We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place!”

Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2014

One of the best places I visited on a road-trip to the South-West of the US. This place needs a little research before visiting, and it could be easy to get lost/dehydrated. The scenery is really unusual and just spectacular. Brilliant place for getting off-the-beaten-track and for photography.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank Satkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"parking area"
in 25 reviews
"petrified wood"
in 20 reviews
"rock formations"
in 22 reviews
"eggs"
in 17 reviews
"bisti badlands"
in 20 reviews
"parking lot"
in 27 reviews
"gravel road"
in 11 reviews
"new mexico"
in 23 reviews
"gps coordinates"
in 7 reviews
"early morning or late afternoon"
in 6 reviews
"interesting formations"
in 5 reviews
"bring lots of water"
in 5 reviews
"county road"
in 4 reviews
"out of this world"
in 7 reviews
"fantastic place"
in 4 reviews
"your bearings"
in 4 reviews
"mile drive"
in 3 reviews
Filter

156 - 160 of 258 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2014

Hiking Bisti has been on our list for years. I finally organized a western trip that worked in a stay in near by Farmington. The badlands are easily reached-clearly marked state rd with a well signed turn off. We spent a full day-beautiful photos-very different sets of rock formations. We have hiked the coyote buttes (vermillion cliffs), Arches, Zion etc and consider this very worthwhile. This area is a wilderness area-no marked hiking trails-so we went with a guide-Jim Caffrey-High Desert Photo. I will give Jim his personal due in another review-but briefly, he was great-made the day.

Date of experience: September 2014
4  Thank mpm0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2014

My husband and I were the only visitors the day we went. Beautiful sunshiny day. the sand formations were like something out of a movie set. certainly worth the trip!

Date of experience: May 2014
2  Thank modelmeemaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2014

I spent three days hiking and exploring Bisit (stayed in Farmington at night though one can camp on site). The entire time there was never more than three cars total at the "trailhead" and I only came across other people while out hiking once and they were at a distance. This is the type of location where a little bit of research is recommended. Through significant internet research I was able to locate GPS coordinates of some of the prime areas I wanted to be sure not to miss. It is easy to miss things, there is no defined path or trail and there are a lot of formations so what you are looking for might be close but not visable and easy to miss if you don't have GPS coordinates. A couple of general rules... while almost anyone can reach this location with a normal passenger car this is still a remote location. You will not have cell service and you can't count on help if you have a problem. You also obviously can't count on a "app" in terms of GPS (again no cell service) so satelite GPS is helpful. There are descriptions of routes you can find online that will help greatly if you don't have or don't want to rely on GPS. Have plenty of water and a headlight or at a minimum flashlight if you plan to be out for sun rise/set and then need to return to your car. There are "ditches/washes" and while I doubt a fall would be fatal you don't want to stumble and sustain an injury in the dark. Be respectful of the area and realize you can damage formations. Climbing/standing/sitting on anything that looks fragile is a bad idea - please preserve the experience for those that will follow. There are no facilities or amenities. You will need to use "leave no trace" practices and pack out any trash. I highly recommend a sunrise or sunset visit as the colors will be much more dramatic. Beyond the potentially hot/harsh conditions of mid-day the other issue is photographs during this time of day aren't going to capture the beauty of the area. If you are here for photography it will be interesting at any point but true high quality photographs worthy of framing are going to be produced in the hour prior to and after sunrise/set unless you get lucky and get some extreme weather that is interesting. That being said - extreme weather can also mean extreme road conditions. I didn't experience that but according to the research I did you do not want to be driving on these roads if they are not dry regardless of the type of vehicle you have. There are many other badland sites besides Bisti in the area. I have researched many but still haven't visited wanting my first trip to be a more extensive investigation of Bisti specifically.

Date of experience: July 2014
12  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is well worth the trip off the beaten path. But, don't expect the formations seen on some of the photos. They are there, but whether or not you walk near them is another matter. I would liken the formations at this end as smaller versions in the Arches National Park.

I would suggest that if you are driving a car, do not attempt the drive along these unpaved roads, especially if inclement weather. No problems in dry weather.

There are two entrances to the park area, one off of 331 (the Bisti entrance) and the other off of 550, the Da-Na-Zin entrance. We entered via the 550 entrance. The Da Na Zin trail head is easy to find because of the parking area. But, the trail can be difficult to follow. There are some areas with small caches/columns of rocks, but not all the time. Be aware of your land marks, (if you don't have a GPS). The walk is at least a half mile before you get to the any areas of interest. You are truly on your own out here.

Date of experience: August 2014
6  Thank scubanutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness also viewed

 

Been to Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing