We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited wine selection”
Review of Badlands Grill

Badlands Grill
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Not a chain, Badlands offers true New Mexico hospitality and taste- for those of you traveling through, it's the place where locals go when they want a meal that's truly a cut above the rest, and relax with friends and neighbors. There's no dress code...no pretentiousness...just beef that's been wet-aged for 21 days, cut in-house and cooked to order...combine these with an ice cold beer or excellent bottle of wine... and you've got the stuff a cattleman's dreams are made of!
Gallup, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Limited wine selection”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my meal at the Badlands Grill. My only problem was the wine selection. Since Badlands only serves beer and wine, I expected their wine selection to have a lot more variety.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    184
    49
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad filet ... Didn't melt in my mouth”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Second time we've tried this restaurant on our way to Phoenix. First time we had good food so we came back but this time skinny bad tough tasting filets that were $31 each and promised to be melt in your mouth. NOT! Not even an inch thick and so tough neither of us finished our filets. Salads were pretty good but that really was the best part of the meal. We won't be back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An appreciated surprise in Gallup, New Mexico”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Knotty-pine paneled walls and adorned with Gallup-historical items such as crosscut saws, retired horse saddles and cattle skulls decorated with faux-turquios stone combine with white tablecloths to create a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere that we found pleasing and enjoyable. The menu sported grilled appetizers and a reasonably broad selection of beef, chicken and fish entrees, and to our mild surprise (and unnecessarily) a pasta menu. The wine list was immature but adequate. We dined on the NY strip and the 'Black Dahlia' -- a tasty but thin rib eye. Our wine was the Massimo 2011 Malbec, which held up nicely to the beef. The beef was properly cooked to order but of somewhat disappointing quality. Entrees were $22-$35; the wine list ran $25-$110 and was not unduly priced. The wait staff was very pleasant but a little overly-attentive, almost to the point of distracting.


Overall, we've spent $110 (with tip) on a better dinner, but also, on far worse. We recommend a stop at the Badlands Grill in Gallup, NM for a pleasant dinner experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“don't waste your time waiting...GO THERE!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very nice and familiar place with nice staff down the Route 66. Fantastic Meat, soup ad cool beer...what else??

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyTriunph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great find in Gallup!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Elegant Cowboy Motif with excellent food and service. You have to try the Green Chili Stew! The owner came to our table and talked with us at length, very personable. If you are ever in Gallup, this is the place for a superior meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeLuvARoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badlands Grill also viewed

 

Been to Badlands Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing