We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Rancho Hotel & Motel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this wonderful motel in Dec 2013. The vintage, log cabin interior and grand staircase were breath taking. Many old time movie stars stayed there during the hey day of the western movie era. People like John Wayne, Lucical Ball, Dale Robertson, and many more. The rooms are large and the beds comfortale. The only issue we had was the rather small bathroom. The Vintage " cage"elevator, run by the desk manager upon request was great. Try this place, its worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 648 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

With all the hype and billboards along I-40, we were anxious to stay at the El Rancho. We didn't have huge expectations since we are aware this is an older hotel but for the price, we ended up a little disappointed. The queen bed was comfortable but the amenities were non existent. No hair dryer, no clock, no lotions, no space. The rooms are small and very old (as expected) but the history and ambiance are not worth the price we paid. I think you're better off staying somewhere else and just stopping in to browse around the lobby and enjoy the old photos and history of the place. Nothing makes me want to go back unless they would cut their rates by about 30%. Then it would be worth the inconveniences that come with old and small. However, if you want to experience the El Rancho for yourself, at least insist on a room that doesn't face Route 66. Then the traffic and the trains might allow you a better nights sleep than what we had.

Room Tip: Ask for the back side (away from the main road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Blase' Jose'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Hotel El Rancho is a fun place to stay while traveling along I-40 where we always stay while we are traveling in the area. The architecture of the building is like that of a sprawling ranch house and the lobby has an amazing array of historic photographs of movie stars and other famous people who have stayed in the hotel.
The rooms are very comfortable with big beds, nice chairs and cozy couches. The bathrooms are a bit small but this hotel was built before bathrooms were fashionable so don't be surprised if you are cramped in there. We had the Betty Grable suite which looks out over the parking lot to the north. We found that it was nice and quiet.
We ate a nice dinner in the dining room where I had the enchilada and steak special which has nice New Mexico chili sauce. The margaritas are great but the wine selection could be up dated. Especially since there are some very nice wineries in New Mexico. The service was very good.
The El Rancho is not a brand new hotel but it is an historic beauty that deserves a visit for an over night or at least you should stop for a meal and check out the décor.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor looking toward the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rancher_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

For years, my Parents had been wanting to stay at several hotels (a "Things To Do Before We Die" type thing) and the El Rancho was one of them. My Grandfather had stayed here while Dwight D Eisenhower was campaigning for President. Grandpa was his guide throughout "Indian Country". It is a Historical Hotel which means the construction, furnishing, bathrooms, architecture, etc. is "historic", too. However, we enjoyed our stay. Especially since before check-in we mentioned "What if we get John Wayne's room",,,,We Did! Being December, Xmas decorations were everywhere. A Balloon Event was going on so the place was packed. Again the rooms were "historic" and we even got a laugh with the bathroom. Breakfast at the hotel was not that great. We agreed we should have went to Earl's or somewhere else. The stay was OK but I probably wouldn't do it again. My Parents were able to check this off their list.

Room Tip: The thermostat can be a little confusing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandLubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I wanted to stop by here because of the history that goes along with this place. It is really rustic and beautiful. We spent about 1/2 hour just looking around the lobby area and the gift shop. If I'm ever in Gallup again, I'd definitely like to stay here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dabsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at the El Rancho, and I have a soft spot in my heart for it. There are probably plenty of hotels in the area that are more spacious and updated, but I love this hotel because of its history. It's terrific to wander around the lobby and check out all the old photographs of movie stars from a bygone era, and imagine what the El Rancho was like back in its heyday. The rooms themselves are smallish, there's no wifi in the rooms and the bathrooms are absolutely teeny, but the beds are comfortable, staff are pleasant, and everything is very clean....so, I would recommend this hotel without question to anyone traveling through or to Gallup if you'd like to stay in an interesting, somewhat kitschy, cool place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you are looking for something a little different from the run-of-the-mill motel this is it. Very historic hotel with many autographed pictures of movie stars from the days of making Westerns - the stars stayed here. This hotel was built in 1937 - closed in ? - and reopened in 1980. The staff was kind to make us a delicious breakfast - oatmeal, yoghurt, fruit and coffee and allow us to eat in on the upstairs balcony, overlooking the large lobby. (since we did not want to leave our dogs in the room)

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Susan Hayward' room - very roomy and comfortable. But it may be haunted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
5.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#14 of 35 in Gallup
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#6 of 35 in Gallup
453 reviews
6.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Gallup
TownePlace Suites Gallup
#13 of 35 in Gallup
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Hotel & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Address: 1000 E Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-5559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: $114 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rancho Hotel & Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The El Rancho Hotel is the embodiment of America’s Old West. According to author Russell A. Olsen, “As you enter the historic El Rancho through the stately front entry, you immediately realize this was and still is a special place….During its heyday, the El Rancho Hotel was one of the premier hotels in the entire Southwest and became the place for the Hollywood set to stay when filming in the area. The El Rancho Hotel was one of the premier hotels in the entire Southwest and became the place for the Hollywood set to stay when filming in the area. – Author Russell A. Olsen During its glory years, the El Rancho was the definition of luxury and included many amenities that were lacking in other typical tourist hotels of the day. For 50 years, the El Rancho Hotel greeted guests along Route 66 with class and dignity…Luckily for us, this one-of-a-kind hotel once again greets guests with open arms and enjoys the renewed worldwide interest in Route 66 and its landmarks.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your El Rancho Hotel & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Gallup
El Rancho Hotel And Motel
El Rancho Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing