We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delicious, clean, and convenient!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Di Bernardone - MOVED

Trattoria Di Bernardone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
272 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Delicious, clean, and convenient!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband, teenage daughter, and I found this restaurant on Yelp! when we were staying in Farmington en route to Mesa Verde. What a pleasure! The food was really good, the restaurant clean and inviting, and the service prompt and friendly. Nothing fancy but a great, locally-owned find in a small community.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kleic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old School Italian with large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We loved this place. Great italian comfort food and plenty of it on the plate. We had spaghetti and meatballs and eggplant parm. Local ingredients, made from scratch, not fancy but flat out wonderful tasting dinner. Family friendly, plenty of parking, very fast and caring service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RockingRobin78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Family Run Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Friendly service, Great food. Small restaurant with excellent family atmosphere. Love their pizzas and calzones.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MedicPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Utah
Level Contributor
127 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Bernardone's Makes it with Love.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Now being a former New Yorker who has grown up on Italian food, a good amount of it pizza, I was excited about trying out the cuisine at Bernardone's. While I do judge pizza by New York standards, the use of a wood burning brick oven is pretty impressive; and it does a nice job on the dough. Bernardone's has a sort of fancy look on the outside, but the interior is rustic with booths lining most of the walls while tables and chairs take up the central space. There is a menu over the ordering area, but it does not have the entire menu listed, so go by the paper version. Basically you order at the counter, pay and then a waitress will bring your drinks, appetizers and main dishes later on. The staff are friendly and will explain menu items; you will get things your way and with a smile.

To start off the dining experience, we chose the Baked Mushrooms alla Toscana; button mushrooms coated in olive oil, fresh bread crumbs, herbs and garlic. It came to the table just as described on the menu, "piping hot from the oven". The bread crumbs were crispy and flavorful; the mushrooms were not soaking in olive oil, but had a mild flavor of it which was a nice touch.

There were four of us present, and since it was lunch time, kept the dishes simple; two pizzas, a calzone and a pasta (from the gluten free section). Yes, I said "gluten free"; Bernardone's created this section of the menu to let diners indulge in pasta, but not suffer for it later on.

The Cheese Calzone contains Ricotta, Romano and Mozzarella cheeses; I did a little "create my own" by having meatballs added in. I notice that calzones made out in the Southwest are definitely not like New York calzones. I'm used to them being so stuffed with cheese, they're ready to explode; while the ones out here have thin layers of cheese in an airy pocket of dough. Don't get me wrong, this calzone was delicious; but I missed all that cheese. The marinara sauce served on the side was also delicious and I enjoyed the chunks of tomato it contained. Being baked in the wood burning oven also gave the calzone a unique flavor overall.

Fusilli Campagnola was the gluten free pasta dish ordered; pasta sautéed with garlic, chicken, sun-dried tomatoes, calamata olives and mushrooms; topped with fresh basil and Romano cheese. The portions at Bernardone's are generous and the diner who ate this dish merely stated that it was good. It surely must have been because she basically left her plate clean...no leftovers!

Pizza Time!

First pizza ordered was the "Pizza Ultimo" 10 inch Personal size; pepperoni, Italian sausage, green bell peppers, red onions, black olives and mushrooms. Second pizza was a "Create Your Own" 10 inch Personal size consisting of ground beef, green chiles, white onions, feta cheese and fresh basil. Once again the wood burning oven gave the dough a crispy crust and unique flavor; overall the pizzas were delicious and certainly should be tried when you visit Bernardone's. Did they live up to the standard of a New York pizza? Of course not, this pizza was made in New Mexico, not New York; but I still would order one and enjoy it at Bernardone's.

When looking for an Italian eatery in Farmington, New Mexico, I would definitely recommend Bernardone's Family Pizzeria over some chain restaurant that imitates Italian cuisine. Bernardone's makes their food the true Italian way...with love.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Four_Corners_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Made from scrach Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The first time we went we had their wood fired oven Pizza and it was great. We have also tried their made from scratch pasta which is equally good but more times than not we end up buying Pizza. Their Caesar Salad is great and enhanced with their homemade dressing. It is by far the best Pizza in Farmington, NM.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DLHulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Di Bernardone also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing