We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Extraordinarily Flavorful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boon's Family Thai BBQ

Boon's Family Thai BBQ
Ranked #8 of 123 Restaurants in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Farmington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily Flavorful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The ambiance is no indication of the wealth that is contained in the cuisine. Usually overly fluorescent bright and with worn out booths it's hard to imagine the quality of food being as superb as it is. My staples are Su Mai dumplings, Noodle rolls, Tom Ka Kai soup, Pad Ka Pao and Pad Woon Sen. All of the curries are as deep in flavor as they are in history.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food in an informal setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

They provide an extensive menu with lots of options. You can choose your level of spiciness. Good service. Clean and comfortable informal setting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Flavorful sauces and soup but needs improvement almost every where else:”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place definitely has potential but I'm not sure if I would return unless a few things were improved. The seriously cheesy decor and fluorescent lighting is disconcerting and uncomfortable but it could be forgiven if the food made up for it. We ordered the spicy seafood combo and a coconut based Thai soup. The soup broth was creamy with just the right amount of tangy Thai spices but they used cabbage which changed the flavor and they way over cooked the chicken which was tough and chewy. This dish could be greatly improved by adding a variety of Asian vegetables and leaving out the chicken and cabbage. It could easily have been vegetarian and no one would have missed the meat. The seafood combo was disappointingly small and devoid of enough seafood to warrant even half of the $16 it cost. Most of it was over cooked veggies and a few small pieces of each fish they list on the menu, and luckily, a very good garlic sauce. The biggest piece of fish were two large tubes of fake crab...So... don't over cook your food, pay attention to what's going into it and what's going out to the customer; If you can't afford a make over at least buy some lamps or wall lights and turn off those horrible overhead office lights! A little TLC would really make you worth the money and pack the place! Two entrees and a tea came to $30. Decent service added another $6 for tip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coconut_h20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Thai food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Good food and service. Was easy to get a table when we went late. Recommend pad Thai and sticky rice dessert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cindymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Utah
Level Contributor
127 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“This Thai Restaurant is a Boon to New Mexico.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you are a fan of Thai cuisine, then you must try Boon's Family Thai BBQ whenever you visit Farmington, New Mexico. While the storefront may not look exotic, it is what is inside that is exciting. We were cheerfully greeted upon entering; our waiter was very attentive and friendly; we had fun while enjoying our meal.

The interior of the restaurant is small with booths lining the front and one side. However, tables are spaced so that diners are not elbow to elbow; giving a sense of intimacy and privacy. Even though there were other diners there, my husband and I felt like we had the place to ourselves.

The menu is five pages of appetizers, soups, salads, noodle dishes, curry, specialties, house favorites, seafood, desserts and drinks. All the descriptions were enticing and we wanted to try almost everything. There are five types of curry, and they sometimes offer a specialty curry such as mango.

The eggrolls are crispy, yet delicate with easily eaten shredded vegetables inside. The sauce is sweet and light; and that will be the key word for sauces at Boon's - Light.

The Moon Cakes are a total surprise with a strong scent of shrimp, but large taste of chicken. Again the sauce was sweet and light, but this time with crushed peanuts floating on top; it certainly enhanced the flavor of the Moon Cakes. This is the type of appetizer that would make a wonderful snack while watching a late night movie.

Normally I would order a Pad Thai, but the Rad Na caught my eye; the noodles are similar to those used in Mandarin style Chow Fun and were smooth and luscious. The shrimp had that scrunch that shows it was cooked well; the vegetables had a slight crunch to them; the brown sauce was light and lended just enough flavor to enhance, not mask the other ingredients. If you don't like shrimp, you can order it with chicken, beef or pork.

Hawaiian Delight is indeed a delight of a thin cutlet each of pork, beef and chicken; so tender, each could easily be cut with a fork. The sweet plum sauce did not overpower, and here's that word again, light.

After all that, we had enough room left to share a dessert, the Homemade Coconut Ice Cream; light, airy, smooth and simply delicious.

Going to Boon's Thai Family BBQ is like taking a culinary adventure to Thailand; Take the Trip!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Four_Corners_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boon's Family Thai BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Boon's Family Thai BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing