We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Gallup, NM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gallup
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
Urbana, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay in Gallup, NM”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel and the staff were very nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed in the room was comfortable, and I did not hear any traffic or trains. Maybe I was too tired from traveling! The breakfast was hot and the wait staff were very friendly. Would stay here again when traveling I40. There is a Denny's next door for those who want a more traditional breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay at a quality hotel, like Comfort Suites, to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    112
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
125
162
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

King suite. The bed is extremely comfortable. I'm so relaxed. Feel so safe in this room in December as a snowstorm approaches. Very quiet room with the fan on for white noise. There's a train track on one side and the highway on the other, but we didn't find it to be noisy at all. Hot breakfast. Burritos, eggs, sausage, chili, waffles, cereal, yogurt.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tellalltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family and I were on a trip got the Grand Canyon and needed a place to stop to stop for the night. Gallup, NM had this hotel with a heated, indoor pool & hot tub, fresh breakfast, free printing and computers, free WIFI, and huge comfortable rooms large enough for our family of four. In addition, our Westie was allowed to stay for an extra $15. The front desk was very helpful. My daughter has lost her Flat Stanley project and they helped us to make another one! Also, when checking in, Julissa saw that I had a USAA credit card and gave us an additional discount because my husband is a veteran! Great experience and a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseYRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Based on recommendations from Trip Advisor, we chose to stay in this motel on our trip west. The hotel is located in East Gallup, one of the first exits to Gallup as one travels west on I40. It's easy to get to once exiting 40. The hotel sits back from the street a ways so it isn't visible right away. However, it's attractive outside and the lobby area is very attractive as well. There are several computers set up in the lobby for use by guests. Our room was very pleasant and attractive. We opted for a queen bed room that had sofa, microwave and mini-fridge. We decided to go an Applebees for dinner which we discovered was some distance away but we had no difficulty finding it.
The bed was very comfortable although both of us felt it wasn't a standard queen size but we didn't measure it and it didn't make any difference since we were very tired from a day of driving. Our room was an even number room on the third floor. I mention this as I woke up during the night and for the next 3 hours had difficulty falling back asleep because the hotel is located in a triangle between the interstate, railroad tracks, and old route 66. I was hearing interstate traffic sporatically throughout the night along with freight trains running every hour. I think an odd room number would have put us on the north side of the hotel and further from the noise of the interstate traffic noise. The rooms heater/ac unit was located right next to our bed. The controls are on the wall as a thermostat. Our complaint was that to set the temperature, the units blower would come on to increase the room temp but intitially and for several minutes, cool air blows out. This was incovenient, particularly after we went to bed as the unit was turning on and off to maintain the temperature and blowing cool air right at the bed. They have a very nice breakfast with ample selections of hot items (scrambled egg rounds, pork sausage, waffles) along with the traditional offerings. Service was prompt and pleasant. The area where you eat breakfast is off the lobby and is somewhat cramped for space, particularly if the hotel is busy. Check-out was a breeze as they delivered the receipt to our room. Having stayed here for the first time we will definitely plan on staying here again but now knowing some of the hotels' idiosyncracies will make be more knowledgable about our preferences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This Chpoce property is definately one of the best I have ever been to, and I regularly use Chioce. Everything is 5-star. Highly recommended. Everything was top noth, from the appearance of the property to the friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the rooms and the full hot breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwhubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel deserves its' very high rating. From walking in and dealing with the wonderful front desk staff to the well appointed room (King bed, couch, chair, coffee table, micro, fridge, coffee maker) to the absolutely delicious breakfast (Belgian waffles - both regular and blueberry, eggs, sausage, and even biscuits and gravy). The only thing that didn't work for me was the bed. I am a side sleeper so very firm beds hurt my pressure points. I do not have a bad back or any normal pains but sleeping on a very firm mattress hurts at my shoulder, hips and neck. If the bed was softer, I would have to give this place a super high rating! The best part is since we were in town for the Red Rock Balloon Rally, it was tops for location. About 3 miles away from the entrance to the park, the closest hotel to the action on that side of town.

Room Tip: Freeway to the south, railroad to the north. We had room 317, heard the train slightly but not horr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midnitesun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great check in clerk! Great room! Great bed! Great room temperature control! I did feel that the breakfast was only mediocre, the fresh fruit meager.
This will be my go-to hotel the next time I go through Gallup.

Room Tip: Busy railroad across highway from hotel front, where our room was. Could hear a rumbling sound when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGreatTheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 34 in Gallup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#4 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gallup
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gallup

Property: Comfort Suites Gallup
Address: 3940 E Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-4550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gallup
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gallup
#5 Family Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gallup 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only 4 Time Platinum Award Winning Choice Hotel in the entire state of New Mexico and recent inductee into the Trip Advisor's Hall of Fame (only hotel in Gallup to have received this honor) you will enjoy the best hotel Gallup has to offer, but don't take my word for it, just read the reviews. Gallup, NM is known for an abundance of variety, but what you will enjoy and remember the most are our beautiful Sunrises and Sunsets, which are enjoyed by many from our spacious lobby. Remember these items when traveling through this area. Our days are mild, but because of our elevation (above 6500 ft) a jacket for the evenings, a camera, plenty of bottled water (if you don't have any, just ask at the front desk) and lots of time. Gallup, NM and the Southwest is not an area to be rushed through, so take your time and enjoy the people, the food, the shopping and the scenery, and when you return you can relax in your amazing triple sheeted bed, (only hotel in Gallup that triple sheets). As a special bonus you will enjoy looking at all our military/veterans photo's and items that are on display here. Our hotel's GM is a veteran of the United States Air Force and we are all proud of our display of photo's of local veterans, from the Navajo Code Talkers to Medal of Honor Recipients who have stayed here we cater to all military and veterans. Please make sure you present your military or veterans ID Card to ensure the best rate and to allow us to honor you with a hand shake, a "Thank You" and a "Welcome Home" along with a folded American Flag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gallup Hotel Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing