We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badlands Grill

Badlands Grill
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Not a chain, Badlands offers true New Mexico hospitality and taste- for those of you traveling through, it's the place where locals go when they want a meal that's truly a cut above the rest, and relax with friends and neighbors. There's no dress code...no pretentiousness...just beef that's been wet-aged for 21 days, cut in-house and cooked to order...combine these with an ice cold beer or excellent bottle of wine... and you've got the stuff a cattleman's dreams are made of!
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

At the edge of town and nothing much to look at from the outside this is a fine steakhouse. The food was excellent, the restaurant friendly and comfortable and the service was second to none. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    177
    49
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Ok food, clueless service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Possibly the best in town, out of a very limited choice.

Food was ok, but the service needs a serious upgrade.

Appetizers should be served with the wine, not after the dinner salad. Steaks ordered rare and medium rare should not be served and announced as medium and well done, with the wrong mix of side dishes.

The waiter apologized and was really trying to please. Looks like no one ever trained the poor guy.

At least we had a good laugh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
213 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for the location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wide choice of steaks including buffalo. Great wine list. The food was excellent. Great service.
I wasn't expecting to find such a good restaurant in this area. It seems out of place.
The only drawback is that they don't serve liquor so I saw people sneaking bottles in there. That should not be necessary.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clogtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Lots of menu options with a Southwest flair. Sherrie was an excellent server and offered items that weren't on the menu to match our dining needs. The wait staff was very attentive during our meal and made us feel they appreciated our presence. Food was excellent with generous portions and prepared exactly as we asked. Passing through Gallup and it was time to eat; Badlands was rated #1 in Gallup by Trip Adviser so we gave it a try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I ate in this restaurant recently .we both had steaks which were very very good and cooked exactly how we liked them .The wine we ordered was not available so they gave us a more expensive one at the same price which was again very good .the service was friendly and helpful and we did not feel rushed .I would recommend this restaurant to anyone ,we were told it was expensive but we did not find it to be

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badlands Grill also viewed

 

Been to Badlands Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing