We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like being back in the old days” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Rancho Hotel & Motel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like being back in the old days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

The El Rancho Hotel is the only place to stay in town. It has the charm of the old west, is really interesting to look around in, and is quite a change from the modern box-style hotels. It was a fun place for a night it you want to re-live the early 1900’s !

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    228
    113
    66
    44
See reviews for
111
265
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay there. We left Ar for our trip, we spent the night at The El Rancho . We really enjoyed our stay there. The food was very good and the atmosphere was pleasant. We tried new beer's...Blue Moon... was one. The bartender was very kind and talked to us for our entire eveing there. The history is just wonderful. We will go back one day. Here's to you El Rancho!!! G Family

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gj59iskool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

I first read about the El Rancho in the Route 66 Dining & Lodging Guide put out by the National Historic Route 66 Federation. They gave the hotel a good rating. So my husband and I decided to stay especially since it is a Route 66 Landmark. The lobby is great with all the photos of Hollywood legends. The Spencer Tracy room we were in was good but, the carpet was dirty and, the bedspread was stained. I checked our bed linen and it looked clean. I didn't mind not having a fridge or hairdryer because that's part of the experience of staying in a historic hotel. However, next morning we had a rude awaking, there were bed bugs in our beds! We both had numerous itchy bites on our bodies. I'm not talking about a few bugs. My husband killed at least a dozen in each of our beds. This is way too many for a new infestation! They must have been present for sometime. We went down and told the young lady on duty and she said "oh really". That's all the response we got, she didn't care or, didn't realize what a problem this can be! For $101.00 a night I expected a lot better.

  • Liked — Historical
  • Disliked — Bed Bugs and dirty carpet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gallup hotels

san diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

Very very cool old (1937) hotel, the lobby is unreal. People very friendly, our stay was for only one night and was pleasant. The reviews we read were a little scary but decided to try it anyway
We are glad we did, got the Marx brothers suite and loved it. the beds were clean and comfortable
If you are thinking this is the Hilton, stay away, if your looking for a period era route 66 hotel I recomend it, its old and slightly outdated but thats the part we loved about it. The breakfast was the best Mexican food we found in New Mexico (We are from San Diego and if your thinking of getting good Mexican anywhere in New Mexico you are going to be very dissapointed) but here it was good
The 2 things we could say bad was the carpet in the room was stained and dirty, and the halls smelled like pine sol but that was gone in the afternoon after all the rooms were cleaned, If we go back that way again we will stay there again.

  • Liked — historic old hotel
  • Disliked — dirty carpet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank routesixtysix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
151 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

I had a corner room facing the front, and it was just okay (of course, no coffeemaker). Pretty much fits all the other descriptions; old, worn out, faded style. However, that' s not the reason to stay here.

The huge stylish lobby, with all the pictures, is lots of fun. Rather than go to the mediocre bar, we simply bought our own bottle, and enjoyed the lobby, checking out all the pics. It was a fun place to stay for one night, and we went to a pretty good Mexican restaurant across the road.

We enjoyed Route 66, and then headed south to the El Morrow and Malpais area.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

We stayed at the El Rancho Hotel during the "shoulder season" this fall. While the hotel, restaurant and bar staff were pleasant and helpful, the overall cleanliness of the property was below minimum standards - actually off-putting. The guestrooms and bathrooms in the hotel (we had three) were dirty - large stains on carpets, stains on bedspreads, ripped draperies. The bathtub had to be rinsed before taking a shower. Corridor carpet was equally dirty and coming up - resulting in large uneven areas that were easy to trip on.

We were disappointed to see a hotel of this historic significance that has been allowed to fall into this state of shabbiness and disrepair. Simple on-going maintenance and a deep clean is all that would be required to restore this property to her original glamour.

  • Liked — Historic aspect
  • Disliked — it was extremely dirty
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caravelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
303 reviews
256 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

We spent one night at the El Rancho. We knew on the front end that it wasn't the fanciest place, so we reserved one of the best rooms, the Presidential Suite, at $115/night. I'm not sure how a standard room would be, but our suite was just fine---one of the funkiest rooms we've ever stayed in. It had a king bed and the bathroom especially was cool, with a natural rock wall, gold plated hardware, spa tub, bidet, etc.

It's right on historic Route 66, but on a Friday night our room was pretty quiet. The halls are dark and a little creepy, but that just adds to the atmosphere. Also, the front desk staff was not very engaging---could have been friendlier. But we're glad we stayed there---it was a neat experience.

The lobby and mezzanine have lots of memorabilia from the moviemaking era (this is where all the western movie stars stayed, and supposedly Ronald Reagan stayed in our suite). It's truly a historic experience if you're somewhat adventurous. There are no upscale restaurants in Gallup, so we had dinner and breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, and both were fine, with southwestern dishes prominent.

  • Liked — Bathroom in our suite; the feeling of living history
  • Disliked — Dark corridors; front desk staff could be friendlier
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gallup Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gallup
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 34 in Gallup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#13 of 34 in Gallup
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#6 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Hotel & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Property: El Rancho Hotel & Motel
Address: 1000 E Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-5559
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Hotel & Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your El Rancho Hotel & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel And Motel
El Rancho Hotel Gallup
El Rancho Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing