We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Fort Sumner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Fort Sumner
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fort Sumner
Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spacious and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the nicest Super 8s we have stayed in. The room was much larger than expected, clean, and a comfortable bed. There was a refrigerator and the only thing we could have used that was missing, was an iron.
Fred's across the street was an easy walk for dinner.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paintsmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Fort Sumner, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. If you decide to stay in the future we do have both an iron and ironing board at the front desk, just notify at front desk He or she would be more than happy to provide you with either. We also have guest laundry. If you need to wash and dry your clothes. Thank you for your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    28
    12
    10
See reviews for
26
24
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leander
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Manager was very attentive, but hotel is extremely dated and in need of renovations. Clean but smelled heavily of cleaning fluids. Black out curtains worked great and there was no noise even though right next to the main highway through town. Breakfast was horrible--OJ tasted like a dry mix and cinnamon buns were at least day old--not a value add.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank 9700Thomas52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Fort Sumner, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We apologize for any inconveniences that occurred during your stay. The hotel will be undergoing some renovations within the year. Cleanliness is a priority of ours. I apologize if the if the cleaning fluids were too fragrant. In recent weeks, we have switched to green thus less fragrant alternatives. Since your stay we have changed our food suppliers for most of breakfast items. Every item ordered is either individually-wrapped and/or discarded to insure freshness for our guest. Thank you for your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you are in the middle of nowhere maybe this is the best you can get. Manager was great to deal with but hotel is in serious need of renovations. Pretty clean but very old/run down. Smelled heavily of cleaning products and carpets stained. Free breakfast was worth what you pay. On the good side, the blackout curtains worked great and there was no outside noise in spite of being right on the main route through town. Wi-Fi worked well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XwayA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Fort Sumner, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We apologize for any inconveniences that occurred during your stay. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel, but since your stay we have switched to more environmentally-friendly cleaning alternatives. We do plan on undergoing some renovations within the year.Thank you for your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
143 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Fort Sumner is a very small, but quaint town. We were there following the footsteps of Billy the Kid. Aside from the "Billy the Kid Country Inn" across the street, the Super 8 is the only other hotel in this town of population 1000. The people there were very nice. Our room was small, but clean and comfy. The room had a refrigerator, microwave and blow dryer. It was a very comfortable stay. The continental breakfast was pretty good; cinnamon rolls, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, and toast. It's a great location, right in between the 2 Billy the Kid museums. Fort Sumner is a beautiful little town with farm houses and green fields. It's worth checking out! A little off the beatin' path, but a hidden gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepyhollow420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Fort Sumner, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for the positive review, we are happy to hear your enjoyed stay. We love to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mereta, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

A very welcome sight late at night--every hotel in our original destination was booked. Ft Sumner Super 8 was a welcome respite to an exhausted grandmother and grandson. Very clean, well stocked with linens, cool on a very hot night. The staff were exceptionally cordial.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Fort Sumner, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for the many compliments. We would love to have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Fort Sumner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fort Sumner

Property: Super 8 Fort Sumner
Address: 1599 East Sumner Ave, Fort Sumner, NM 88119-9363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Fort Sumner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fort Sumner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Fort Sumner 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Fort Sumner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ft. Sumner Hotel Fort Sumner
Super Eight Fort Sumner
Fort Sumner Super Eight
Fort Sumner Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing