We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-Par”
Review of Blue Moon Diner

Blue Moon Diner
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Vernal, Utah, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sub-Par”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I usually try not to be too harsh on these little diners cause I feel that they deserve some credit for trying to compete with the Olive Gardens and Red Lobsters of the world but I was, unfortunately disappointed with this little place.

The Atmosphere tries to be a throwback to the 50's but it feels cheap and unrefined.

The Service was rather slow and par at best. Smiles were something that were sought after and sorely missed. From the time I was seated to the time the waitress arrived at my table to ask me what I would like to drink felt like an eternity. By the time she DID arrive I had chosen what I wanted to eat from the menu with plenty of time to spare and I had taken plenty of time to decide. A good waitress would have been there 2-3 times by then.

The Food was unremarkable in every sense of the word. I ordered the pasta and to me it's something I myself could best with little effort and it was presented similarly to how I would have done it as well. The "Garlic Bread" was a slice of bread from a store bought loaf with nothing on it, not even butter.

I would highly recommend choosing another place. If you're looking for a good experience and great food it certainly won't be found here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    47
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty and Excellent for Farmington”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Having eaten at a number of restaurants in Farmington, none of which I will return to, this is the only place I have been to more than once. The sweet potato fries were a little over cooked but the sauces were good. The chicken sandwich with avocado and bacon was superb! The side salad was a little lackluster. I had an excellent shake there as well. I will definitely return here.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LibrarianLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not a bad little place”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I went on a weekday during the lunch, but it wasn't very busy. The service was pretty slow, but as a former server, I understand why servers can't get to a table right away. I like my gyro, but the sauce was too sweet. The homemade ice cream was pretty fantastic, though.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PartTimeGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Blue Moon Diner is Awesome!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My family and I visited the Blue Moon Diner for dinner and it was wonderful! The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was on time and very delicious! My husband and I ordered the homemade chicken pot pie and the wonderful green chile chicken pasta, we loved it! This is a great place for families and I would recommend it to anyone! Don't forget the homemade ice cream, it's perfect! What wonderful 50's decor! I've never enjoyed a place so much! Thankyou Terri for the freindly and great service!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank msbtap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was recommended by a friend and was...”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Was recommended by a friend and was impressed by the quality and taste of food. Had their chicken focaccia sandwich and my girlfriend had the home made chicken pot pie. Best we've had. I am going to try their breakfast as I have heard it is delicious. Would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toddul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Diner also viewed

 
Farmington, NM
 

Been to Blue Moon Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing