We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad. I'd stay there again”
Review of Farmington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farmington Inn
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Room was a little small but clean and had a small refrigerator and a coffee maker. I just have no complaints and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenixgentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We traveled for over 2 weeks throughout the four corners and had the best time. It was so beautiful and we saw a lot of amazing things. The last hotel we booked was the Travelodge in Farmington, NM. I have been to many travelodges and hotels in this type of class and have never been displeased. They are usually clean and convenient.

When we got to the hotel, the manager/owner was yelling at the employee and then waited until she was done to allow the employee to assit us with check in. The hotel was dirty and they gave us a handicap room which had one parking space for handicap vehicles only. We had to park the car at the restaurant next door and hope the car was there the next morning. The hotel room was supposed to be for wheelchairs and the handicap and the bathroom door scraped along the end of the bed just to open and there was not enough room for a wheelchair in the room at all. The only thing that resembled a handicap room was the rail on the shower and a wide entrance door.

The room had a bad musty smell and the towels and the linens were stained. The bathroom had a filthy carpet and the tiles behind the toilet were broken and covered in black stuff, looked like mold. There were stains on the walls and the airconditioner was only part of the musty smell.

The patrons at the hotel were also local folk and there were a great deal of loiterers and people that screamed at eachother and did very suspicious things. We went to get ice for our drinks and there was a man waiting for ice that had two black eyes, bloody lip and a slash across his face. The people who came to this hotel appeared to pay by the hour and were not doing things that would be appropriate for public viewing. We also had to wait for a man (who honestly was homeless) pay his bill with coins while his friends or family tried to sneak in the room for what we do not know. once he paid he went into the bushes in the park nex to the hotel.

The free breakfast was minimal to none. the manager only filled the items when someone left and she waited to make sure people were not taking a lot for breakfast. all they had was dry cereal, warm milk, coffee, bagles and instant oatmeal. Fruit and the bagles were filled once the room cleared out. when it was filled she only put one or two out. the sitting area had three tables and only one toaster. While we were tying to have breakfast one morning, she called an employee and began to yell at them that they had worked there for a year and know better. that they cannot allow patrons to check in early even if the room is ready and if she does she has to charge them extra. this person was extremely rude and should not conduct this type of business in front of customers. she should also not use this type of pratice. Several customers also came in to check out early. We also wanted to do this but figured if we stayed out of the hotel seeing everything we could (even sat in Wal Mart just to waste time and the mall too) and only used the room to sleep and leave it was OK.

There are a ton of hotels all around this area and I would recommend trying one of those instead. I got a deal on this hotel and I guess you really "get what you pay for" as this was the least expensive hotel in the area.

We do not reccommend this hotel as we did not feel safe, the hotel is in disrepair, the room was musty and dirty, the people loitering around the hotel made us uneasy and the manager/owner was very unprofessional. Please spend a little more and try another hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors have less people loitering around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khanoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The place was clean enough. The shower worked great. Coffee pot, fridge and micro in room. Did not try the continental breakfast. Had to ask for an ice bucket, and extra toilet paper at the office. Ice machine (only 1) didn't work the greatest. Front desk staff friendly, maid cleaned the room while we were gone. The bath amenities were not the greatest, no conditioner, and just plain shampoo, not the conditioning kind. We were on the park side, so was a little noisy in the daytime.

Room Tip: If you like to nap during the day, ask for a room away from the pool and the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cactus140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Good price for a one night stay and great to be near river. Average room, parking right outside room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lhouleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Definitely will not stay here or recommend to anyone. Would definately recommend staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Tried Americas Best Value Inn and can't say enough about cleanliness, great breakfast,ample towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ffo2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have stayed here for several months, mainly because you cannot beat the price for the area because of all of the oil and gas transients that hog up decent hotel rooms in the area. The room is decent, about the size of a half bedroom, and it is older with a hint of attempted modernization. Your best bet is that your room and accommodations are correct at check-in, the owners daughter, along with young inept desk clerks cannot help you with any concerns, in fact they tend to be offensive in responses to you when asked a direct question. The owners daughter was especially rude and especially not very bright when trying to answer why a reservation made a month prior for one of the rooms they advertise as "hard wired for internet" was changed obligatory at the owners whim.

Since I have stayed here for months I can honestly state that the housekeeping staff will go through your personal belongings, even though they do not seem to know what a vacuum cleaner is, do not expect coffee or towels to be replaced daily.

This hotel advertises a continental breakfast, but if you are not in the lobby at 6 AM you can forget that all together, you will find a stale bagel and days old mini muffins on a good day and cold coffee to start your day.

The weekends brings families with kids running wild up to 4 am up and down the stairs and parking lots with no parental supervision. On the weekends natives seem to drink in the staircases leaving beer bottles galore for Monday morning you get to trip over them on your way to work. Complaints to the owner have gone unanswered.

To be honest this is one of those middle east properties, they come here and pay no taxes for 7 years, sell it to another family member and return home with tax free US income. Just how long are we as True Americans going to tolerate this?????????????

Room Tip: Avoid This Dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbaFarmington_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

As budget motels go, this one is not too bad. The room was clean, everything worked, and the parking was convenient. The beds were comfortable and the noise level was low.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor location with parking in front of the room for convenience. The rear of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Brentwood Inn & Garden
Brentwood Inn & Garden
#12 of 23 in Farmington
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn - Farmington
Quality Inn - Farmington
#14 of 23 in Farmington
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 23 in Farmington
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Region Inn
The Region Inn
#11 of 23 in Farmington
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Farmington
Courtyard Farmington
#7 of 23 in Farmington
220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 23 in Farmington
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmington Inn

Address: 510 Scott Ave, Farmington, NM 87401-7152 (Formerly Farmington Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range: $44 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Farmington Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Farmington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Farmington
Travel Lodge Farmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing