We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't hate it, but not a great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Rancho Hotel & Motel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I really wanted to like El Rancho, but $90 got me a *tiny* room. No coffee (you can get it at the front desk) and wifi only in the lobby or dining room, a skinny shower stall (no tub), and no counter space in the bathroom at all so you had better be a monk with only a toothbrush or you are going to do a dance with your toiletry bag on the seat of the commode or going back and forth to get your stuff off the bed. If you get a $90 room and are with someone else, let's just say you had better love that person and have no personal space issues because you are going to be on top of each other all night. No fighting!

The lobby is something to behold, full of steer horns and an elk and mule deer head, an ancient cigarette machine and shoe-shine stand. It *is* fun to look at all the autographed pictures of golden-era Hollywood stars on the walls. Each room is named after a star: I stayed in the Ida Lupino Room.

I didn't hate it but it is not a great value. If you are doing the Route, it probably won't be your favorite place to stay either.

Advice: If you do decide to stay at El Rancho, avoid the restaurant because 1) it is overpriced; 2) vegetarian-hostile, and 3) there are LOTS of better places up and down the strip to eat: Earl's is a classic, Virgie's for Mexican, Eagle Cafe for coffee shop. These are places with great histories of their own right and are absolutely hopping with locals, which is always a great sign. You can get better and more food and feel really cared for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecowboyyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 642 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Yes. The outside looks good so does the lobby and the two staircases and the photo gallery. But that's it. The rooms are very small but got one night that's not the biggest problem. Our Room was exactly above the airco engine of the entire building and the airco on the to had two possibilities on or of and on was really cold. The restaurant was 'kitch' service unpersonal good soso. We had breakfast somewhere else at Earls that was good

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luzUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

El Rancho is a blast from the past. Everything about this old hotel tells a story. It has been the home for numerous Movie Stars while filming in the area including Katherine Hepburn, Spencer Tracy, Ronald Reagan, John Wayne, Errol Flynn, Kirk Douglas, Gregory Peck, Humphrey Bogart and many more. In addition to Movie Stars, numerous Political Figures have stayed at the El Rancho including two Presidents: President Eisenhower and President Reagan. Every room at the El Rancho is named after a movie star who stayed here(The days of Cowboy and Indian movies-many were filmed in this area). R.E. Griffith's Hotel El Rancho was built in 1937 as a haven for Hollywood's famous. His well-known brother, D.W. Griffith (director of such classics as "Birth of a Nation"), encouraged using El Rancho as a base for crews and stars on location because of its access to western landscapes and the rustic elegance of the hotel.

Photographs of film stars, Route 66 memorabilia, a hand carved log banister framing the wide stairs to the second floor and artifacts preserved from the days El Rancho first opened. El Rancho was linked to Hollywood and the movie industry from 1940 through 1964. Armand Ortega's restored Hotel El Rancho continues to operate by the sixth generation Ortega family, famous the finest in Indian handmade jewelry. The hotel store offers very fine jewelry, woven baskets, high prized pottery and fine Native Indian art.

I give El Rancho Five-stars because of the history it has preserved, a unique time in history that no longer exists today. The amenities are adequate, the food is middle of the road and the service is good. The rooms are clean. It is a pleasure to stay at the El Rancho. For those wanting to relive the 'old days' or to become acquainted for the first with the Route 66 nostalgia and the 'Cowboys and Indians' movie fame, this then becomes a Five-star hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everyone should visit El Rancho Hotel once. Don't be afraid that you'll miss it when you get off the interstate in Gallup: it's right on the corner and has plenty of neon signage. The lobby is a scream. I must say, though, if this is where the movie stars used to stay while filming Westerns, these were movie stars who were not spoiled by luxury. We had the Ida Lupino Room (all the rooms are named for stars from back in the day). It was small, the bathroom tiny.

I must mention the lovely night desk clerk, Sean, who helped us when the reservation we'd made through Hotels.com didn't show up on their computer, and also did us a real solid by letting us know that we'd left the door to our car wide open! Thank you, Sean!

Breakfast is not included and is not exactly a bargain. However, the restaurant is nice, and the huevos rancheros were fabulous. Both the green and red chile sauces were delicious.

If comfort is your top priority, stay elsewhere in Gallup and come for breakfast. But do come.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel itself rather than using a travel site. They are very helpful, will give good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here late one night after all day of traveling. We were given a price kind of out of our range (unexpected trip) but decided to stay. Once we got in and they saw we had 3 small kids, exhausted and everything the hotel front generously dropped it down $30-40. It was late so we appreciated it.

Wow it was very beautiful. The history decorated along the walls was so unique and the place really had its own persona. Hollywood meets the West. Each room is named After somebody and that was fun to see.

The rooms were very Comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was definitely outdated but clean and the water was nice and hot!! We wish we could have stayed longer to check out the amenities.

We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mownik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This motel/hotel is way past its prime. Overpriced. Extremely tiny bathroom, the one
Electrical plug in is so worn that anything plugged in immediately falls out. Took ten minutes to get hot water from a shower head that is way too low unless you are under 5 feet tall.Carpet is old, stained, and torn. Room is very small, no place to put anything as the closet has no shelf and is only 12 inches deep. The bar has no beer on tap, everything was bottles or cans and no glass was ever offered. The surrounding business are pawn shops and cheap motels that look like they rent by the hour. The lobby is nice, which is good because that is where you have to go to use wifi, but the player piano is loud and constant. The desk staff was not helpful.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank huddya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Great stay at a piece of history on the old 66. Great shop and restaurant on site! Wee bit scary at night with some of the intoxicated locals but that seems to be the way for classic route 66 joints! But can't fault the hotel and all the staff

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingScotsmany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#7 of 35 in Gallup
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#5 of 35 in Gallup
491 reviews
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gallup
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Hotel & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Address: 1000 E Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-5559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: $116 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rancho Hotel & Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The El Rancho Hotel is the embodiment of America’s Old West. According to author Russell A. Olsen, “As you enter the historic El Rancho through the stately front entry, you immediately realize this was and still is a special place….During its heyday, the El Rancho Hotel was one of the premier hotels in the entire Southwest and became the place for the Hollywood set to stay when filming in the area. The El Rancho Hotel was one of the premier hotels in the entire Southwest and became the place for the Hollywood set to stay when filming in the area. – Author Russell A. Olsen During its glory years, the El Rancho was the definition of luxury and included many amenities that were lacking in other typical tourist hotels of the day. For 50 years, the El Rancho Hotel greeted guests along Route 66 with class and dignity…Luckily for us, this one-of-a-kind hotel once again greets guests with open arms and enjoys the renewed worldwide interest in Route 66 and its landmarks.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your El Rancho Hotel & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Gallup
El Rancho Hotel And Motel
El Rancho Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing