We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic value for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Farmington
Monticello, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had trouble finding someplace to stay in Farmington, NM and stumbled on this place. Huge room, very comfortable beds, large vanity, refrigerator and microwave. Bathroom included a large tub AND a separate shower! Very well maintained and super quiet in residential part of town. Loved the old style entry and fully tiled bathroom in beautiful colors. Best motel stay I've had for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through town on our way to Utah and just needed a place to stop for the evening. This place was a good value. The owners keep the place up well and it was very clean. Some minor things kept it from a very good review. The ice machine was broken (I survived). In the middle of the night our heating unit started squealing like a pig and we had to shut it off. Still, I would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
156 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Royal Inn is set apart from the street with walls, giving it a quiet atmosphere and sense of seclusion. The room was large and well furnished and very clean. When I couldn't operate the remote for the TV (which had a complicated set up) and the manager couldn't get the problem solved on the phone, he came right over and got everything in working order--even though it was dinnertime. The Royal Inn was priced below even the cost of most Motel6's. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to lay our heads for the night and what we discovered was a wonderful step back in time. Arrived very late with no reservations and were greeted with a warm welcome. Opened the door to the room and found a room that has been meticulously maintained from the 60's. Separate shower and bath, Large spacious room and a very comfortable bed. All for $50!!!!! Warm friendly staff and a really neat vibe

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CaneelFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We travel to farmington often to visit family for years and I wish I had known about this place sooner. I Couldn't agree more with positive reviews below, although it is not out of town as one reviewer stated, but it does have that feeling. This hotel is the best kept secret in town; we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pros:
- super clean
- comfortable mattress
- shower and bath in restroom, hot water
- quiet
- friendly staff
- located opposite a dental office, seems a safe neighborhood

Cons (minor nitpicks) :
- shower head low (I am 5'6" and had to crouch slightly)
- room took an hour to cool down once the air conditioning was turned on

Overall impression:
- we have paid three times the price to be less comfortable. The owners are obviously super efficient managers to maintain a profit at the room rates they are charging; do they care to run our economy too?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schyupsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet,clean,reasonably priced stay then this is the place. The motel is older with few amenities but does have a microwave and a small fridge. We stayed four nights in June 2013 and this would be our first choice when we return to Farmington.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehoe29084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farmington hotels
1.6 mi away
The Region Inn
The Region Inn
#11 of 25 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Farmington
3.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Farmington / Bloomfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brentwood
Brentwood
#12 of 25 in Farmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Farmington
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn - Farmington
Quality Inn - Farmington
#14 of 25 in Farmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Property: Royal Inn
Address: 701 Airport Dr, Hwy 550 & Apache, Farmington, NM 87401-2655 (Formerly Knights Inn Farmington)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Farmington
Farmington Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing