We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for the money in Gallup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Gallup

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gallup
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best value for the money in Gallup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on July 24th, on a family driving trip from Colorado to California. The hotel is situated in East Gallup, about two blocks from the interstate. The hotel is in an area just outside of the town proper, which had several advantages to me. First, is it located a little further from the railroad tracks, which is the defining characteristic of the town (other than Route 66). It is also in an area that is populated by only newer hotels and restaurants. If you are looking for the "classic" Route 66 feel, this place is not for you. If you are looking for a new and modern hotel, it is fantastic.

My daughters and I were looking for a place to lay our heads, relax, and swim in the pool. The hotel was fantastic in all aspects. The lobby was clean and modern, and the pool and hot tub were outstanding. The hotel was very clean in all public areas, and still had the "new" smell to it. Out rooms were on the second floor and faced the railroad tracks across the highway. We never heard even one peep from the trains all night. The room itself was immaculate and very modern. We had the two queen room, which also had a nice separate living room area. The furniture was new, modern, and very comfortable. The bathroom as also spotless. The next morning we ate at the breakfast buffet, and it was also very good. My only knock, and it is a small one, is that the breakfast service stops at 9am sharp. Most hotels extend this until 10am. If you arrive at 9:01am, you had better be finished eating, because everything is put away at that time. After looking online and through other sites to make the reservation, I elected to reserve by calling the hotel directly. I received a rate of $90 for the night, two weeks before traveling. For the cost, is was a very good value in Gallup. The other decent hotel in town, the Hampton Inn, was nearly $40 more a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdevaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpriege, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gallup, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We appreciate the amazing comments and thankful for your business here. Thanks again and we are excited about this year being the only 4-Time Platinum Award Winning Comfort Suites in New Mexico.

Sincerely,

Ken Riege/CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    101
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
106
135
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Left Chinle, stopped in Window Rock, and then Gallup! We always enjoy the shops and trains along Route 66. This hotel was wonderful. Great friendly yet professional staff. Clean as new. Rooms were large and comfy! Breakfast was fine also! And the owners, staff, and people of Gallup are refreshingly patriotic. Everywhere we looked were flags, and the hotel especially was supportive of veterans and our military, including pictures of local vets and Navajo code talkers! Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Pick a room, any room - Comfort Suites is an appropriate name!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_from_Texas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpriege, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gallup, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We love it when our guest are suprised at how great our hotel is. We thank you so much and have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,

Ken Riege/CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Exceptional Comfort Suites, all Comfort Suites should be so good. This is one of the nicer ChoiceHotels we've stayed in. Close to the interstate with food access and plenty of parking space. Staff was all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpriege, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gallup, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We so much appreciate your comments and greatly appreciate your business. We strive to make everyone's stay something to remember. Have a wonderful trip and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Ken Riege/CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our first time at this property and we were very pleased. The room was clean and spacious. We were able to park at the back of the building so we could enter and exit easy. They are a dog friendly hotel, they have a weight limit. The wind was really blowing the day we arrived, there is a Denny's and Subway close, a gas station right next door. Property is kept up very well. We don't stay for the breakfast we want to get on the road as soon as possible.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel was good for us so we could come and go, if you have a pet this would work for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpriege, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gallup, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you again for your great review and for staying at the Comfort Suites in Gallup. There are many hotels in Gallup and we appreciate you staying at the only 4-Time Platinum Award Winning Choice Hotel in New Mexico.

Ken Riege/CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our 2nd night traveling from OR to LA. I booked the room over a week in advance but all they had was a King suite with a pullout couch.
The room was nice enough, pretty clean and spacious. The lobby was also very nice.
The elevators however were kinda sketchy. We were worried that they would break the cable and we would plunge to our death. They were also VERY slow.
We arrived in the evening and after eating dinner it was close to 8:00 by the time we were settled in our room. We took our kids to the pool, that closed at 9:00 (seems early since you're pretty much in the middle of nowhere) and after it started getting dark asked if they were going to turn on the lights? The lights were broken, probably why the early pool closure, however when you pay that kinda money you're hoping for something to burn off some energy after traveling all day. We were pretty bummed with that.
We went to use the gym, and I use that term loosely, there was one treadmill, one recumbent bike, and a weight type machine. They all need an update and maybe am added treadmill. I had to wait 30 minutes to use it and when the gym closes at 10:00 it's hard to get any time in. Not necessarily the hotels fault.
Overall the room was great so if you don't mind chilling in it and watching TV, then you're all set!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank smalltimetraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpriege, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gallup, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we do apologize for any inconvienience you may have encountered while at the Comfort Suites in Gallup. We strive to make everyone's stay enjoyable and hope that you will give us another chance. Have a great day and safe trip.

Sincerely,

Ken Riege/CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our family stayed here for one night on the way to California. We stopped late and they were able to accommodate us right away. We all slept well in the super comfy beds, and breakfast in the morning was fantastic. The front desk staff even opened the pool a few minutes early for our kids to swim before we had to get back on the road. We were incredibly pleased with this property. About 1 hour drive west to Petrified National Forest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbsmithfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpriege, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gallup, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for this great review. We so much appreciate the kinds remarks. We greatly appreciate your stay and hope to see you again at the only 4-Time Platinum Award Winning Choice Hotel in NM. Have a wonderful day and safe trip.

Sincerely,

Ken Riege/CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My family stayed here for one night on our way to California for a family reunion. The staff here was great. We initially made reservations at another hotel nearby, but found it necessary to make reservations here at the last minute. The entire experience from making reservations to checkout was great! The rooms were really nice and my large family could sleep comfortably. We really enjoyed our stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel for families!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiaW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpriege, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gallup, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We thank you so much for your kind remarks and for staying at the Comfort Suites in Gallup, NM. Have a wonderful day and we look forward to your return trip.

Sincerely,

Ken Riege/CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gallup Inn & Suites
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 34 in Gallup
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallup-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gallup

Property: Comfort Suites Gallup
Address: 3940 E Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-4550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gallup
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gallup
#5 Family Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gallup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only 4 Time Platinum Award Winning Choice Hotel in the entire state of New Mexico and recent inductee into the Trip Advisor's Hall of Fame (only hotel in Gallup to have received this honor) you will enjoy the best hotel Gallup has to offer, but don't take my word for it, just read the reviews. Gallup, NM is known for an abundance of variety, but what you will enjoy and remember the most are our beautiful Sunrises and Sunsets, which are enjoyed by many from our spacious lobby. Remember these items when traveling through this area. Our days are mild, but because of our elevation (above 6500 ft) a jacket for the evenings, a camera, plenty of bottled water (if you don't have any, just ask at the front desk) and lots of time. Gallup, NM and the Southwest is not an area to be rushed through, so take your time and enjoy the people, the food, the shopping and the scenery, and when you return you can relax in your amazing triple sheeted bed, (only hotel in Gallup that triple sheets). As a special bonus you will enjoy looking at all our military/veterans photo's and items that are on display here. Our hotel's GM is a veteran of the United States Air Force and we are all proud of our display of photo's of local veterans, from the Navajo Code Talkers to Medal of Honor Recipients who have stayed here we cater to all military and veterans. Please make sure you present your military or veterans ID Card to ensure the best rate and to allow us to honor you with a hand shake, a "Thank You" and a "Welcome Home" along with a folded American Flag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Suites Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gallup Hotel Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing