We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short but delightful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver River Adobe Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Farmington B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at the Inn in the middle of a 3 week Southwest vacation. David and Diana were delightful hosts and our room was tasteful classic Southwestern adobe. Tucked down a narrow driveway next to the river, the Inn was charming, the breakfast room was cheerful and the conversations with David and Diana were insightful and entertaining. They were gracious at our late arrival (lost in the mountains without a cell signal) and extremely helpful in forwarding the Ipad we left in our room. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Choose the suite. You won't want to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Graciousness begets graciousness, Thank you! It was our pleasure to be of some help at the tail end of your holiday when you got lost, night came and we were able to guide you in to the B&B INN. Mailing your ipad home to you was also something which we felt comfortable in doing knowing full well that sometimes things go astray. Happy fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although this very rustic B&B is on the river, there's no view due to thick foliage. The shower went from freezing to scalding and back. Wi-fi was advertised, but not available in the room. Couldn't sit outside due to biting insects.

We hoped for a fantastic breakfast to compensate -- after all, it's a bed and BREAKFAST. However, we got a single tortilla filled with black beans, a tablespoon of salsa, juice, and coffee; no pastries, fruit, or anything else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We too definitely are disappointed that your experience was so bleak. We hope the rest of your trip was every thing you hoped for.
At the northern portion of the garden with low growing plants, by the Cottonwood and Juniper rooms and their porch we have a sitting area where one can easily have the view of the mighty San Juan River as the La Plata River flows into it and as the San Juan River bends to the west. Outside of the dining room one has a wide view of the river as well as 20 feet south another view opens to the San Juan River. We have taken and published photographs from all three of these spots. We do what might be called the "Happy Dance" for the plants that are tenacious enough to grow in the High Desert. The Cottonwood trees are worth their weight in gold for the shade they give throughout the summer and they are a majestic tree. The Russian Olive trees brought in by the CCC though they are nitrogen fixers remain the bane of existence for many who must live with them. They grow rather too freely along the banks of rivers and ditches. Millions of dollars have been spent attempting to eradicate them to little success. On the cliff side bank of the river it is most important that plants grow to help stabilize the bank. Insects feed the birds which fly the river and feed the fish which swim the river. It is my understanding that we humans cannot live without the work that the many, many insects, microbes and fungus do toward helping plants grow which we in the end eat.
The breakfast crepe was home made that morning in house, which then could be translated as a pastry, I believe. A pastry and a crepe have the same ingredients. The crepe was served with salsa, sweet potato and black beans which our chef considered a representative New Mexican breakfast. We attempt to serve one rather sweet breakfast and the next day a savory breakfast. Our B&B does have WiFi, which many of our guests have successfully used. The office computer requires this WiFi which means that not knowing of the problem you had I do not have any idea what was taking place.
It is our wish that you have happy travels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We splurged on this hotel in the midst of being very economical during our trip. We had high hopes that our group of 5 would feel spoiled during this overnight. While the accommodations were nice inside and certainly clean, I am not sure it was worth the $$. We paid extra per child /per bed yet we still had to supply an air mattress for the 3rd child (yet we paid).

The portable a/c in the big room didn't function well and we were warm all night. Only one door leading out had a screen so we couldn't try for cross ventilation.

The water both out of the tap and the provided water bottle service tasted badly so we went w/o drinking as much as we should have given the temps.

The river is dirty and smells of sulphur and while that is certainly not to be blamed on the inn, the path view to the river was shrouded in overgrown vegetation and the path was littered with cardboard and other debris making it not the most scenic route.

I laud them on their organic lifestyle and food choices but understanding their clientele would be helpful. She made a baked apple with rice and tapioca flour crust for breakfast. The three children ate none of it and my friend and I didn't eat much either of it. It was more of an exotic, organic dessert than breakfast food.

Lastly, while I love animals and have two cats at home myself, I don't believe that animals should be allowed in a dining room shared by your guests. The animals, while not present during our apple breakfast, had clearly been in the room as evidenced by the cat and dog hair on the wool rug. I am allergic to dogs and my friend's daughter allergic to cats. Not sure how the health code reads but unsure of this.

Internet was only available near the dining room forcing us to sit at a picnic table where bug bites were occurring at rapid speed and the view to the river was marred by overgrowth.

Again, the rooms were well appointed and clean but we were disappointed with many aspects expected in a room where we paid that much for it.

Room Tip: skip Farmington altogether. Nothing to see or do and the river is smelly and filthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

It is disheartening to have a guest so unhappy. When the reservation was made we were asked to make an exception for the fifth person, a child. We offered a camp bed if they indeed wished to stay with us in the Cliffrose suite. A couple who was staying with us at the same time was over the top grateful for our breakfast, well actually, it was this couple and two sisters who expressed their delight in the breakfasts that we served as they all stayed for several days.
The suite has a screen door for the front door and one for the riverside Fench door so with these two screen doors and the windows in both the bedroom and the kitchen there is the possibility for more than one direction of cross ventilation.
I expressly explained that the cardboard on the path is a project in process and that the cardboard is to kill the Russian Knap weed by shading it to death until we have gravel placed on the foot path. The other debris is sticks and twigs. Who has gone to a forest with the ground cleared of this most wonderful natural (organic) material which feeds the trees and bushes .Our hill is overgrown, thank God, for we live in the high desert and need to have vegetation to stabilize the cliffside river bank and to provide as much of a jungle as possible for wildlife including birds as they fly from north to south or north to south as the season determines. The Rio Grande River is nearly empty so our San Juan River which was touted to carry 50% of New Mexico's surface flowing water may now be carrying 80% or more water of the surface flowing water in the state.

Reverse Osmosis water is provided for all rooms so that our guests will be free to fill their water bottles and to drink water that has the same taste throughout their travels.

God bless you and give you something to take delight in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were only able to stay at the Silver River Adobe Inn one night, but it was very enjoyable. The inn is tucked away from the main road and sits next to the river. The rooms are very quaint and nicely appointed for a relaxing evening. There are also a few tables and chairs for relaxing outside (bring your bug spray though!). The breakfast that was served in the morning was delicious and the conversation from our host was very interesting and educational. My only complaint would be that the water temperature in the shower is very temperamental...so, be prepared! Otherwise, no complaints and we would not let the shower deter us from staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RikS794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We would like very much to have you return to enjoy our river and our B&B. This is a delightful time of year with fresh green growing everywhere along the cliffside bank of the San Juan River which is rather full as it rambles towards the Colorado River. We have looked into the shower issue and have it solved, I believe. Our “point of source of water heaters” are on occasion temperamental but they do save a great deal of energy. Thank you for alerting us to the unbalanced shower temperature.

About bug spray, I am wondering if we should have a bottle of citronella available in the bathroom for our guests to use? Oddly enough our family across the highway has many more bugs than we do because we are not watering a lawn and the river encourages the insects to move along as well, but they are looking for an evening meal as our the bats and birds which make a fine meal of those pesky insects. Early morning bird chorus allows one to hear the birds without the attendant insects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This rustic B & B is in a lovely, natural setting. It is tucked away along the river and with our window open in our room it was so cool in the morning that we had to layer on an additional blanket. A delightful change from hot southwestern cities! We stayed in the Juniper Room, which some may consider a little dark, but for us, was a welcome break after being out in the sun all day at Chaco Canyon. The wood walls and beautiful rug made it all so cozy and multiple large windows offered a sheltered view through the cottonwoods. Both of us thought the breakfast outstanding-we appreciate organic-and being able to eat as early as 7 or 7:30 is helpful for those who plan a full day of activities...or are just early risers. Table conversation was delightful and our host's suggestion for an early morning walk in a park along the river was perfect. We look forward to returning to this unique B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It is our hope that our guests will find delight in the "natural setting", which offers an uplifting energy. Isn't it just grand to be in summer and experience a cool morning? We are lucky to live in an environment which nearly always through the summer presents a cool time in the evening and cooler yet around 4am. The bird chorus between 4 and 5am adds to the early morning wonders. One experiences these even while still asleep.
Adobe buildings give a cave like environment, sanctuary from the heat of the high desert which is gratifying on any hot sunny summer day. Many of our guests have planned to start their day early so that they may slowly acclimate to the rising summer temperatures.
David's knowledge of our area and roads and routes is the best person to suggest travel routes and places to visit in the time allotted. We are both pleased that you found his suggestions helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was here about a year ago and if I'm ever in the area again, I'll be back. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, and being able to hear the river and birds just outside the door was better than good. Loved the baked apple breakfast, and enjoyed talking to the interesting hosts. It's a great place to relax and unwind, just make sure you get there before dark, since it's located on a little road that snakes around behind the fire station, so pay attention to the innkeepers excellent directions when you book.

Room Tip: If you have allergies, please note that they have pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBC78731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We are now alerting our guests to not place much on their GPS or MapQuest instructions. We caution guests to give us a call if they are having any difficulty finding our B&B. We are happy to talk a guest through or to come find them and guide them here. Having said all that our place is rather easy to find in the daylight and with our written instructions. Though we are 2 1/2 miles from downtown we also have a country environment, hence not a multitude of city lights.

The river and the river and the river and birds. What more could a person ask for? I have a friend who is teaching me, slowly on my part, to identify bird calls. I learned just last week to identify the Yellow Breasted Chat. Yea! The permaculture nature of our landscaping brings in a number of birds as does the river.
We do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you're hoping to get away from the common strip mall atmosphere of Farmington, this is the place to go! The warm wood interior creates a rustic and cozy atmosphere. Yet it's only moments from "old town" Farmington. Diana and David are excellent hosts with a wealth of wisdom, life experiences, and stories. Yes, I'll agree they can suck you in to the conversation because they're amazing people...but if you're reading these reviews, you can prepare for that and just politely let them know you need to go! We had a meeting to attend and were able to get on our way just fine. I so appreciated Diana's accommodation to my gluten-free request. Contrary to other's comments she is an amazing cook. She doesn't do the greasy spoon, artery clogging style breakfast--but if you're looking for something tasty, healthy, and mindfully made, this is the place. The pricing was just slightly higher than the chain hotels which made this a wonderful value: a quiet and cozy location with wonderful views of the river and landscape that's away from the suburban feel of Farmington. If you're looking for a multi-course breakfast and exquisite attention to 5-star style details, this is not your place. However, If you appreciate affordable rural simplicity in a natural setting, I would recommend this!! 3 Rivers Brewery is a MUST if you enjoy excellent hand crafted beers and friendly, attentive server staff.
Also, in reference to one of the other reviews, the carpets are not dirty. They're authentic, hand-woven rugs from South America that were likely hand made from naturally dyed fibers.

Room Tip: Cottonwood room has an excellent view to south and west...terrific for sunrise and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CynBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4cornersdd, Owner at Silver River Adobe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. The pay back for being in the Bed and Breakfast business is the delight we experience when visiting with our guests. Our guests bring the richness of their lives and experiences plus they bring a sense of well being and gratitude for the world in which they live. What a bonus. Both David and I feel we learn a great deal about the world from our guests. It is also the case that we enjoy sharing our riverside home with others who enjoy the natural world of rivers, geese, eagles, wild turkeys, raccoons, coyotes, quail, and more wild life inhabiting this riverine environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farmington hotels
5.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Farmington / Bloomfield
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 23 in Farmington
153 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Farmington
Courtyard Farmington
#7 of 23 in Farmington
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Farmington
2.9 mi away
Casa Blanca Inn & Suites
Casa Blanca Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Farmington
133 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Four Corners Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver River Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Adobe Inn

Address: 3151 W Main St, Farmington, NM 87401-3754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Farmington
Price Range: $130 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver River Adobe Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver River Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing