left. I would stay there again.
We came in at 11:00 pm from an event on the Navajo reservation, having called to let them know we would be later than we originally anticipated. The gentleman who checked us in was very nice and professional.
The bathroom appeared to be made "accessible" and was huge. The shower water was instantaneously hot.
When we left we could not get the key to fit in the door. When I tried to report it, the lady in the pajamas didn't want to answer the door but I persisted until she opened it so that I could tell her and give her the key. She said " That's not possible" to my report of the key working in neither lock. So we left it- - having done at least one impossible thing before breakfast!

Room Tip: The further back to the south or west in the courtyard will be the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UAA_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

During our coast to coast roadtrip this motel was the WORST stay. That Indian woman in pyjamas whom we woke up in 2 am checked us in. She was rude and unprofessional (sorry we disturbed her. if she wouldn't wake up after our buzzing - we could have stay somewhere else).
The room was dirty - the blankets, carpet and bathroom. Towels smelled like they were washed but looked opposite. The soap/shampoo dispensers didn't confuse me, just put the decent soap in them. The poor water pressure with bad shower head made taking shower nearly impossible. We had to unplug the fridge - it was noisy. The bedding didn't look bad but who could guarantee...
We didn't mind outdated motels on our way but this was way too bad. No coffee machine. There are a TV, a fridge and a hairdryer but I really didn't want to touch anything. In the early morning we could hear somebody dug in the trash bin in front of our room.
We packed and left without saying a word to each other. This motel is very depressing and not good even for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Please stay somewhere else. There is absolutely nothing good in this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redclous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gallup hotels

Citrus Heights, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place may have been decent back when Route 66 was well-traveled, but that has been a long time ago. It was just so-so in quality of furnishings and cleanliness. When my wife pulled a towel from the wall-mounted towel rack, the entire rack fell down. It had been mounted with the kind of wall anchors you might use for a picture. They should have used molly bolts! They added a $20 charge to our credit card, which we are protesting. I would not stop there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLADSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the world!
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

During our trip we stayed mostly in motels in the $50-70 bracket and the El Capitan was one of the better ones. Very typical road-side motel, basic rooms, clean and large. It was pleasantly quiet and we had a good nights sleep.
We arrived on a Sunday night and all the restaurants were closed, but a Pizza Hut is in walking distance did the job. One option would have been the restaurants in the 'El Rancho' (famous and mentioned in the guide books) which we thought was overpriced.
There are also a couple of places (again walking distance) to have breakfast in the morning.
It kind of fit our stereotype image of a Route 66 motel and we enjoyed our short stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank top_mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is a simple motel, no frills and a little dated, but for an overnight stay on the way to somewhere else it is perfectly acceptable. The staff were friendly and welcoming, it is close to local restaurants...some of which are closed on a Sunday so be prepared to go a little further afield if you happen to be there on a Sunday. The room was clean, the a/c unit was relatively modern so not too noisy and in comparison to other motels in Gallup El Capitan looks to be a really good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms and a very good mattress. This motel is a bit dated but it is exactly what we expected (hoped?) to find on this historic byway. At $40 per night it is a great value. Remember, Route 66 and the railroad are parallel so there is steady but muffled train noise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amarie757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
3.0 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#14 of 35 in Gallup
90 reviews
5.9 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Gallup
6.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gallup
SpringHill Suites Gallup
#11 of 35 in Gallup
95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#4 of 35 in Gallup
479 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Red Rock-Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Capitan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Capitan Motel

Property: El Capitan Motel
Address: 1300 E Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-4994
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Capitan Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Capitan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing