We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Magical place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Ruins

Salmon Ruins
6131 Highway 64, Farmington, NM 87413
505/632-2013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Magical place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The ruins are spectacular, the museum is wonderful, the staff are just amazing, so friendly and welcoming and informative. DO NOT MISS booking a tour with them of Chaco or Dinetah, see the SR website and Into the Past tours, this is an unforgettable treat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
205 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A gem in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent small museum. There are some very good small exhibits inside. Then we walked thru replica's of various types of native shelters and other things. The real surprise of this place is when you go to the ruins that it is named for... there are extensive ruins down the hill (you can drive down), many rooms and kiva's that have been excavated, thought to be the same tribes as from Chaco.... SUPER interesting!! And the museum has a great guidebook to go with your walk through the ruins to explain things too. Great little shop with native jewelry, and some very nice artsy tshirts.
Highly recommend this stop, as you would never expect what lays hidden in back of the museum down the hill!! Definitely worth it. I think the fee was only a couple of dollars too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank loverainsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Don’t miss this gem of a place! The museum is small but very well maintained and informative and the ruins are well kept (sounds like an oxymoron doesn’t it?). We had just returned from a half day trip to Chaco over some pretty rough roads and I have to say that if I had to chose between the two sites Salmon Ruins would win. Be sure to include it in your travel plans.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank YutahtheWolamute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great slice of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are remotely into archaeology this is a must see. The museum is full of interesting pieces. Outside not only has the ruins, but also a slice from frontier history. The ruins are beautiful and the guide book is one of the best I've ever come across. The staff are very knowledgeable and very helpful. The gift shop has lots of great books. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Knowledgable, friendly, fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Salmon Ruins Musem and Tours is a gem! 'Extensive exhibits of the archeological treasures in the area PLUS offering wonderfully insightful (personally guided) tours of Chaco Canyon. Tori Myers, our guide for the day, shared a wealth of information, making the ruins come alive. It was a VERY hot day, but she was as cool as a cucumber and so eager to share her expertise! Thanks Tori!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bonjour2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salmon Ruins also viewed

 

Been to Salmon Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing