We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath of Fresh Air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gallup
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
South Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breath of Fresh Air”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived late and tired to a smiling face, instant check-in, complementary bottled water and the Wall Street Journal, in Gallup, on a Friday night. I could not have been more pleased or impressed. Elevator to 2nd floor; and a lovely room with sitting area; and the most comfortable bed of our trip. In the morning, we enjoyed their hot buffet. Yes, the round eggs were unusual. The attendant assured me they were real. Not bad. Fresh gooey cinnamon rolls. Make your own waffles. A very comfortable stay; and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpriege, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gallup, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so excited about your response and can not thank you enough for your kind words. My entire staff at the Comfort Suites is dedicated to making each and every guest more then just a stay, but an experience. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Riege/CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    119
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
136
167
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
REDONDO BEACH, CA
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I spent a stopover evening in Gallup and chose the Comfort Suites because it was apparently a new facility. I highly recommend this "suite" motel. It was recently constructed. The lobby was large, clean and accommodating. The room and bath were clean.The bed was large and very comfortable. There was a partial wall separating the bed and the sitting areas. So the "suite" title. The facility isn't withing walking distance of anything but if you're in Gallup you aren't walking. The only negative was that the clerk wasn't very knowledgeable about restaurants or much else. But if you are on a stopover you aren't too concerned about check in clerks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHANN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpriege, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gallup, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your response and positive comments. We appreciate your business and strive to make all our guest a positive lodging experience. Thank you again and we look forward to you staying at the Comfort Suites in Gallup again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The Comfort Suites is an excellent choice for a visit to Gallup. The hotel is immaculately clean, modern and comfortable. It is always a treat having a couch to stretch out on instead of only a bed. The breakfast was very yummy serving pre-made omelets, sausage and green chile stew. We would stay there again on our next venture to Gallup.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank marsalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to stop in Gallup and on checking, the Comfort Suites for our nights lodging. We found the place to be very comfortable and the structure provided sufficient attenuation of the road and train noises. There are other new lodgings in this area to choose from but we found the price to be very competitive. We would choose this place again, if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room available. You are between higway 40 and the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent just one night here, on our way from Santa Fe to Mesa, AZ. The staff member checking us in wasn't the most friendly (none of the front desk staff seemed very customer-service oriented), but it was quick and painless. The room was very large, with a separate seating area. Everything was very clean and seemed new. The bed was soft and comfortable and we did get a good night's sleep. There was some noise from the highway right behind the hotel, but it wasn't unbearable. Also, there were a lot of passing trains, but I didn't hear them once we were in the hotel. At first, I was disappointed that the hotel wasn't closer to the town "center", but once we explored Gallup more, I was glad it was just slightly away from the city.
The hotel offered free parking, Wi-Fi, a swimming pool and fitness room, and also complimentary breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was really tasty, and there were a lot of options to choose from.
This looked to be the best hotel in Gallup- I recommend this hotel for those passing through Gallup.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Overall a good room, but I rely on good Internet to do evening work. I never really got reliable connection and now a day behind. Thank goodness the iPad served as a backup. I'll consider this if I come back again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank peteden77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stopped at this Comfort Suites on our way back home to Phoenix. Driving through New Mexico you have to be prepared for many potholes and shoddy pavement on I-40. The evening clerk was polite but typical average service -- what you expected in small towns. We got a suite with two beds which is nice. The room was clean and modern but only had a puny refrigerator. Other suite hotels came with full-size kitchens. Paid $110 -- a little pricey for Gallup but we were tired and it was getting late. Sadly, we didn't get much sleep because of NOISE. There were freight trains running all the time which you could hear from our room. And the hotel was right next to I-40 and there was constant truck noise. I'm not sure why this hotel has poor soundproofing -- maybe our window was broken. Anyhow be sure they give you a room away from the train tracks or highway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTrac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#4 of 35 in Gallup
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 35 in Gallup
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gallup

Property: Comfort Suites Gallup
Address: 3940 E Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-4550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gallup
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gallup
#5 Family Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gallup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only 4 Time Platinum Award Winning Choice Hotel in the entire state of New Mexico and recent inductee into the Trip Advisor's Hall of Fame (only hotel in Gallup to have received this honor) you will enjoy the best hotel Gallup has to offer, but don't take my word for it, just read the reviews. Gallup, NM is known for an abundance of variety, but what you will enjoy and remember the most are our beautiful Sunrises and Sunsets, which are enjoyed by many from our spacious lobby. Remember these items when traveling through this area. Our days are mild, but because of our elevation (above 6500 ft) a jacket for the evenings, a camera, plenty of bottled water (if you don't have any, just ask at the front desk) and lots of time. Gallup, NM and the Southwest is not an area to be rushed through, so take your time and enjoy the people, the food, the shopping and the scenery, and when you return you can relax in your amazing triple sheeted bed, (only hotel in Gallup that triple sheets). As a special bonus you will enjoy looking at all our military/veterans photo's and items that are on display here. Our hotel's GM is a veteran of the United States Air Force and we are all proud of our display of photo's of local veterans, from the Navajo Code Talkers to Medal of Honor Recipients who have stayed here we cater to all military and veterans. Please make sure you present your military or veterans ID Card to ensure the best rate and to allow us to honor you with a hand shake, a "Thank You" and a "Welcome Home" along with a folded American Flag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gallup Hotel Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing