We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic, Clean and Cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Farmington
txkipps
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic, Clean and Cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Like the previous reviews stated. It's basic, clean and cheap. The hotel is old and a little shabby (not shabby chic, either). But, it's clean and only $45 a night with free wi-fi (be sure to ask for the code when you check in). The air conditioner is a window unit and is a little loud. It does an adequate job, but it's a dry 75 degrees outside. Not sure how it would hold up in the summer heat. There is no light in the enclosed shower stall so when you close the curtain it's dark. Not a lot of electrical outlets so if you travel with a ton of electronics it might be a problem. No continental breakfast, coffee only. Sign in the lobby says no pets. We're just passing through Farmington, checked in just for the night and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txkipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Quiet, clean and old fashioned motel. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed where it was located and the grounds was well maintained. The room was nice. The bathroom shower was very dark, but it was a cool retro looking bathroom and clean. (There was a bath and shower - which is a plus.) Definitely a good value. We would come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Starr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was a really cute little inn. The grounds were well maintained. The inn is located towards the back of town so it was nice and quiet. There was ample parking for our trailer and the rooms were simple and clean. The staff was very friendly and check-in was a breeze. It was quite inexpensive ($40 a night). A continental breakfast was included.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Japanesejockgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Room smells smoky and musty, bathroom is huge, AC takes forever to cool off

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luverprdise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed 4 nights. Hosts are good. Wifi worked and at no extra charge. Rooms were clean and large. It's not the Hilton, but the rates are good. A good value. Quiet place on the road to the airport.

Room Tip: All rooms have micro/fridge. Bath has seperate shower and tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jay34144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Royal Inn in Farmington was a great find for my wife and me. It has a great location near the airport, city offices, and downtown. The motel is old, but spotlessly maintained by the family that owns and maintains the Inn. Situated on the mesa above town it is in very quiet location and with older substantial construction the rooms are quiet and much larger than in the newer chains. Frankly the decor is quite charming. For a nice change from the noisy chain motels on the main highway through town, try the Royal Inn. You will also save some money. There is no breakfast, otherwise would have given them 5 stars instead of 4, but the main street restaurants are only a few minutes drive. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank bstephany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

I've stayed at this motel for a number of years now. It was recently renamed the Royal Inn, so you can't find it as Knight's Inn. When I lived in Farmington in the 50s it was called the Basin Lodge.
It's nothing fancy. But it has more personality than typical chain motels and that's why I stay here. 50s style tile in the bathroom, but it has a separate shower and the biggest bathtub I've ever seen in a motel room. There's a separate little dressing area that has wood panelling in it; still a 50s feel, but oddball enough to be appealing. To get to your room you walk into a foyer shared by 2 rooms, which gives you some time to adjust to the weather in case it's cold, without having to walk straight outside. It faces west, and you can see Shiprock off in the distance. It's off the beaten path and quiet. If you want fancy, go somewhere else. But if you want an inexpensive room that's a bit unique, try it out.

  • Liked — unique feel of the room
  • Disliked — front desk seems a bit stiff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Danno2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farmington hotels
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Farmington
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Farmington
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 25 in Farmington
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Region Inn
The Region Inn
#11 of 25 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn - Farmington
Quality Inn - Farmington
#15 of 25 in Farmington
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
3.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Farmington / Bloomfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Property: Royal Inn
Address: 701 Airport Dr, Hwy 550 & Apache, Farmington, NM 87401-2655 (Formerly Knights Inn Farmington)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Farmington
Farmington Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing